SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

Haryana State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Chandigarh
T.P.S. Mann, President and Harnam Singh Thakur, Judicial Member
PNB MetLife India Insurance Co. Ltd.
and Anr. – Appellants
versus
Charanajit Kaur and Anr. – Respondents
First Appeal No.338 of 2020
Decided on 4.8.2021

Advocates:
Counsel for the Parties:
For the Appellants:Mr. Nitin Gupta, Advocate

IMPORTANT POINTS
1. It is the responsibility of the insurance company to ensure due diligence while approving a policy
2. The interval between the start of the insurance period and death cannot be a cause for not providing a claim of a life insurance policy
3. Arguments of suppression of material facts cannot be considered if due diligence wasn’t done at early stage


Headnote:

(A)Consumer Protection Act, 1986 – Sec. 2(1)(g) [Sec. 2(11) of Consumer Protection Act, 2019] - Deficiency in service – Complaint – Nominee of the insured deceased filed complaint in Distt. Commission alleging deficiency in service – Two life insurance policies taken by the deceased – Deceased passed away 13 days after taking the 2nd policy - Opp. Party insurance company denied claim stating suppression of material facts, alleging that deceased had not disclosed pre-existing medical issues –Appellant approached State Commission for dismissal of complaint. (Paras 2, 3, 4 &7)

(B) Consumer Protection Act, 1986 – Section 15 – First Appeal [Consumer Protection Act, 2019 – Section 41] – First Appeal against Distt. Commission order allowing the complaint – Appellant alleged that surveyor found that deceased had pre-existing ailments at the time of taking out 2nd policy – Distt. Forum declined appellant’s request of providing medical records – State Commission held that since the deceased had taken 2nd policy, it was the duty of the appellant to ensure that the medical check-up was up-to-mark at the time of taking this policy – Immaterial whether the deceased died within 13 days and after 3 years of taking the insurance policies – Issues related to obtaining consent for obtaining medical records at this stage cannot be considered as grounds for dismissal.

Held: It is further contended by learned counsel for appellants that DLA died on 15.06.2016 just within 13 days from the commencing the insurance policy bearing No. 21912316 with effect from 02.06.2016. In support of his arguments learned counsel placed reliance upon “Hon’ble National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission in case of LIC of India & Anr. Vs Balbir Kaur 1 (2009) 212 (NC), Hon’ble State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission Punjab in Life Insurance Corporation of India Vs Smt. Piari Devi & Others, II (2008) CPJ 156 and by Hon’ble Uttarakhand State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission in LIC of India Vs Radhika Devi, III (2008) CPJ 226, wherein it has been held that the very fact of early claim is a good corroborative evidence to prove misrepresentation, material non-disclosure or contemplation of death.

At the outset, it is the contention of learned counsel for appellants that DLA was suffering from Liver and Kidney diseases which were not disclosed by him at the time of filling of form. Thus, he has committed breach of trust with appellant-insurance company but this contention is not much convincing because appellant has failed to prove on record that deceased was suffering from Liver and Kidney problems. No doubt he made efforts to collect some information from PGI, Rohtak and other hospitals but unable to do so. Similarly, his application to summon the medical record from PGI, Rohtak and other hospitals was rightly rejected by learned District Commission on the ground that no details of DLA treatment has been mentioned in the said application. Moreso, it is the case of complainant that DLA died of heart attack but appellant failed to corelate the suffering of heart attack by DLA due to Liver and Kidney diseases. Another plank of arguments advanced by appellant is that DLA died within 13 days of taking policy bearing No. 21912316 dated 02.06.2016. However, this argument is also bereft of legal force because DLA had not only taken the above said policy bearing No. 21912316 dated 02.06.2016 but admittedly before that he had taken another insurance policy bearing No. 21124235 dated 22.07.2013 for a sum of Rs. 3 lakhs. Now, when DLA was taking second life insurance policy from the same company and that too for a much higher amount then it was bounden duty of appellant-company to verify his status of health through medical check-up before issuing second policy.

In these circumstances, it is immaterial whether DLA died within 13 days and after 3 years of taking the insurance policies. The authorities (supra) relied on by learned counsel for appellants are not applicable to the facts and circumstances of the case in hand because appellant-insurance company failed to prove that DLA suffering from Liver and Kidney problems before taking the above said policies and he concealed the material fact of his pre-existing disease. It is pertinent to mention that even the investigation report prepared by the investigator of the appellant-insurance company is also not on the record. (Paras 8, 11 & 12)

Result: Appeal dismissed in limine without any order of costs.

ORDER

Harnam Singh Thakur, Judicial Member.—Delay of 159 (One Hundred Fifty Nine) days in filing the present appeal is condoned for the reasons stated in the application for condonation of delay itself as well as in the interest of justice.

2. It has been alleged by complainant-appellant that complainant’s husband Sh. Sandeep Kumar (since deceased) had obtained a PNB MetLife Insurance policy bearing No. 21124235 having plan of Insurance Met Money Back for a sum assured of Rs 3,00,000/- from the Ops on 22.07.2013 and paying regular installment. He had also obtained another policy from Ops bearing No. 21912316 for a sum assured of Rs. 12,00,000/-. During the continuation of said policies, her husband suffered heart attack and expired on 15.06.2016. Complainant being nominee and legal heirs of Sh. Sandeep Kumar, lodged a claim alongwith all the documents. A surveyor appointed by the Ops, who visited her house and recorded her statement and of Sh. Brij Bhan, Numberdar of village. Complainant received a letter dated 23.09.2017 in which Ops mentioned that Lt. Sh. Sandeep Kumar was suffering from Liver and Kidney problems and took treatment from PGI, Rohtak prior to issuance of policy. However, her husband was quite hale and hearty and was not suffering from any disease. Neither he was admitted in PGI, Rohtak nor taken any treatment from there. It is further alleged that in spite of submitting all the requisite documents, the OPs failed to do so. Thus, there was deficiency in service on the part of OPs.

3. The complaint has been resisted by the Ops No. 1 & 2 by alleging that the policies were issued by the Ops on the basis of information provided by the deceased life assured (in short “DLA) in the proposal form dated 16.07.2013 and 01.06.2016 respectively. The information provided by the DLA in the respective proposal forms were established to be incorrect by the Ops. Hence, the Ops repudiated the said claim of complainant. The policy bearing No. 21912316 commenced on 02.06.2016 and DLA died on 15.09.2016 just within 13 days from the date of commencing of policy. During the investigation, it was found that DLA was suffering from Liver and Kidney problems before the date of proposing the policies in question. He was getting treatment from BBC Hospital Shahabad, PGI Chandigarh, and also at Singhal Nursing Home. So, it is evident that he had given wrong information and suppressed the material facts from the Ops. Thus, there was no deficiency in service on the part of OPs and prayed for dismissal of the complaint.

4. After hearing both the parties by the learned District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Kurukshetra (In short “District Commission”) allowed the complaint of complainant against Ops No. 1 & 2.

5. Feeling aggrieved therefrom, appellants-respondents has preferred this appeal.

6. The arguments have been advanced by Sh. Nitin Gupta, counsel for appellants-respondents. With his kind assistance the entire records had been properly perused and examined.

7. During the course of arguments, it is contended by learned counsel for appellants that impugned order dated 27.01.2020 is incorrect on both facts and law. Learned District Commission ignored the fact that complainant has not approached the Commission with clean hands and has suppressed true and material facts by concealing previous ailment of DLA. Learned District Commission has wrongly observed that appellant did not produce any documentary evidence to prove that DLA was suffering from Liver and Kidney problems prior to taking the policies. It has failed to appreciate that appellant filed application under RTI Act to PGI Rohtak for providing medical record of DLA. However, PGI authorities asked the appellant to provide consent from complainant for supplying the medical record. Thereupon, appellants sent letter to complainant for consent but she did not revert to the letter. Moreover, learned District Commission has arbitrarily dismissed the application for summoning the r

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top