SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2007 (3) CPR 154
MAHARASHTRA STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION, MUMBAI, (CIRCUIT BENCH AT AURANGABAD
S.G. Deshmukh Presiding Member and Uma S. Bora, Member
The Regional Manager, National
Insurance Co. Ltd. & Anr.—Appellants
versus
Smt. Meena Mahadeorao Sirsat
& Ors.—Respondents
First Appeal No. 890/1998 with First Appeal No. 954/1998
Decided on 17-2-2007

Advocates:
Counsel for the Parties:
For the Complainant No. 1:Shri L.R. Bajaj, Advocate.
For the Respondent:Shri V.N. Upadhye, Advocate.

IMPORTANT POINT
Payment of cheque date backs to the date of cheque or to the time it was given.

Headnote:Consumer Protection Act, 1986— Section 2(1)(g) —Banking—Return of cheque by Bank due to death of its customer—Validity—Bank after death of its customer cannot pay any cheque drawn by deceased customer prior to his demise and presented after his death—No deficiency in service on part of the Bank.

       Facts of the Case:

       (A)The husband of the complainant had taken Janata personal accident policy from the opponent No. 4 on 4.3.1997 for Rs. 5,00,000. He had issued cheque dated 4.3.1997 drawn on SBI for Rs. 1,650 towards premium, the insurance company had issued a cover note on 10.3.1997 covering for a period of 10.3.1997 to 9.3.2009 i.e. for a period of 12 years. That being so, the husband of the complainant died on 15.3.1997 in an accident. The cheque in question was transmitted to the bank on 2.4.1997 which was returned unpaid with remark ‘party died’. As the cheque was returned, the insurance company has repudiated the claim on ground that there was no policy in subsistence.

       (B) It is to be remembered that in the normal course of working of the insurance company, cheque received as premium is sent immediately for collection. Payment by cheque is as good as payment in cash provided of course it is honoured. In this case, the cheque was issued on 4.3.1997 and the same was sent for collection on 14.3.1997 but he bank has received the cheque only on 2.4.1997. There is no explanation from the Insurance Company why the cheque could not be presented immediately for collection. It was the fault of the Insurance Company for not presenting the cheque within reasonable time for encashment. Forum has rightly held that there is deficiency in the service of the Insurance Company. (Paras 1 to 4).

       Result: Appeal dismissed.

ORDER (ORAL)

S.G. Deshmukh, Member—These two appeals arise from the judgment and order dated 19.3.1998, passed by the District Consumer Forum, Beed in Complaint Case No. 51/1997, thereby directing the opponents No. 1 to 4 to pay Rs. 5,00,000 jointly and severally within period of 2 months and also to pay Rs. 5,000 towards mental agony and damages and Rs.1,000 towards costs to the complainant.

2. The complainant’s case before the Forum is that, Mahadev Bapurao Sirsath was carrying business in the name and style as M/s. Saudagar Krushi Seva Kendra and was maintaining a loan account with the opponent No. 2. It is contended that, Mahadev Bapurao Sirsath i.e. husband of the complainant has taken Janata Personal Accident Insurance Policy of Rs. 5,00,000 for the period 10.3.1997 to 9.3.2009 i.e. for a period of 12 years. It is contended that, her husband had handed over a cheque of Rs. 1,650 dated 4.3.1997 towards the premium. He was issued a cover note dated 10.3.1997 covering proposed risk under the proposed Insurance Policy. It is contended that, her husband Mahadev Sirsath died in accident on 15.3.1997. According to the opponents No. 1 and 2, the said cheque was presented to their bank on 2.4.1997, which was returned unpaid by the bank with the remark “Party Died”. According to the opponents No.1 and 2, the liability is of National Insurance Corporation, as the said cheque was deposited by their agent on or about 13.3.1997 and they had presented the cheque to their bank on about 14.3.1997 for realisation, which was returned unpaid with remark “Party Died”. It is also contended by the complainant that, she had informed the opponents No. 3 and 4 regarding accident in question. It is further contention of the complainant that, NIC had informed her vide letter dated 17.4.1997 as to the bouncing of the premium cheque and had cancelled the receipt and further informed her that, they are not at risk from inception of the policy. It is further her contention that, a D.D. of Rs. 1,650 with letter dated 28.5.1997 towards premium for cancelled cheque dated 4.3.1997 was sent by her to NIC. The NIC informed her that, no insurance could be granted in respect of the dead person and returned the D. D., hence the complainant approached to the District Forum, Beed by filing complaint.

3. All the opponents appeared before the Forum below and resisted the claim by filing their written statements. It is the contention of the NIC that, as there was no valid or concluded contract between the NIC and deceased Mahadev Sirsath, as he died before realisation of the premium cheque. It is also contended that, receipt of the cheque mentions that, cheque was subject to the realisation of the cheque. As no consideration was passed, there is no obligation on the part of the NIC to accept the liability, as there is bar under Section 64 (v)(b) of the Insurance Act to cover any such risk. It is also contended that, no acceptance of proposal was communicated to the deceased.

4. The original opponents No.1 and 2 contended that, there was no deficiency in the services on their part. The cheque was presented to the Bank on 2.4.1997, when the insured was reported to be dead. It is contended that, death of insured terminated the contract between him and bank. It is further contended that, on 2.4.1997 when the cheque was presented for payment, the account of complainant’s husband was already overdrawn of the sanctioned cash credit limit of Rs. 2,25,000 and in fact there was outstanding dues of Rs. 2,50,108.34 ps. Thus they contended that, Bank has correctly and legally refused to payment of the cheque in question.

5. The Forum below after going through the documents, affidavits and hearing the parties, allowed the complaint with directions to the opponents to pay Rs. 5,00,000 towards the insurance claim together with sum of Rs. 5,000 towards mental agony and Rs. 1,000 towards cost.

6. Being aggrieved by the order of the Forum below, the Appeal No. 890/1998 has been























Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top