SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

Supreme Court of India
Dr. AR. Lakshmanan & Altamas Kabir, JJ.
SHOBIKA ATTIRE—Appellant
versus
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE CO. LTD. and ANR.—Respondents
Civil Appeal No. 2066 of 2006 from Order dated 21.11.2005 of
National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi
in Original Petition No. 91 of 1999—Decided on 15.9.2006

Counsel for the Parties:
For the Appellant :Mr. S. Dorairaj , Mr. V. Ramasubramanian, Mr. Arvind and Mr. V. Balachandran, Advocates.
For the Respondents:Mr. Pranab Kumar Mullick, Advocate.

The insurance company has the burden to disprove the claim of the insured party, and failure to do so may result in a direction to pay the claim amount.

Headnote:

Consumer Protection Act - Insurance Claim - 1986 - [RIOT, INSURANCE CLAIM] - [Section 23] - The court discussed the insurance policy covering damages due to riots, strike, malicious and terrorist damage. The court analyzed the evidence of looting and damage to the stock in trade during the riot and concluded that the insurance company failed to disprove the claim of the appellants, thereby directing the insurance company to pay the balance amount of the claim with interest.

Fact of the Case:

The appellant-firm, covered by an insurance policy, claimed compensation for damages to stock in trade caused by a riot. The insurance company failed to settle the claim, leading to a complaint before the Commission, which dismissed the claim. The appeal was filed against the rejection of the claim.

Finding of the Court:

The court found that the insurance company failed to disprove the claim of the appellants and directed the insurance company to pay the balance amount of the claim with interest.

Issues: Dispute over the extent of damage and looting during a riot, failure of the insurance company to settle the claim, and the appellants' entitlement to compensation.

Ratio Decidendi: The insurance company failed to disprove the claim of the appellants, and the appellants had discharged the initial burden regarding destruction and damage of the showroom and the stocks therein by fire and riot in support of the claim under the insurance policy.

Final Decision: The appeal was allowed, and the insurance company was directed to pay the balance amount of the claim with interest to the appellants.

JUDGMENT

Altamas Kabir, J.— This is an appeal under Section 23 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 from an order dated 21st November, 2005 passed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi (for short ‘the Commission’) in Original Petition No. 91 of 1999, dismissing the said petition. In order to appreciate the decision of the Commission, the facts of the case are briefly set out hereinbelow:

The appellant-firm, dealing in textile goods, has its showroom in the city of Coimbatore. It was covered by an insurance policy with the New India Assurance Company Limited, respondent No.1 herein, and at the relevant time had an insurance cover for all the stock in trade of textile items and garments. The said policy dated 11th March, 1997, expressly covered damages to the said stock in trade that might be caused due to riots, strike, malicious and terrorist damage.

2. From the materials on record, it appears that the appellant-firm had been enjoying the benefit of loans from the 2nd respondent on the hypothecation of the stock in trade, the value of which was not less than Rs. 2 crores at any given point of time. The furnitures, fixtures, fittings and glass plates of the showroom were separately insured with M/s. National Insurance Company Limited.

3. Consequent upon a series of bomb blasts, which rocked the city of Coimbatore on 14th February, 1998, a group of armed rioters are alleged to have looted the appellants’ showroom and set fire to it. According to the appellants, the entire stock of goods was either looted or reduced to ashes. The conflagration, which was of a communal nature, also saw the house of the proprietary of the appellant-firm being attacked by the rioters, causing her to flee with her family across the State border to Palghat in Kerala to save their lives. It appears that on the very next morning, a few officials of the New India Assurance Company Limited along with their Surveyors, M/s. Asawa & Co., inspected the damage at the appellants’ showroom. However, it was only after the communal passions began to subside that the proprietrix of the appellant-firm was able to return to Coimbatore on 17th February, 1998 and to lodge a complaint with the police regarding the incident. The officials of the insurance company took possession of the salvaged stock and the same was kept in the custody of their nominated Surveyors, M/s. Asawa & Co. In addition to the above, the insurance company also appointed one M/s. Standard Surveyors (P) Ltd. to survey the loss. The said Surveyors issued a questionnaire to the appellants which was replied to by the appellants on 20th March, 1998 giving details of the loss suffered by them together with various documents.

4. While the said formalities were proceeding, an anonymous information was said to have been received by the insurance company indicating that the appellants had themselves taken away some of the stock during the rioting. On the basis of such information, an inquiry was ordered by the respondent-insurance company by an investigator of M/s. Vasu Associates. The appellants and/or their officers were not associated with the said inquiry.

5. On 20th March, 1998, the appellant-firm lodged its claim with the respondent-insurance company for payment of compensation amounting to Rs. 2.20 crores. It is the case of the appellants that under the guise of ascertaining the correct picture, the respondent insurance-company for one reason or the other failed to settle the claim.

6. In the meantime, at the instance of the National Insurance Company, which had insured the fixtures, fittings and furnitures, M/s. Comtec, Surveyors, Valuers and Assessors, filed their final report on 9th June, 1998 on the basis whereof the National Insurance Company Ltd. approved the claim of the appellant for Rs. 20,43,605/-.

7. After the Surveyors had submitted their report dated 11th September, 1998, working out the damage at Rs.1,02,38,738/- excluding the stocks in the two levels of the basement























Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top