MADHYA PRADESH STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES
REDRESSAL COMMISSION, BHOPAL
Hon’ble Mr. Justice S.K. Dubey, President &
Mrs. Saroj Rajwade, Member
KULDIP SINGH—Complainant
versus
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE CO. LTD.—Opposite Party
Original Case No. 73 of 1996—Decided on 10.9.1999
For the Complainant :Mr. V.K. Jain, Advocate.
For the Opposite Party :Mr. Mahavir Bhatnagar and Mr. S.K. Menon, Advocates.
Repudiation of an insurance claim is not a deficiency in service if it is done in a bona fide manner after application of mind.
Headnote:
INSURANCE - MEDI-CLAIM POLICY - REPUDIATION OF CLAIM - BONA FIDE REPUDIATION - NO DEFICIENCY IN SERVICE - CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT, 1986, SECTION 2(1)(g).
Fact of the Case:
The complainant, a resident of Indore, obtained a Medi-claim Policy from the opposite party in 1991 and renewed it in subsequent years. In June 1994, he obtained an Overseas Medi-claim Policy from the opposite party before traveling to the USA. After 40 days in the USA, the complainant experienced health issues and underwent cardiovascular surgery. The claim for reimbursement of expenses was repudiated by the opposite party on the ground that the complainant had a history of hypertension and ischemic heart disease.
Finding of the Court:
The court found that the repudiation of the claim was done in a bona fide manner after application of mind and hence there was no deficiency in service. The court relied on the report of Dr. Chopra, the operating doctor in the USA, which indicated that the complainant had a history of hypertension and was receiving medical therapy for ischemic heart disease.
Issues: Whether the repudiation of the claim by the opposite party was bona fide and whether there was any deficiency in service.
Ratio Decidendi: The court held that the repudiation of the claim was bona fide and there was no deficiency in service. The court relied on the report of Dr. Chopra, which indicated that the complainant had a history of hypertension and was receiving medical therapy for ischemic heart disease. The court also noted that the complainant had not provided any evidence to contradict the report of Dr. Chopra.
Final Decision: The complaint was dismissed.
Mrs. Saroj Rajwade, Member—This is a complaint on the original side filed by the complainant alleging deficiency in service on the part of the opposite party. Complainant is resident of Indore. His son Jasdip Singh is residing in Maryland (USA) for last 10 years. Complainant and his family have obtained Medi-claim Policy from the opposite party since 1991 and renewed it in following years. However, no claim has ever been filed against this Medi-claim Policy by complainant or his family any time. In June, 1994 when the complainant wished to go to USA his Medi-claim Policy was effective but he was advised to obtain Overseas Medi-claim Policy. The complainant was advised to undergo medical checkup before issue of Overseas Medi-claim Policy. Accordingly checkup was done by Dr. D.K. Jain and Pathological test by Dr. P.S. Ajmani (Annex-B). Opposite party issued Medi-claim Policy, after satisfying themsevles, bearing No. 852/36064 (Annexure-C). The complainant proceeded to USA on or about 12.6.1994. After staying for 40 days, the complainant got some complaint and was immediately taken to Doctor. After examination complainant was admitted to University of Maryland, School of Medicine, Bathmore Maryland and was advised to undergo cardiovascular surgery. This development was reported to agent of opposite party and a claim for reimbursement of expenses was filed with opposite party. Opposite party referred the claim to its claim settling agent, i.e. Mercury International Assistance and Claims Ltd., England. Complainant has further stated that prior to this, complainant never had any complaint about hypertension, or heart disease or ischemic heart disease nor was ever treated for above diseases or hospitalised for this ailment. This, according to complainant, is proved by reports of medical check-ups done in past and the medical check-up done prior to departure for U.S.A. Further if he had received any treatment, he would have filed a claim under Medi-claim Policy.
2. Opposite party vide their letter dated 4.1.1995 repudiated this claim on the ground that records received from hospital show that complainant had a history of hypertension and he had positive stress test in 1993 resulting in medication for ischemic heart disease. Lot of correspondence was exchanged between the two parties but failing to get relief from the opposite party, the complainant filed a complaint on 31.12.1996 and prayed for directions to opposite party to pay Rs. 12,44,006/- (Twelve lakhs forty four thousand and six rupees) as per details in para 18 of the complaint.
3. Opposite party filed a reply to the complaint on 15.10.1997, in which they have raised preliminary objections, about adjudication of this case in Consumer Forum, on the grounds that this case will require expert scientific testimony and voluminous oral and documentary evidence. Opposite party, therefore, prayed for directions to pursue the case in Civil Court. Subject to above objection, the opposite party submitted a parawise reply in which all the allegations made in the complaint were denied generally and specifically opposite party further stated that report of Dr. Chopra attending surgeon in USA who performed the surgery, shows that complainant was a patient of hypertension and had undergone a positive stress test in 1993 and consequently was on medication for ischemic heart disease. A copy of the report has been filed as (Annexure R1) with the reply. It was further submitted on behalf of opposite party that there was no deficiency in service as the repudiation of claim was done by their agent as per terms of policy after careful consideration and proper application of mind. Opposite party, therefore, denied that they were liable to pay the amount claimed in the complaint and also prayed for dismissal of complaint.
4. An affidavit-cum-rejoinder was filed by the complainant to the above reply of the opposite party in which complainant alleged that repudiation of claim was made in a mala fide