SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2017 Supreme(Chh) 649

BEFORE THE CHHATTISGARH STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION, RAIPUR
Shri R.S. Sharma, President, Shri D.K. Poddar, Member and Shri Narendra Gupta, Member
M/s. Life Style - Appellant
Vs.
Universal Sompo General Insurance Co. Ltd. - Respondent
Complaint Case No. CC/2016/73
Decided On : 09-03-2017

Advocates:
Advocate Appeared:
For the Appellant : Shri Sanjay Dadsena
For the Respondent: Shri Deepesh Thawait

Headnote:

Consumer Protection Act, 1986 - Section 17- Stock of Cosmetics- Assured for money - Complaint of the complainant are that the complainant is proprietor of firm M/s Life Style. The stock of Cosmetics items and cash available in shop of the complainant was insured by the O.P. under insurance policy for the period from complainant obtained cash credit limit facility from Karnataka Bank, Branch Raipur (C.G.) and the above insurance policy was issued by the O.P. through Karnataka Bank. Karnataka Bank is joint venture of the O.P. According to Schedule A of insurance Policy, cosmetic stock was insured for according to Schedule B sum assured for burglary and robbery - according to Schedule C sum assured for money was and according to Schedule J sum assured for public liability was and the O.P. obtaining premium according to total sum assured – Held, Surveyor assessed the loss on the basis of verification of records, physical inventory of stock, bank account statement, current year trading account etc. On the basis of above records, the Surveyor reached to the conclusion that the complainant has suffered loss only to the tune of Surveyor gave detailed reasons in his Survey Report for assessing the loss. The report of the Surveyor is genuine and acceptable. The complainant has not filed any evidence, on the basis of which Surveyors report can be discarded or doubted, therefore, the Surveyor Report is acceptable. Therefore, on the basis of the Survey Report of the Surveyor, the complainant is only entitled Rupees Seven Lakhs Sixty Three Thousand One Hundred Five and Seventy Paise and the sum of was already deposited by the O.P. in the bank account of the complainant through – Petition dismissed.

ORDER :

R.S. Sharma, President

The complainant filed this consumer complaint under Section 17 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 against the O.P. seeking following reliefs :-

(1) To direct the to pay remaining amount of Rs.31,93,884/- (Rupees Thirty One Lakhs Ninety Three Thousand Eight Hundred and Eighty Four) after deducting a sum of Rs.7,61,116/- (Rupees Seven Lakhs Sixty One Thousand One Hundred and Sixteen) from the actual amount of damage i.e. Rs.39,55,000/- (Rupees Thirty Nine Lakh and Fifty Five Thousand) to the complainant.

(2) To direct the O.P. to pay interest @ 12% p.a. from the date of accident i.e. 29.11.2014 till date of payment.

(3) To directed the O.P. to pay a sum of Rs.5,00,000/- (Rupees Five Lakhs) towards compensation for mental account, which has been suffered by the complainant due to unfair trade practise and deficiency in service committed by the O.P.

(4) To direct the O.P to pay entire cost of litigation and other reliefs as this Commission deems fit, to the complainant.

2. Briefly stated the facts of the complaint of the complainant are that the complainant is proprietor of firm M/s Life Style. The stock of Cosmetics items and cash available in the shop of the complainant was insured by the O.P. under insurance policy No.2939/51536360/03/000 dated 21.07.2014 for the period from 21.07.2014 to 20.07.2015. The complainant obtained cash credit limit facility from Karnataka Bank, Branch Raipur (C.G.) and the above insurance policy was issued by the O.P. through Karnataka Bank. Karnataka Bank is joint venture of the O.P. According to Schedule A of the insurance Policy, the cosmetic stock was insured for Rs.52,00,0000/-, according to Schedule B, the sum assured for burglary and robbery was Rs.53,00,000/-, according to Schedule C, the sum assured for money was Rs.1,00,000/- and according to Schedule J the sum assured for public liability was Rs.10,000/- and the O.P. obtaining premium according to total sum assured. On 29.11.2014 incident of fire occurred in the shop of the complainant, due to which the entire goods kept in the shop was damaged. The insured cosmetic items which was insured with the O.P. were also damaged and the cash to the tune of Rs.55,000/- also burnt. The complainant immediately gave intimation regarding the accident to the O.P., in response to which the O.P. sent its employee from the local office and got conducted survey. After four days of the incident, the O.P. sent a Surveyor from Delhi, who conducted survey for assessment of the loss. The complainant provided all relevant documents to the Surveyor. The intimation regarding the incident given to office of Fire Brigade and Karnataka Bank and concerned Police Station was also informed in writing. The O.P. was not settling the claim of the complainant, whereas for settlement of his claim, the complainant contacted the O.P. many times. The O.P. issued Claim No. C.L. 14051414. The complainant submitted claim form with the O.P. for loss of the stock of cosmetic to the tune of Rs.39,55,000/- and for cash to the tune of Rs.55,000/-, but the O.P. did not settle the above claim. The complainant provided audit report as well as report of the Fire Brigade team, purchase bills of the entire goods, sale bills, balance sheet. The Surveyor S. Soni and Company through his letter demanded documents i.e. claim form, report of fire brigade team, police report, newspaper, cosmetic stock register dated 01.04.2014 to 29.11.2014, credit account, documents for sale, purchase and other expenses, bank stock statement, bank account statement, rent agreement and balance sheet, which were provided by the complainant, even then the O.P. did not settle the claim of the complainant. The O.P. sent discharge voucher to the complainant which is printed in which it is mentioned that the complainant received a sum of Rs.7,63,106/- in full and final satisfaction. The complainant made protest regarding the same and put a note that the above amount will be under protest and
































Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top