SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

1989 Supreme(Gau) 52

GAUHATI HIGH COURT
S.K.Homchaudhuri, J.
Oriental Fire and General Insurance Company Ltd., Divisional Officer, Gauhati -Appellant
Versus
Dotco, Badarpur, Cachar -Respondent
First Appeal No. 53 of 1977
Decided On : 31-03-1989

Advocates Appeared:
P.K.Musahary, B.K.Das, S.N.Bhuyan, D.P.Chaliha

In case of total destruction of insured property, the onus is on the insurer to establish that the total property was not destroyed.

Headnote:

INSURANCE - FIRE INSURANCE - CLAIM FOR TOTAL DESTRUCTION OF INSURED PROPERTY - ONUS ON INSURER TO ESTABLISH THAT TOTAL PROPERTY WAS NOT DESTROYED - INTEREST ON DECRETAL AMOUNT - AWARD OF INTEREST @ 12% PER ANNUM FROM THE DATE OF INSTITUTION OF SUIT TO THE DATE OF PAYMENT OF DECRETAL AMOUNT DUE TO INFLATION AND FALL OF RUPEE VALUE.

Fact of the Case:

Plaintiff's shop and insured goods were completely gutted by an accidental fire. The insurer initially offered a settlement amount, but later disputed the claim and refused to pay the full insured sum. The plaintiff filed a suit for recovery of the insured money.

Finding of the Court:

The court held that the onus was on the insurer to establish that the total property was not destroyed, as the plaintiff had established that the entire insured goods were gutted by fire. The court also awarded interest on the decretal amount at the rate of 12% per annum from the date of institution of the suit to the date of payment of the decretal amount, considering the inflation and fall of rupee value during the pendency of the litigation.

Issues: 1. Whether the plaintiff had a cause of action? 2. Whether the suit was maintainable in its present form? 3. Whether the suit was bad for estoppel, acquiescence, and waiver? 4. Whether the court had jurisdiction to try the suit? 5. Whether the plaintiff's claim was just, proper, and legal? 6. Whether the plaintiff had delivered claims in terms of the policy, and if not, whether the suit was maintainable? 7. Whether all benefits under the policy should forfeit in view of the conditions of the policy? 8. Whether the claim of the plaintiff was barred by law of limitation and by the conditions of the policy? 9. To what relief, if any, the plaintiffs were entitled?

Ratio Decidendi: 1. The court held that the plaintiff had a cause of action as the insurer had refused to pay the full insured sum despite the plaintiff establishing the total destruction of the insured goods. 2. The court held that the suit was maintainable in its present form as the plaintiff had complied with the conditions of the policy and had provided sufficient evidence of the loss. 3. The court held that the suit was not bad for estoppel, acquiescence, and waiver as the plaintiff had not made any misrepresentations or concealed any material facts from the insurer. 4. The court held that it had jurisdiction to try the suit as the cause of action arose within its jurisdiction. 5. The court held that the plaintiff's claim was just, proper, and legal as the plaintiff had suffered a genuine loss due to the accidental fire. 6. The court held that the plaintiff had delivered claims in terms of the policy and that the suit was maintainable. 7. The court held that all benefits under the policy should not forfeit as the plaintiff had not breached any of the conditions of the policy. 8. The court held that the claim of the plaintiff was not barred by law of limitation or by the conditions of the policy. 9. The court held that the plaintiff was entitled to the full insured sum, interest on the decretal amount at the rate of 12% per annum from the date of institution of the suit to the date of payment of the decretal amount, and costs.

Final Decision: The court dismissed the appeal filed by the insurer and allowed the cross-objection filed by the plaintiff to the extent of awarding interest at the rate of 12% per annum on the decretal amount from the date of institution of the suit to the date of payment of the decretal amount.

Thousands insure their properties against damages/destruction and/or loss thereof due to accidental fire, riot, theft and/or by other unforeseen incidents and continue to pay premium to the insurer years after years with the full sense of security that in the event of such unforeseen, unfortunate happening, the insurer would come to rescue by making prompt payment of the insured money. The subscribers .never desire such incident to happen in respect of his insured property .yet in case of one amongst thousand, such incident may happen. It is normally expected that insurer who continues to receive premium .would come forward and make the prompt payment of insured money 16" "the unfortunate few subscribers out of thousands without reser­vation. It will indeed be very frustrating and shocking, if the insured finds that his claim for payment of insured: money is to pass through "acid test and that insurers on various pleas or by resorting procedural/ legal juggle turns its back and ultimately subject the insured to 'protracted litigation for realisation of the insured money. How many amongst such unfortunate insured, can afford to approach the Court of law for realisation of the insured money. Such contingency is never expected and should be discouraged. As a matter of course, in case of total destruction or loss of the insured property, the insurer must make prompt payment of the insured money unless the incident is fraudulent in the sense the same is self-engineered by the insured for the purpose of making illegal gain. However, in that contingency the onus would on the insurer to establish that the insured property was destroyed/lost due to fraud and destruction or loss was self-engineered. In case the insurer disputes the claim of total destruction of the insured property and refuses to pay the entire insured money, the part of the insured money to the extent of the value of the quantum of undisputed destroyed property should be paid immediately and for non-payment of the balance it is for the insurer to establish that total property was not destroyed.

2. The present case is an instance of such frustrating and shocking story of protracted litigation of about 19 years, for realisation of insured money after the plaintiff-respondent lost all the insured goods in an accidental fire in April, 1967. The present appeal is by defendant insurer impugning the money decree of the insured sum obtained by the insured after 7 long years of litigation.

3. Plaintiff-respondent is a registered partnership firm which came to subscribe a proposal of insurance at Silchar bearing the No. 6863 dated 31.10.65 against the risk of destruction by fire of the running stock in trade, furniture fixture etc. of the plaintiff's business in shoe, at Badarpur Bazar with the defendant No. I, The Phoenix Assurance Co. Ltd., covering the risk of Rs. 30,000/-on payment of premium of Rs. 208.50 P. per annum. The plaintiff renewed the policy from year to year by paying the premium in due time. Under the terms of the policy, the defendant insurer bound itself to pay the insured the value of the insured property in case of destruction thereof by accidental fire, to the extent of Rs. 30,000.00.

4. During the subsistence of the said policy on the night of 12th/ 13th April, 1967 the shop house of the plaintiff with the stock in trade, furniture, fixture, books of account and other documents pertain­ing to the business were all completely gutted by accidental fire. The fire having broken out at the dead of night nothing could be saved. As many as eight shops along with the plaintiff's shop in the said Bazar were gutted. An information was lodged with the Badarpur Police Station on the following morning and the police registered a case. The plaintiff also sent a telegram on 13.4.67 to the defendant No. 1 intimating the incident of fire accident and also the complete loss of insured goods of the shop, and asking the defendant insurance company, to take steps for payment of





















Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top