SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2010 Supreme(Pat) 2547

PATNA HIGH COURT
S.K.Katriar and Birendra Prasad Verma JJ.
Against The Judgment Dated 6.5.2004 passed By A Learned Single Judge Of This court In C.W.J.C. No. 7736 Of 2003. the Life Insurance Corporation ...Respondents/ of India Through The Divisional Appellants manager, Muzaffarpur Divisional Office, Jeevan prakash Umashankar Prasad marg, Muzaffarpur
Versus
Manoj Kumar Mannu Son Of Sri Ganesh Prasad Singh
IA No. 635 of 2004
Decided On : NOVEMBER 25, 2010

The main legal point established in the judgment is the primacy of the Regulations framed under the Life Insurance Corporation of India Act, 1956 in governing the relationship between the Corporation and its agents, and the entitlement of the agent to receive commission after discontinuance of agency, subject to certain conditions.

Headnote:

Insurance Commission - Life Insurance Corporation of India - Insurance Act, 1938, Section 44 - Regulations 19(1)(b) - Section 44, Section 43 of the L.I.C. Act - The judgment discusses the conflict between the provisions of the Insurance Act, 1938 and the Life Insurance Corporation of India Act, 1956, and the Regulations framed under the latter. It interprets the application of Section 44 of the Insurance Act, specifically the meaning of the term 'person' and its exclusion of the insurer, in the context of the relationship between the Corporation and its agents. The judgment emphasizes the primacy of the Regulations in governing the relationship between the Corporation and its agents, and the entitlement of the agent to receive commission after discontinuance of agency, subject to certain conditions.

Fact of the Case:

The writ petitioner, an agent of the Life Insurance Corporation of India, submitted a resignation letter after serving for more than thirteen years. The Corporation forfeited the agent's commission, leading to a writ petition challenging the forfeiture. The Single Judge allowed the petition, and the Corporation appealed against this decision.

Finding of the Court:

The Court found that the provisions of the Insurance Act, 1938 were in conflict with the Life Insurance Corporation of India Act, 1956 and the Regulations framed under it. It interpreted the meaning of the term 'person' in Section 44(1)(c) of the Insurance Act and concluded that it does not include the insurer, the Corporation. The Court held that the Regulations govern the relationship between the Corporation and its agents, and the agent is entitled to receive commission after discontinuance of agency, subject to certain conditions. The Court also dismissed the appeal and ordered the Corporation to pay interest on the arrears of the agent's commission.

Issues: The issues revolved around the conflict between the provisions of the Insurance Act, 1938 and the Life Insurance Corporation of India Act, 1956, and the Regulations framed under the latter. Specifically, the interpretation of the term 'person' in Section 44(1)(c) of the Insurance Act and the entitlement of the agent to receive commission after discontinuance of agency.

Ratio Decidendi: The Court's decision was based on the interpretation of the legal provisions governing the relationship between the Corporation and its agents, emphasizing the primacy of the Regulations over the provisions of the Insurance Act, 1938. The Court also clarified the meaning of the term 'person' in Section 44(1)(c) of the Insurance Act, excluding the insurer, the Corporation, from its scope.

Final Decision: The Court dismissed the appeal, upheld the order of the Single Judge, and directed the Corporation to pay interest on the arrears of the agent's commission.

JUDGEMENT

S.K.Katriar, J.

1. This appeal under Clause 10 of the Letters Patent of the High Court of Judicature at Patna raises a grievance with respect to the order dated 6.5.2004, passed by a learned Single Judge of this Court in C.W.J.C. No. 7736 of 2003 (Manoj Kumar Mannu vs. The Life Insurance Corporation of India and Others), whereby the writ petition has been allowed, and the Life Insurance Corporation of India (the appellant herein) has been directed to make payment of the renewal commission to the writ petitioner (the respondent herein), as per the established procedure. We shall go by the description of the parties occurring in the writ proceedings.

2. A brief statement of facts essential for the disposal of the appeal may be indicated. The writ petitioner was appointed as an agent on probation. with effect from 7.11.1988, by the Branch Manager, Muzaffarpur Branch Office-1, by order dated 30.11.1988 (Annexure-1 series). He was allotted Agency Code No. 04042531. He was in due course confirmed as an agent in terms of Regulation 7(2) of the Life Insurance Corporation of India (Agents) Regulations, 1972 (hereinafter referred to as "the Regulations). After having served for about thirteen years, the petitioner sub- mitted his letter of resignation dated 15.12.2001 (Annexure-A), to the Branch Manager which was really submitted on 20.12.2001. It is relevant to state here that ten days prior to the submission of resignation letter, the petitioner had obtained an advance sum of Rs. 65,000/- from the same Branch for the ostensible purpose of purchase of a motorcycle. The Corporation promptly issued letter dated 28.1.2002 (Annexure-3), to the petitioner, conveying therein that the letter of resignation was pending consideration, and his agents commission in the meanwhile has been stopped. The petitioner was communicated with the impugned order dated 20.2.2003 (Annexure-4/1), whereby it was conveyed to him that his letter of resignation h ad been accepted, and his agents commission was forfeited in terms of sub-section (c) of Section 44 of the Insurance Act, 1938 (hereinafter referred to as the Act). This letter curiously does not mention as to the date with effect from which the letter of resignation was accepted. The aforesaid advance sum of Rs. 65,000/- was adjusted against the dues of the writ petitioner as agents commission. The petitioner, therefore, preferred the present writ petition challenging the order dated 20.2.2003 (Annexure-4/1), whereby he has been deprived of the agents commission. The same has been allowed by the learned Single Judge, wherein it has inter alia been held that the petitioners case is covered by Regulation 19(1)(b) of the Regulations, and not Section 44(1)(c) of the Act.

3. Learned counsel for the Corporation submits that the learned Single Judge has erred in holding that the petitioners case is covered by Regulation 19 of the Regulations, and not Section 44 of the Act. He next submits that the petitioner is guilty of fraud who had mislead the Corporation by taking an advance sum of Rs. 65,000/- in a situation where he had sub- mitted his resignation letter dated 15.12.2001 (which was really handed over on 20.12.2001). He was fully aware that he was going to submit his letter for cessation of his agency notwithstanding which he had withdrawn the money. He relies on the observations of a Division Bench of this Court in the case of Sukhamoy Maitra vs. Emperor, reported in A.I.R. 1938 Patna 165 (at page 169, left hand column).

4. Learned counsel for the petitioner has supported the order of the learned Single Judge.

5. We have perused the materials on record and considered the submissions of learned counsel for the parties. The Insurance Act, 1938 (4 of 1938) was brought on the statute book on 26.2.1938, and was enforced with effect from 1.7.1939 in terms of Section 1(3) of the Act to consolidate and amend the law relating to the business of insurance. The Act governed the entire range of business of i





















Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top