UNION TERRITORY CONSUMER DISPUTES
REDRESSAL COMMISSION, CHANDIGARH
Honble Mr. Justice J.B. Garg, President;
Mr. Sada Nand & Mrs. P. Ojha, Members
C.S. ANAND—Complainant
versus
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LTD. &
ORS.—Respondents
Complaint Case No. 504 of 1993—Decided on 15.10.1997
Counsel for the Parties :
For the Complainant :Mr. S.K. Bhardwaj, Advocate.
For the Respondents:Mr. Pardeep Bedi, Advocate.
Headnote:Consumer Protection Act, 1986 - Section 17 read with Section 12 and Section 2(1)(g) and 14(1)(d) Insurance - Complainant took Contractors All Risk Policy - Loss caused by heavy rains and floods to Dam/material - Intimation sent to respondent - Surveyor appointed Loss assessed at Rs. 2,38,000f- Engineer of complainant assessed loss at Rs. 7,94,385.25 - Respondent sent cheque for Rs. 1,38,000/after deducting Rs. one lakh on account of excess clause - Cheque accepted under protest - Occurrence of flood not in dispute - Complainant could not bring on record evidence regarding loss alleged and claimed - Liable to pay Rs. 2,38,000/- and nothing deductable out of it - Second occurrence of flood established - Damage caused on account of heavy floods - Respondent deficient in ignoring second claim Liable to pay Rs. 50,000/- in respect of second complaint.
Held: During the course of arguments we wanted to find out what was the date of this letter but on behalf of the respondents there was no answer regarding the execution of this letter. This goes to show that in this case also the usual practice of receiving undated receipts signed by the client was adopted and in the circumstances of the case the plea that the deduction of Rs. 1,00,000/- was made without any objection has no merit. The occurrence of flood is not in dispute. The complainant could not bring on record the evidence regarding the loss alleged and claimed by him in the complaint. In such circumstances we hold that the respondent is liable to pay a sum of Rs. 2,38,000/- and nothing is deductable out of it. Since Rs. 1,38,000/- has already been paid to the complainant, the respondents are liable to pay the balance Rs. 1,00,000/- together with interest @ 12% per annum from the date of institution of the complaint till realisation. The complainant is also en~ titled to costs Rs. 2,000/-. (Para 4)
All this established that there was a second flood as well which the complainant contractors met with. After considering the pleadings and documents referred to above, we hold that the respondents were deficient in ignoring this second claim altogether. We hold that the respondents are liable to pay Rs. 50,000/- in respect of the second claim and this complaint is disposed off with the direction that the aforesaid sum shall be paid by the respondents to the complainant within a period of two months from the date of judgment. (Para 6)
Result: Ordered accordingly.
Mr. Justice J.B. Garg, President—The complainant is a registered partnership firm and had been acting as Government Contractors. Though the registered office is at Dalton-ganj, Bihar, there is an administrative office in Sector 22B, Chandigarh. The complainant undertook construction of Damsal Dam at Village Mehngarwal, District Hoshiarpur on 23.4.1987. The entire cost of the project was Rs. 1,69,05,686/- and it was to be completed within a period of 24 months from 23.4.1987. When the work was nearing completion during September, 1988 keeping in view the natural calamities such as rains and floods etc. the complainant approached New India Assurance Company, respondent No. 1 having its regional office at Chandigarh to issue a Contractors' All Risk Policy in the sum of Rs. 1,69,05,686/-. The cover note and policy are Annexures A-2 & A-3. The premium of Rs. 84.950/- was paid to the respondent on 6.7.1988 at the time the cover note was issued but the policy has been issued by the respondents on 13.8.1991. On 16.11.1990 an additional sum of Rs. 14,760/- was also deposited as the balance premium on a demand made by the respondents in respect of these issued "Contractors' All Risk Policy". The complainant was kept in dark regarding terms and conditions for a long time. There were heavy rains and flood resulting in loss to the dam/material. An intimation in this regard was sent to the respondent on 5.9.1988. The respondents deputed their Surveyors and they were expected to furnish a survey report quickly. The loss assessed by the qualified Government Engineers was alleged to be Rs. 7,94,385.25, Shri Charanjit Singh, Development Officer of the respondent Company came to the complainant alongwith a crossed cheque of Rs. 1,38,000/- dated 22.7.1991 drawn on United Commercial Bank, Mohali. The complainant informed on 22.7.1991 that the total loss assessed was in the sum of Rs. 2,38,000/-. The deduction of a sum of Rs. 1,00,000/- made by the respondents had no justification because it was Contractors' All Risk Policy. The complainant expressed his resentment and the cheque for Rs. 1,38,000/- was simply accepted under protest. The notices were issued by the complainant to the respondents on 23.7.1992. On failure of the respondent the claim put forward is as under :
(i) Rs. 7,94,385/- on account of the actual damage caused at the site and assessed by the qualified Engineers together with interest @ 24% per annum minus Rs. 1,38,000/- received as part payment under protest;
(ii) Further sum of Rs. 5 lacs as compensation on account of mental torture, physical pains etc.
2. In reply it has been averred that the complaint instituted on 2.9.1994 is barred by time. On merits, it has been averred that neither there was negligence nor any deficiency in rendering the services on the part of the Insurance Company. The insurance policy was purchased by the complainant at Mohali which is under the jurisdiction of State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Punjab, this Commission has no territorial jurisdiction. There were large number of questions of law and facts and these could not be tried here. The Forms A & B have not been placed on record to show that Shri Harvinder Pal Singh is partner of the complainant concern and competent to institute the complaint. The respondent Insurance Company appointed Shri D.S. Rattan as Surveyor & Loss Assessor and submitted the report dated 3.7.1989. It has been denied that the Engineer of the complainant assessed the loss to the tune of Rs. 7,94,385.25. The total claim of the complainant was worked out to Rs. 2,38,000/- (Annexure R- 1) and out of which a sum of Rs. 1,00,000/- was deducted on account of excess clause and balance of Rs. 1,38,000/- was paid to the complainant towards full and final settlement. The complainant was never compelled to accept this particular sum.
3. In support of the complaint there is an affidavit dated 13.7.1995 of Shri H.P.S. Anand, one of the partners of the complainant. The releva