SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2010 Supreme(Bom) 607

IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUDICATURE OF BOMBAY BENCH AT AURANGABAD
K.U.CHANDIWAL, J.
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COURT. LTD.
VERSUS
SUSHILABAI W/O GHANSHYAM ANERAO and Ors. RESPONDENTS
FIRST APPEAL NO.935 OF 2006
CA NOS.8306/2006; 2265/2008.
M/s New India Assurance Co.

Advocates Appeared:
Mr.VN Upadhye, Advocate for Appellant; Mr.DY Nandedkar, Advocate for Resp.Nos.1 & 2; Mr.UB Bilolikar, Advocate for Resp.Nos.4A to 4E; Mr.SV Kulkarni, Advocate for Respondent No.5. CORAM: K.U.CHANDIWAL, J.

The main legal point established in the judgment is that the commencement of an insurance policy is determined by the date of payment, and unilateral issuance of a policy from a future date without the consent of the policyholder is not valid.

Headnote:

Insurance - Insurance Cover - 5.5.1997 - 3rd May, 1997 - 4th May, 1997 - Balbir Kaur and Ors. Vs. New India Assurance Company Ltd. (2009) 13 SCC 370 - New India Assurance Co.Ltd. Vs. Ramdayal 1990 ACJ(I) 545 (SC); Oriental Insurance Co.Ltd. Vs. Sunita Rathi 1998 (I) 121 (SC); National Insurance Co.Ltd. Vs. Jikubhai Nathuji Dabji 1997 ACJ 351 (SC); and V.Ravi Vs. New India Ass.Co.Ltd. 1998 ACJ 598 (Calcutta) - Commencement of policy from the date of payment - Unilateral issuance of policy from a future date without consent - Effect of Cover Note on insurance contract

Fact of the Case:

The appellant/insurance company questions the legality of the Award dated 8.6.2006 recorded by learned District Judge & Chairman, MACT, Nanded MACP No.419/1997, regarding the applicability of insurance cover on the date of an accident.

Finding of the Court:

The court held that the insurance cover was applicable from the date of payment received in cash on 3rd May, 1997, and the unilateral issuance of the Cover Note from a future date without the consent of the policyholder does not impact the insurance contract.

Issues: The main issue was whether the insurance company could be exonerated from liability if the accident occurred between the remittance date (3rd May, 1997) and the effective date mentioned in the Cover Note (5.5.1997).

Ratio Decidendi: The court relied on the judgment in Balbir Kaur and Ors. Vs. New India Assurance Company Ltd. to establish that unilateral issuance of a policy from a future date without the consent of the policyholder is not valid. Additionally, the court referred to various judgments to emphasize that the commencement of the policy is determined by the date of payment.

Final Decision: The First Appeal was dismissed, and the court found no merit in the appellant's argument, thereby upholding the Award dated 8.6.2006.

JUDGMENT

1) Heard. Admit. The matter is finally disposed of at admission stage.

2) The appellant/insurance company questions legality of the Award dated 8.6.2006 recorded by learned District Judge & Chairman, MACT, Nanded MACP No.419/1997.

3) On hearing Mr.Upadhye, following points arise for my consideration :

Whether the cash for insurance cover remitted on 3rd May, 1997, Saturday, a holiday, and the Cover note showing the effective date as 5.5.1997, would exonerate the insurance company, if the accident has taken place in the intervening period of 4th May, 1997 ? My answer to the above point is against the insurance company. I hold, since the payment is accepted on 3rd May, 1997, it being a special contract, the insurance/risk will be applicable from that date.

4) The Development Officer of the appellant/insurance company Shri Pradipkumar Mehta, has confirmed, that the Cover Note was issued by him on 3rd May, 1997. He did not dispute the recitals in the Cover Note. He received Rs.1308/ towards premium from the owner of the truck in cash at his house and issued the Cover Note. The accident has taken place on 4.5.1997. According to appellant/insurance company, the applicability of the insurance was from 5th May, 1997 and hence, it could not be fastened with the liability. This is virtually negatived by the Development Officer, as he informs the Court, he did not communicate in writing to the truck owner about the policy to be effective from 5th May, 1997.

5) Learned counsel representing the claimants has taken recourse to the Judgment in the matter of Balbir Kaur and Ors. Vs. New India Assurance Company Ltd. (2009) 13 SCC 370. Their Lordships of the Apex Court in para 11 of the said judgment has observed as under :

"11. For the purpose of this case, we would assume that an insurance policy, in law, could be issued from a future date. A policy, however, which is issued from a future date must be with the consent of the holder of the policy. The insurance company cannot issue a policy unilaterally from a future date without the consent of the holder of a policy. Even the said circular letter had not been produced and/or no material was placed as to why the policy was issued from a later date. It is, however, not necessary for us to delve deep into the matter in view of the limited notice issued by this Court. Respondent No.3, the owner of the vehicle, however, has not questioned that part of the order passed by the High Court. He, therefore, accepted the judgment of the High Court. Accordingly, liability to pay the awarded amount by him is not in question."

6) The contract for insurance company naturally will be applicable from the date of payment received in cash on 3rd May, 1997 by the insurance company. Even if it was a Saturday, it will not obliterate the effect of enforcement of the policy and consequently indemnification. Any incorporation unilaterally made in the Cover Note as to its effective date, will not have adverse impact on the contract of insurance effected between the insured and the company.

7) It is a matter of record, at Exhibit79, there is earlier policy between the truck owner and the insurance company for the period from 16.4.1996 to 15.4.1997. This indicate, that reasonably the owner of the truck approached the Development Officer on 3rd May, 1997. He could not apprehend and contemplate that there could be an accident on 4th May, 1997. The precaution taken in advance has turned as a boon for the truck owner, it need not be doubted as tried to be canvassed.

8) Mr. Upadhye has placed reliance to the following judgments. New India Assurance Co.Ltd. Vs. Ramdayal 1990 ACJ(I) 545 (SC); Oriental Insurance Co.Ltd. Vs. Sunita Rathi 1998 (I) 121 (SC); National Insurance Co.Ltd. Vs. Jikubhai Nathuji Dabji 1997 ACJ 351 (SC); and V.Ravi Vs. New India Ass.Co.Ltd. 1998 ACJ 598 (Calcutta). 9) In the matter of Sunita Rathi (1998 ACJ 121), cover note was obtained by insured after the accident. But on the same day, the Cover note cont



Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top