SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES
REDRESSAL COMMISSION, NEW DELHI
Mr. Justice V. Balakrishna Eradi, President; Mr. Justice B.S. Yadav,
Mr. Justice S.S. Chadha, Dr. (Mrs.) R. Thamarajakshi & Mr. S.P. Bagla, Members
UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD.—Appellant
versus
NAVRATHAN KOTHARI—Respondent
First Appeal No. 437 of 1993 — Decided on 5.2.1996

Advocates:
Counsel for the Parties :
For the Appellant :Mrs. Geeth Handa Khanuja, Advocate.
For the Respondent:Mr. S.D. Mokashi, Advocate.

An insurance policy terminates upon delivery of the package in good condition at the address of the consignee at destination and no claim will be admissible unless the parcel shows signs of having been tampered with during the course of transit and open delivery has been taken by the consignee.

Headnote:

INSURANCE - INSURANCE POLICY - SECTION 2, CLAUSE 8 - INSURANCE POLICY TERMINATES UPON DELIVERY OF PACKAGE IN GOOD CONDITION AT THE ADDRESS OF THE CONSIGNEE AT DESTINATION - NO CLAIM ADMISSIBLE UNLESS PARCEL SHOWS SIGNS OF TAMPERING DURING TRANSIT AND OPEN DELIVERY HAS BEEN TAKEN BY THE CONSIGNEE.

Fact of the Case:

The complainant obtained an insurance policy from the opposite party to cover a tin box containing cut and polished stones during transit from Bombay to Bangkok by air mail. The complainant alleged that a part of the precious stones was pilfered during the transit causing loss to the complainant. The opposite party contended that the box was delivered in good condition at the destination and that there has been no deficiency in service.

Finding of the Court:

The court held that under the terms and conditions of the insurance policy, the Appellant is not liable for any pilferage discovered by the respondent-complainant in the package after the consignee had acknowledged the receipt of the package in good condition at the destination.

Issues: Whether the insurance policy terminated upon delivery of the package in good condition at the address of the consignee at destination.

Ratio Decidendi: The court relied on Clause 2 of the policy which states that the insurance terminates on delivery at the address of the consignee at destination. The court also relied on Clause 8 of the policy which states that no claim will be admissible unless the parcel shows signs of having been tampered with during the course of transit and open delivery has been taken by the consignee.

Final Decision: The court allowed the appeal and set aside the order of the State Commission and dismissed the complaint.

ORDER

Mrs. R. Thamarajakshi, Member — First Appeal No. 437 of 1993 has been filed against the Order dated August 4,1993 of the Maharashtra State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission in complaint No. 119 of 1992 directing the opposite party (United India Insurance Company Ltd. Bombay Branch) to settle the complainant's claim for Rs. 3,28,178/-with interest at 18% p.a. from 7.12.89 till the date of realisation and to pay Rs. 500/- as costs to the complainant.

2. Facts of the case from the available records are: The complainant had obtained insurance policy on 17.10.89 from the opposite party to cover one tin box containing cut and polished stones valued at Rs. 3,72,460/- during transit from Bombay to Bangkok by air mail. The insurance covered all risks including pilferage, non-delivery, warehouse to warehouse. The complainant alleged that the tin box reached Bangkok and it was found that a part of precious stones was pilfered during the transit causing loss to the complainant for Rs. 3,28,178/-. The complainant reported the incident on the same day to the Surveyor nominated by the United India Insurance Company and it was investigated by the surveyor, who assessed the value of loss of 570.54 carrots at Rs. 3,28,178/-. The complainant alleged that the opposite party-Insurance Company rejected the claim on unjustifiable grounds. The opposite party contended that the box in question was delivered in good condition at the destination, and that therefore there has been no deficiency in service. According to the complainant when the box reached the destination, the package was accepted without minute examination and receipt was given about its delivery. Therefore, when the package was opened by the customer, he found that the tin box was tampered skillfully and the pilferage was done by removing some precious stones. According to the complainant, there were no apparent visible signs on the package of tampering when it was delivered. In the absence of apparent signs, the receipt dated 20th October, 1989 was issued by the customer acknowledging receipt of the package.

3. The, State Commission relied on the surveyor's (Loyd's) report which described the manner in which the tampering of the package was done and which concluded that "out of ten packages of emerald, 6 were removed due to the act of pilferage", as strong evidence in support of complainant's claim. The State Commission was also of the view that the acknowledgement receipt given by the customer without open examination of the package, in the presence of the courier agency who was a stranger was in keeping with the normal practice specially since the package contained precious stones. The State Commission concluded that there has been pilferage of six packets containing precious stones and that as per the stipulation in the policy, the insurer had to indemnify the loss. The State Commission, therefore, Held that the repudiation of the insurance claim by the opposite party under proved circumstances of theft of precious stones arbitrarily and without valid reasons was a deficiency in service towards the complainant. In the result, the State Commission directed the opposite party to settle the complainant's claim for Rs. 3,28,178/- with interest at 18% p.a. from 7.12.89 till realisation and Rs. 500/- as costs to the complainant.

4. In the Appeal, the Appellant has stated that the claim had been rejected after due application of mind and after scrutinization of the terms of the policy. It has been pointed out that the packet was delivered in goods and sealed condition to the consignee who in spite of knowing the valuable contents of the packet did not bother to check whether the precious gems were in order or not. According to the Appellant, the contract of insurance terminated at the time of delivery and the taking of signature of the consignee on the official delivery receipt of the courier. Regarding the surveyor's report, the Appellant clarified that at no stage it had disowned







Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top