1999 Supreme(Raj) 1290
RAJASTHAN HIGH COURT AT JAIPUR BENCH
J.C.Verma, J.
Nemi Chand - Appellant
Versus
Union of India & Ors. - Respondent
S.B. Civil Writ Petition No. 3792 of 1995, alongwith 2 other S.B. Civil Writ Petition Nos. 6080 & 6092 of 1996.
Decided On : 3-08-1999
A disability pension may be granted to an individual who is invalided from service on account of a disability which is attributable to or aggravated by military service and is assessed at 20 per cent or over.
Headnote:
ARMED FORCES - DISABILITY PENSION - ENTITLEMENT - CONDITIONS - INTERPRETATION OF REGULATIONS - DELAY IN FILING APPEAL - LACHES - APPLICABILITY.
Fact of the Case:
Three ex-servicemen filed writ petitions challenging the denial of disability pension. They were enrolled in the army in different years and discharged due to various medical conditions. They claimed that their disabilities were attributable to or aggravated by military service and sought disability pension under Regulation 173 of the Pension Regulations.
Finding of the Court:
The court held that the petitioners were entitled to disability pension under Regulation 173. It found that the petitioners were hale and hearty at the time of enrolment and that their disabilities developed during their service. The court also held that the delay in filing the appeals was not fatal and that the petitioners were entitled to arrears of pension for the three years prior to filing the writ petitions.
Issues: 1. Whether the petitioners were entitled to disability pension under Regulation 173? 2. Whether the delay in filing the appeals was fatal?
Ratio Decidendi: 1. Regulation 173 provides that a disability pension may be granted to an individual who is invalided from service on account of a disability which is attributable to or aggravated by military service and is assessed at 20 per cent or over. 2. The court held that the petitioners' disabilities were attributable to or aggravated by military service based on the following factors: - The petitioners were hale and hearty at the time of enrolment. - The petitioners' disabilities developed during their service. - There was no evidence to suggest that the petitioners' disabilities were caused by factors other than military service. 3. The court held that the delay in filing the appeals was not fatal because: - The petitioners had tried to explain the delay. - The petitioners were entitled to the protection of the principle of natural justice. - The respondents had not suffered any prejudice due to the delay.
Final Decision: The court allowed the writ petitions and directed the respondents to pay the petitioners arrears of disability pension for the three years prior to filing the writ petitions.
JUDGMENT
1. - The petitioner was enrolled in Army in March 1971 in Medical Category AYE. At the time of enrolment he was not suffering from any decease. It is not denied that he had a war service in the year 1971-72 and again 1973-74. The petitioner submits that he was also awarded a senior Sewa Medal Jammu & Kashmir Sangram Medal for participating in Indo-Pakisthan War in 1971. It is the case of the petitioner that a damage to his left ear was caused because of bombardment during Pakistan war. The petitioner was discharged from service in low Medical category 'CEE' permanently on 20.11.1976 after rendering service of five years and 269 days due to Sensory Neural Deafness (Left ear) with 30% disability. It is the case of the petitioner that disability was attributed to because of military service and, therefore, he was entitled to disability pension as per regulations. For the reason that he was discharged in low medical category "CEE", he is to be considered and treated as invalidated from service as per rules.
2. The petitioner had been demanding the medical papers, but the same had not been provided to him and, therefore, the petitioner could not approach the court with the accurate facts. The petitioner is relying on number of authorities for grant of disability pension under Rule 173 of Appendix 2 and Rule 7-B of the Rules and Regulations 173 read with Para 1 and 7(b) of the pension Regulations as framed by the Army.
3. The case of the petitioner was referred to the CCDA(P), but was rejected. It is the submission of the petitioner that for the reason that he was enrolled under Category 'A' and discharged in category 'C', therefore, he was deemed to be invalidated from service because of disease attributable or aggravated by service as per para 1 and 7-B of Appendix of Regulation and for this purpose relies on a judgment reported on (1) 1991(2) SLR 512. The petitioner had been asking for certain documents as mentioned at page 7 of the writ petition, but the petitioner was not supplied any of the document nor, the medical report nor the recommendations and, therefore, he could not file the second appeal to the Government of India within a reasonable time. Appeal was forwarded to the Government for orders under the provisions of Reg. 88(A) of the Regulations. His request was rejected on 3.7.1995 vide Annexure-14 for being belated as his requests already stood rejected time and again. The petitioner submitted the legal notice and filed the present writ petition. The petitioner has cited as precedents the cases of number of employees who were similarly situated but whose cases were considered for disability pension. The petitioner cites names of Shri Megh Singh, Richhpal Jat and Jagmal Singh etc. The petitioner has prayed for disability pension from 26.11.1976 with interest till payment.
4. Reply has been filed by the respondents. An objection has been taken that the petitioner has approached this court at a very belated stage, even though vide Annexure-10 the petitioner was informed on 31.1.1995 that his case for disability pension cannot be considered and is rejected. It is stated in the written statement that the disability pension is considered on the assessment of the disability by the Board of Officers of Medical Service in the Army taking into account the nature of duty, place of duty and dimatic/weather conditions and the medical authority is competent authority to recommend for disability pension. It is stated that the disease Sensory Neural Deafness (Left ear) is neither attributable nor aggravated because of military service.
5. The respondents had also filed certain documents along with the Misc. application dated 14.11.1996 filed in this court relating to the medical status i.e. AFMSF-16. Column 21 of the medical form relates to the fact whether the disability pension is recommended or not. Against Column 21 it was mentioned that the case of the petitioner is recommended for death cum retirement gratuity/disability pe
Click Here to Read the rest of this document