CHATTISGARH STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
R.S. Sharma, President and Miss. Heena Thakkar, Member
ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. - Appellant
Versus
NIRMALA VERMA AND OTHERS - Respondents
Appeal No. FA/13/303
Decided on : 13-08-2014
Mr. P.K. Paul, Advocate, for the Appellant; Mr. A.K. Anant, Advocate. and Mr. N.K. Sahu, Advocate, for the Respondent
The court established that the deceased's death was accidental, and the claim of unsoundness of mind was not proven, leading to the erroneous award of interest and compensation for mental agony.
Headnote:
Insurance - Consumer Dispute - Railways Act, 1989 - Section 161 - Summary of Acts and Sections: Railways Act, 1989, Section 161 - The court discussed the violation of terms and conditions of the insurance policy, the accidental nature of the insured's death, and the lack of privity of contract between the deceased and the Insurance Company. The court also highlighted the inadmissibility of the claim of unsoundness of mind of the deceased and the erroneous award of interest and compensation for mental agony by the District Forum.
Fact of the Case:
The deceased insured was killed in a train accident while crossing a railway line. The Insurance Company denied the claim, alleging that the deceased violated the insurance policy terms and had unsoundness of mind. The District Forum awarded compensation to the complainants, which the Insurance Company appealed.
Finding of the Court:
The court found that the deceased's death was accidental and that the Insurance Company's claim of unsoundness of mind was not proven. The District Forum's award of interest and compensation for mental agony was deemed erroneous.
Issues: Violation of insurance policy terms, accidental nature of death, claim of unsoundness of mind, and erroneous award of interest and compensation for mental agony.
Ratio Decidendi: The deceased's death was accidental, and the claim of unsoundness of mind was not proven. The District Forum's award of interest and compensation for mental agony was erroneous.
Final Decision: The appeal was partly allowed, setting aside the District Forum's directions for payment of interest and compensation for mental agony. The Insurance Company was directed to pay the sum assured to the complainants within 2 months.
ORDER
Mr. Justice R.S. Sharma, President - This appeal is directed against order dated 23.3.2013, passed by District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Raipur (C.G.) (henceforth District Forum") in Complaint Case No. 138/2011. By the impugned order, learned District Forum, has partly allowed the complaint and directed the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company) to pay a sum of Rs. 5,00,000 along with interest @ 6% p.a. from the date of filing of the complaint i.e. 6.4.2011 till the date of payment. The Insurance Company has further been directed to pay a sum of Rs. 10,000 as compensation for mental agony and Rs. 3,000 as Advocate fees and cost of litigation to the respondents Nos. l to 3 (complainants).
2. Learned District Forum fastened the liability to pay the compensation upon the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company) and exonerated the respondent No. 2 (O.P. No. 2) (Bank) from the liability of paying any compensation to the respondent Nos. 1 to 3 (complainants).
3. Briefly stated, the facts of the case of the complaint filed before the District Forum are that late Lalit Kumar Verma, was husband of the respondent No. l (complainant No. 1) and father of respondent No. 2 (complainant No. 2) and respondent No. 3 (complainant No. 3), who are minor. Late Lalit Kumar Verma was posted as Shiksha Karmi Verg-02 in Government Middle School, Sirri since 5.8.2006. From 26.4.2010 to 28.4.2010 he was deputed for census work at Block Tilda. On the date of incident, he was returning from Tilda and parked his motorcycle near railway crossing and was crossing railway line for urination, at that time he came to contact of a train and on account of this he died on the spot. The matter was reported to Rail Police Chowki, Bhatapara on 28.4.2010. The deceased Lalit Kumar Verma opened an bank account in Dena Bank, Kharora and obtained insurance policy for the sum assured Rs. 5,00,000 and his account No. was 5 B/E.D.U./100385. A sum of Rs. 100 was deducted toward premium from his account. After death of Lalit Kumar Verma, the respondent Nos.l to 3 (complainants) submitted claim before the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company but the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company) informed the respondent Nos. 1 to 3 (complainants) that their claim was closed and the Insurance Company has repudiated the claim of the respondent Nos. 1 to 3 (complainants) and thus committed deficiency in service, hence the respondent Nos.l to 3 (complainant) filed consumer complaint before the District Forum.
4. The appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company) filed written statement before the District Forum and pleaded that the District Forum has no jurisdiction to try the case. The appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company) appointed an Investigator in the matter. On the basis of the Investigation Report, the claim of the respondent Nos.l to 3 (complainants) was closed. In the investigation, it was found that the deceased insured was unauthorized crossing the railway line and due to negligence of the deceased himself the accident took place and he died, which is apparently violation of the terms and conditions of the insurance policy, therefore, the respondent Nos. 1 to 3 (complainants) are not entitled for getting any compensation from the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company). The appellant (O.P. No. 1) further pleaded that the deceased insured was suffering from mental disorder and he was unsoundness of mind and he was under treatment prior to last two years from the date of his death and the Insurance Policy was obtained by him after suppressing material facts, therefore, the respondent Nos.l to 3 (complainants) are not entitled to get any compensation from the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance company) under the insurance policy and the appellant (O.P. No. 1) (Insurance Company) has rightly repudiated the claim of the respondent Nos. 1 to 3 (complainants).
5. The respondent No. 2 (O.P. No. 2) (Bank) filed its written statement before the District Forum an