SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2007 Supreme(All) 1393

IN THE HIGH COURT OF ALLAHABAD
Pradeep Kant and V. C. Misra, JJ.
UNION OF INDIA - Appellant
Versus
GAURI SHANKAR - Respondents
First Appeal From Order 765 Of 1999
Decided On : 05/04/2007

Advocates Appeared:
Balwant Singh, Lal Ji Sinha

The main legal point established is that under the Railways Act, 1989, the definition of 'dependent' does not require financial dependency on the deceased, and prescribed statutory compensation is payable to the dependents of the deceased in case of a railway accident resulting in death, without the need for evidence about the income of the deceased.

Headnote:

Railways Act - Compensation - Sections 123, 124, 125 - The court discussed the definition of 'dependent' under the Railways Act, 1989 and the provisions of Sections 123, 124, and 125. It concluded that the definition of 'dependent' under the Act does not require financial dependency on the deceased, and the prescribed statutory compensation is payable to the dependents of the deceased in case of a railway accident resulting in death, without the need for evidence about the income of the deceased.

Fact of the Case:

The appeal was filed by the Union of India challenging the award of compensation to the dependents of the deceased Smt. Dropadi Devi under the Railways Act. The appellant raised two main points: the claimants' dependency on the deceased and the cause of death.

Finding of the Court:

The court found that the claimants were entitled to compensation as the deceased was a bona fide passenger and her death occurred due to an accidental slip from the train. The court also noted that the appellant's argument regarding the deceased's income was not pleaded before the Tribunal and could not be considered.

Issues: The issues involved the dependency of the claimants and the cause of the deceased's death.

Ratio Decidendi: The court held that the definition of 'dependent' under the Railways Act does not require financial dependency on the deceased, and the prescribed statutory compensation is payable to the dependents of the deceased in case of a railway accident resulting in death, without the need for evidence about the income of the deceased.

Final Decision: The court dismissed the appeal, upholding the tribunal's award of compensation to the dependents of the deceased.

PRADEEP KANT, J.

( 1 ) HEARD Sri Lalji Sinha learned Counsel for the appellant and Sri Balwant Singh learned counsel for the respondents.

( 2 ) THIS appeal under Section 23 of the railway Claims Tribunal Act has been preferred by the Union of India challenging the award of Rs. 4,00,000/- to the dependents of the deceased Smt. Dropadi Devi.

( 3 ) SRI Sinha has raised mainly the following two paints for assailing the award:

1. Smt. Dropati Devi (deceased) was a house wife and was having no earning and, therefore, the claimants cannot be said to be the dependents of the deceased so as to entitle them to any compensation under the railways Act; and 2. There was no evidence on record to hold that the death occurred because of the accidental slip from the train and that it was not a case of suicide.

( 4 ) IN regard to the first plea reliance has been placed by the learned Counsel for the appellant on two Division Bench judgments, namely, G. N. Bhandari Allahabad v. The Railway administration, New Delhi and Charubala Saha and others v. Eastern Railway Administration and another. He has also drawn attention of the Court to the provisions of Sections 123, 124 and 125 of the Railways Act, 1989. The aforementioned two judgment lay down the same principle with respect to the definition of dependant under the Indian Railways act of 1890 and also to the provisions of sections 82-A and 82-C of 1890. The Court on consideration that there was no definition of the term dependent given in the Act of 1890 and Section 82-C (2), which lays down that an application for compensation under section 82-A arising out of an accident can be made by persons mentioned in Clauses (a) to (d ). clause (d) provides for filing of an application by any dependent of the deceased. The expression "dependent" assigned in Clause (d) of Section 2 of the workmens Compensation Act, 1923. The relevant portion of Section 2 (d) is reproduced below:-"dependent" means any relative of a deceased workman, namely;

(i ). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (ii ). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (iii) for wholly or in part dependent on he earning of the workman at the time of his death. (a ). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (b) a parent other than a widowed mother.

( 5 ) ON the basis of the aforesaid definition of the dependent the Court concluded that in order to be entitled to claim compensation it is necessary that the claimant must have been dependent on the earnings of the deceased at the time of his death. The two cases referred to above thus relate to a different enactment where the definition of term dependent wasnot given and therefore considering the provisions of Sections 82-C and 82-A and Section 2 (d) of the Workmens compensation Act, 1923 the aforesaid pronouncements were made.

( 6 ) THE case in hand relates to the Railways act, 1989 wherein the dependent has been defined under Section 123 (b) and the relevant portion in the present case is sub-clause (i), which says:

" 123. Definition.- In this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires- (a ). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (b) "dependent means any of the following relatives of a deceased passenger, namely:- (i) the wife, husband, son and daughter, and in case the deceased passenger is unmarried or is a minor, his parent;. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Section 124 deals with the extent of liability arid Section 125 says how the application for compensation can be moved. The legal pronouncement made in the Calcutta as well as Allahabad judgment does not interpret the provisions of Section 123 of











Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top