SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2010 Supreme(Gau) 840

IN THE HIGH COURT OF GAUHATI
Brojendra Prasad Katakey, J.
Prabhabati Deka - Appellants
Vs.
State of Assam and Ors. - Respondent
WP(C) No. 3392 of 2010
Decided On: 11.11.2010

Advocates:
Advocate Appeared:
For Appellant/Petitioner/Plaintiff: Mr. A. Chamuah, Mr. A. Bordoloi and Ms. K. Barpujari
For Respondents/Defendant: Mr. K.K. Nandi, Ms. P. Borgohain and Ms. A. Banerjee

Headnote:

Writ appeal - Praying for a direction to the respondents - Satisfy the claim lodged by her on account of the death of her husband, against the group insurance cover scheme policy - Claim of the petitioner has not been settled by the respondent-Corporation, she has filed the present petition seeking the relief as aforesaid - Petitioner’s husband, who was the Registrar of the Board, died in harness - While her husband was in service, a group insurance policy bearing was taken by the Board, with its Chief Executive Officer as the master policyholder- Master policyholder is required to deposit lump sum premium after deducting proportionate amount from the members of the group - Held, One of such premiums was payable in the month of February - Was dishonoured due to insufficient fund in the A/c of the Board and as such, the Board was accordingly informed by the Corporation - LICI cannot be absolved from its liability of satisfying the claim, when under any scheme the employer is required to make the deposit of insurance premium after deducting the same from the salary of the employee - It has also been observed that if for some reasons, the employer is unable to pay the salary to the employees, as for example, its financial constraints, the employee may be held to have legitimate expectation to the effect that his employer would at least comply with its solemn obligations and such obligations having been undertaken to be performed by the employer at the behest of the Corporation, as its agent having the implied authority therefor, the Corporation cannot be permitted to take advantage of its own wrong as also the wrong of its agent - Court’s view that the Corporation cannot be absolved from the liability of satisfying the claim lodged by the petitioner against the group insurance policy, and, hence, the Corporation is directed to pay the amount to which the petitioner is entitled to under the policy, within a period of two months from the date of receipt of the certified copy of this order to be produced before the respondent by the petitioner - Petition allowed.

JUDGMENT

B.P. Katakey, J.

1. The petitioner, who is the widow of Jogesh Chandra Deka, an employee of Assam Khadi and Village Industries Board ('the Board'), by the present petition, is praying for a direction to the respondents, including the Life Insurance Corporation of India (in short, the Corporation), to satisfy the claim lodged by her on account of the death of her husband, against the group insurance cover scheme policy No.GSLI MP No.26223.

2. The petitioner's husband, who was the Registrar of the Board, died in harness on 4th March, 2001. While her husband was in service, a group insurance policy bearing No.GSLI MP No.26223 was taken by the Board, with its Chief Executive Officer as the master policyholder, from the respondent-Corporation insuring the lives of its employees, including the petitioner's husband. Under the scheme of such policy, the master policyholder is required to deposit lump sum premium after deducting proportionate amount from the members of the group. One of such premiums was payable in the month of February 2001. The master policyholder, however, initially had issued a cheque dated 5 March 2001 in favour of the respondent-Corporation towards the premium payable in the month of February 2001, but the same, on presentation, was dishonoured due to insufficient fund in the A/c of the Board and as such, the Board was accordingly informed by the Corporation. The Board, subsequently on 31st May, 2001, made payment of the premium amount payable, which was accepted by the Corporation by realizing the fine/interest. The entire policy thereafter stood revived on acceptance of such premium-payable in the month of February 2001. Before making such payment, unfortunately, on 31st May, 2001, petitioner's husband, who was a member of the group, died on 4th March, 2001. A claim application was thereafter filed on 10th April, 2001 in the respondent-Corporation claiming an amount of Rs.1,20,000 (Rupees one lakh and twenty thousand) only, which, according to the petitioner, was payable under the policy for the death of her husband. Since the claim application was not processed, an application was thereafter filed by the petitioner under the Right to Information Act, the reply of which was given by the Corporation on 27th October, 2009 intimating her that the policy was in lapsed condition at the time of the death of her husband as the premium was paid only on 31st May, 2001. It was also informed that the claim, however, has not been repudiated. It is also not in dispute that the amount deductible from the salary of the petitioner's husband was deducted by the employer namely the master policyholder and the payment of lump sum premium was made to the respondent-Corporation, maybe with the delay of about 3 months.

3. Since the claim of the petitioner has not been settled by the respondent-Corporation, she has filed the present petition seeking the relief as aforesaid.

4. I have heard Mr. A. Chamuah, learned counsel for the petitioner; Mr. B.J. Ghosh, learned State counsel, appearing for the respondent No.1; Mr. A. Thakur, learned counsel for the respondent Nos.2 and 3; and Mr. K.K. Nandi, learned counsel for the respondent Nos.4, 5 and 6.

5. Learned counsel for the petitioner submits that since under the scheme the employer is required to deduct the contribution payable by the members of the group towards the share of the premium amount and there is no provision under the scheme requiring the Corporation to inform the members of the group, individually about the non-payment of such premium and the Corporation having never at any point of time informed any of its members about the non-deposit of the premium payable by the employer, i.e., the master policyholder, the Corporation cannot decline to settle the claim on the ground that the premium was paid after 3 months from the day it fell due, that is, in the month of May 2001, towards the premium payable in the month of February 2001. Learned counsel submits that all the membe











Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top