UNION TERRITORY CONSUMER DISPUTES
REDRESSAL COMMISSION, CHANDIGARH
Hon’ble Mr. Justice K.K. Srivastava, President;
Maj. Gen. S.P. Kapoor & Mrs. Devinderjit Dhatt, Members
ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED & ANR.—Appellants
versus
SANJEEV KUMAR SHARMA—Respondent
Appeal Case No. 230 of 2004—Decided on 28.7.2004
Counsel for the Parties :
For the Appellants :Mr. D.P. Gupta, Advocate.
For the Respondent: Mr. Rajesh Kumar Sharma, Authorised Representative.
The central legal point established in the judgment is the entitlement of a consumer to compensation for deficient service under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986.
Headnote:
Insurance - Consumer Dispute - [Consumer Dispute, Insurance, Service] - [Consumer Protection Act, 1986 - Section 2(1)(d), Section 2(1)(g), Section 2(1)(o), Section 14(1)] - The court discussed the consumer's right to compensation for deficient service under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986. It highlighted the duty of the insurance company to pay for the loss suffered by the consumer and the requirement to provide genuine and bona fide reasons for repudiating a claim. The court's decision was influenced by the interpretation of the evidence presented and the application of the legal provisions to determine deficiency in service and entitlement to compensation.
Fact of the Case:
The respondent/complainant's computer was damaged due to electric energy fluctuation, and the insurance company only allowed a partial claim. The complainant sought compensation for the full amount of damage, rent for a hired computer, and damages for mental agony and harassment.
Finding of the Court:
The court found that the insurance company was deficient in its service and did not apply its mind to the whole material before repudiating the claim. It held that the complainant was entitled to compensation for the proven damages and hire charges for the alternative computer arrangement.
Issues: The issues involved the consumer's right to compensation for deficient service, the genuineness of the reasons for repudiating the claim, and the entitlement to additional damages for mental agony and harassment.
Ratio Decidendi: The court's decision was based on the determination of deficiency in service by the insurance company, the assessment of the evidence presented, and the entitlement of the consumer to compensation for proven damages.
Final Decision: The appeal was dismissed, and the court awarded costs to the respondent/complainant.
Mr. Justice K.K. Srivastava, President—This is an appeal filed by the O.Ps. of Complaint Case No. 350 of 2002 filed by the respondent/complainant Shri Sanjeev Kumar Sharma against judgment and order dated 3.3.2004 passed by the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum-II, U.T., Chandigarh (for short hereinafter referred to as District Forum) allowing the complaint and directing the O.Ps. to pay Rs. 17,850/- + Rs. 18,000/- totalling Rs. 35,850/- with interest @ 6% per annum from the date of filing of the complaint i.e., 21.5.2002 till its payment along with Rs. 1,000/- as costs of litigation.
2. The respondent/complainant got his computer insured with M/s. Oriental Insurance Company Limited (for short hereinafter referred to as the Insurance Company) for Rs. 25,000/- vide cover note No. 578057 dated 10.4.2000. Prior to the issuance of Insurance policy, an investigation of the computer aforesaid had been done and pre-investigation report was prepared by the Surveyor appointed by the Insurance Company, the appellant. The said computer was damaged on or about 5.1.2001 due to fluctuation of electric energy. This was duly intimated to the appellant - Insurance Company vide letter dated 5.1.2001 (copy Annexure C-3). The estimate of repairs (C-3/A) and (C-3/B) were also annexed with the letter. Shri Satwinder Singh was appointed as Surveyor to assess the loss of damage. The Surveyor investigated the computer system and signed all the defective components thereof and on the basis of the report of the Surveyor, the Insurance Company passed a claim for Rs. 1,469/- although actual insurance claim submitted by the complainant to the O.Ps. was for Rs. 17,100/- + Rs. 750/- = Rs. 17,850/-.
3. Alleging deficiency in service on the part of the Insurance Company, the respondent/complainant served legal notice dated 8.10.2001 (C-1), which was, however, dated 8.10.2001, which was, however, not settled and this also, it is alleged, amounted to deficiency in service. The complainant prayed that O.Ps. be directed to pay Rs. 17,850/- with interest @ 18% per annum from January 2001 till its realization and be further directed to pay an amount of Rs. 15,000/- as rent paid for hired computer being alternative arrangement along with future rent @ 1,000/- per month till the case is settled and a sum of Rs. 50,000/- was claimed as damages on account of mental agony, harassment, loss and injury suffered due to the negligence and deficient services rendered by the O.Ps. The costs of complaint was also claimed.
4. The O.Ps. contested the complaint case and challenged the maintainability of the complaint case. It was alleged that the complainant was not a consumer and had no locus standi to file the complaint. The plea of estoppel was also taken. It was urged that the dispute may be referred to the Arbitrator under Arbitration clause contained in the policy of insurance. Next, it was urged that the case involved complicated questions of law and facts and the complainant be relegated to his remedy of approaching a Civil Court of competent jurisdiction. It was, however, not disputed that the claim was settled by the appellant Insurance Company to the extent of Rs. 1,469/-. It was not denied that in the event of partial loss, it is the duty of the O.P. to get the damaged parts repaired so that the computer may be in the same condition in which it was before the damage had been caused. But such a situation would arise only when the claim of the complainant was genuine. Reliance was placed by the appellant on the survey report (Annexure R-2). It was categorically denied that there was any contradiction in Surveyor’s report and letter (C-4) of the appellant on one hand and the pre-investigation report on the other hand on the basis of which the policy of insurance was issued.
5. Parties led evidence in the shape of their affidavits and filed documentary evidence.
6. The District Forum referred to the affidavit of Shri N.K. Nagal, Sr. Divisional Manager and discusse