THE STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES
REDRESSAL COMMISSION, DELHI
Honble Mr. Justice R.N. Mittal,
President; Ms. S. Brar & Dr. A.N. Saxena, Members
PAWAN EXPORTS (PVT.) LTD.—Complainant
versus
THE ORIENTAL INSURANCE CO. LTD.—Opp. Party
A-269 of 1993—Decided on 25.8.1993
Counsel for the Parties :
For the Complainant: Mr. R.K. Agrawal, Agent.
For the Opp. Party :Mr. L.K. Tyagi, Advocate.
The insurance policy covers the goods until they are delivered to the final warehouse at the destination named in the policy, including unloading.
Headnote:
INSURANCE - TRANSIT - MEANING - INSURANCE POLICY - COVERAGE - GOODS DAMAGED DURING UNLOADING - LIABILITY OF INSURER - COMPENSATION FOR MENTAL TORTURE AND HARASSMENT.
Fact of the Case:
The complainant dispatched a machine by truck from Vapi to their factory at Sahibabad through a transporter. The machine was insured against 'all risks, strike, riot and civil commotion' for Rs. 1 lac. During unloading, the crane gave way and the machinery fell down and got damaged. The insurer repudiated the claim.
Finding of the Court:
The court held that the insurance policy covered the goods until they were delivered to the final warehouse at the destination named in the policy, including unloading. The court also held that there was no evidence to show that the goods had been damaged before they were insured.
Issues: 1. Whether the word 'transit' in the insurance policy includes unloading of goods? 2. Whether the goods had been damaged before they were insured? 3. To what amount the complainant is entitled to get from the respondent on account of loss suffered by them?
Ratio Decidendi: 1. The court interpreted the term 'transit' in the insurance policy to include unloading of goods, based on the definition provided in Stroud's Judicial Dictionary. 2. The court held that the onus of proving that the goods had been damaged before they were insured lies on the insurer, and in this case, the insurer had failed to discharge this burden. 3. The court awarded the complainant the amount assessed by the surveyor as the loss suffered, along with interest and compensation for mental torture and harassment.
Final Decision: The court allowed the appeal and directed the insurer to pay the complainant Rs. 56,850/- with interest and Rs. 7500/- as compensation for mental torture and harassment.
Mr. Justice R.N. Mittal, President—This appeal has been filed by the complainant against the order dated 30.4.93 of the District Forum-I dismissing the complaint.
2. Briefly the facts are that the complainant despatched a machine by a truck vide goods receipt dated 25.6.89 from Vapi to their factory at Sahibabad through M/s. Jaipur Golden Company (P) Ltd., New Delhi (hereinafter referred to as the transporter). They, on 27.6.89 got the machinery insured from respondent No. 1 upto their factory against 'all risks, strike, riot and civil commotion' for Rs. 1 lac. When the goods were being unloaded by the labor in the factory premises, the crane gave way and the machinery fell down and got damaged. The respondent was informed immediately and they appointed a surveyor to assess to loss, who assessed it as Rs. 35,100/-. They paid Rs. 1,170/- to the surveyor as his fee. However, the complainant's claim was not allowed by the respondents. Consequently they filed a complaint.
3. The respondents contested the claim and inter-alia pleaded that the loss was not caused during transit. They further stated that it was possible that the complainant might have obtained the insurance after the machinery had been damaged.
4. The learned District Forum held that when the vehicle had arrived safely at the complainant's factory the risk covered under the policy was over. It further held that the insurance policy might have been obtained by the complainant with ulterior motive as the machinery was despatched on 25.6.89, whereas it was got insured two days after the date of departure of the truck from Vapi i.e. on 27.6.89. Consequently the complaint was dismissed by it. The complainant has come up in appeal to this Commission.
5. The first question that requires determination is, as to what the word 'transit' means. In order to determine this it is necessary to read Clause 5 of the policy which reads as follows:—
"This insurance attaches from the time the goods leave the warehouse and/or the store at the place named in the policy for the commencement of transit and continues during the ordinary course of transit including customary transshipment, if any, until delivery to the final warehouse at the destination named in the policy or in respect of transits by road only, until expiry of 7 days after arrival of the vehicle at the destination town named in the policy, whichever shall first occur."
According to the clause the goods are insured from the time the goods leave warehouse and continue to be issued till delivery to the final warehouse at the destination named in the policy. It is thus clear that unless the goods are delivered to the warehouse, insurance policy covers them. The delivery includes unloading of the goods. The word transit has been defined in Stroud's Judicial Dictionary (5th Edition) as follows:—
"Goods on lorries which arrived at the consignee's depot after working hours, and were taken into the depot but not unloaded, were still "in transit within the terms of the carriage agreement."
In view of the aforesaid discussion we are of the view that unless the machinery was unloaded in the factory of the complainant it would be deemed to be in transit for the purpose of the insurance policy. Therefore, the respondent is liable to reimburse the complainant regarding the loss suffered by the complainant due to fall of machinery during its unloading in the factory premises.
6. The second question that arises for determination is whether the goods had been damaged before they were got insured. There is nothing on the record to show that the goods had been damaged when the insurance was taken by the complainant. It is true that the goods were loaded on 25th June and the insurance was taken on 27th June 1989, but this fact alone does not lead to the conclusion that the goods had been damaged before 27th June'89. The damage to the goods before the date of insurance is required to be proved by the respondent. In the present case they have failed t