2011 Supreme(Kar) 232
High Court of Karnataka
S.N. SATYANARAYANA
National Insurance Co. Ltd., Represented by its Asst. Administrator Officer, Smt. K.M. Kumuda
Versus
Ramamurthy & Another
MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO. 6122 of 2005 (WC) CONNECTED WITH MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO. 6123 of 2005 (WC)
Decided on: 31-03-2011
For the Petitioner:B.C. Seetharam Rao, Advocate.
For the Respondents:R1 - F.S. Dabali, Advocate, R2-served.
Headnote:WORKMEN’S COMPENSATION ACT, 1923 - Section 3: [S.N. Satyanarayana, J] Compensation - Tractor and trailer were insured - Accident occurred when claimants were working as loader and unloaders in tractor were carrying fertilizers in tractor in course of their employment met with accident resulting in injuries to them - Insurance company’s plea that tractor is insured under farmers package policy and it does not cover risk of coolies carried therein - Held, According to FIR said tractor-trailer was carrying large size-stones and place where accident occurred in vicinity there is no place for vending of fertilizers and hence vehicle was not used for agricultural purpose.
WORKMEN’S COMPENSATION ACT, 1923 - Section 4(1) (c)(ii): [S.N. Satyanarayana, J] Determination of functional disability - Doctor’s evidence that claimant suffered fracture of tibia and treated by applying POP and no surgery was conducted to set right alleged fracture - Affidavit filed by Doctor giving raise to basic doubt as he stated that claimant was ’treated conservatively by close reduction - But ’Close reduction’ is possible only in case where surgery is conducted in area of fracture - Doctor had referred to whole body disability without reference to relevant provision and guidelines in Alimco manual - Further in affidavit, there was no opinion regarding functional disability to claimants with reference to their job, as required under Section 4(1)(c)(ii) of Act - Held, In the absence of acceptable medical opinion, not being there, Insurance company is not liable to be pay compensation.
1. The second respondent – Insurance company in C.R. No.49/2003 and 50/2003 on the file of Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation, Bangalore has come up in these appeals challenging the common order dated 17.03.2005, passed in the aforesaid two claim petitions.
2. Brief facts leading to these appeals are as under:
The claimants Ramamurthy in C.R. 49/2003 and Nagaraju in C.R.50/2003 contend that they were working as loader and unloaders in tractor trailor bearing No.KA-05-T-2887-2888, belonging to first respondent and insured with second respondent, before the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation.
3. On 14.08.2003 at about 9.00 p.m. when they were carrying fertilizers in the aforesaid tractor-trailor in the course of their employment on Uyamballi Kanakapura Main Road, the said tractor met with an accident near Shivaladappa Hill, resulting in injuries to claimants. Therefore, they were admitted as inpatients in General Hospital, Kanakapura for a period of 20 days to get themselves treated for the aforesaid injuries and subsequently they filed claim petitions against their employer – first respondent and insurer of the tractor – trailor, the appellant herein, seeking compensation for the injuries suffered in the aforesaid accident.
4. In the said proceedings, first respondent – owner of tractor – trailor remained exparte, the 2nd respondent insurer entered appearance, contested the claim by filing statement of objections. In both claim petitions common issues were framed and common evidence recorded. The Commissioner on appreciation of pleadings and evidence proceeded to hold that there exist relationship of employee and employer between claimants and 1st respondent and that the claimants have suffered injuries in an accident which has taken place in the course of their employment with 1st respondent and that they are entitled to receive compensation from respondents 1 and 2 in a sum of Rs.2,80,614.60 to Ramamurthy claimant in CR.No.49/2003 and Rs.1,74,703.00 to Nagaraju claimant in CR.No.50/2003 payable with interest at 12% p.a., from 30th day of accident till date of the deposit of the entire amount.
5. The second respondent – insurance company being aggrieved by the finding of the Commissioner and also the order awarding compensation to the claimants in such exaggerated amounts has come up in these appeals challenging the same, on the ground that the accident itself is doubtful for the reason that the accident is stated to have taken place on 9.00 p.m. at Shivaladappa Hill. The statement of claimants in FIR which has come up at an undisputed point of time, disclose that they were travelling in the tractor-trailor which was carrying size-stones load to Shivaladappa Hill and from that place they were bringing fertilizers. On the way the said tractor capsized resulting in injuries to claimants. According to 2nd respondent Insurance Company the said statement is incorrect and concocted. It is also contended that the policy issued to the tractor in question is a Agricultural Farmers Package Policy as such the liability to cover the risk of coolies carried therein does not arise, since it is not a transport vehicle the question of paying compensation to them does not arise. It is also contended that there is error on the part of the Commissioner in taking the wages of claimants at Rs.3,500/-per month, which is contrary to the notified wages to the loaders and unloaders under Minimum Wages Act. That the assessment of loss of earning capacity to claimants at 60% and 40% is contrary to the material evidence available on record.
6. On appreciation of the grounds of appeals and also the finding of the Commissioner in the order impugned, the following substantial questions of law arise for consideration in these appeals:
i) “Whether there is perversion in appreciation of evidence available on record by the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation?
ii) Whether the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation was justified in tak