SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2006 Supreme(UK) 47

2006 (1) U.D., 346
High Court of Uttaranchal
Hon'ble Rajesh Tandon, J.
Smt. Revati Devi ……..Petitioner
Vs.
State of Uttaranchal and others ………Respondents
Writ Petition No. 404 of 2004 (MIS)
Decided on : 23-02-2006.

Advocates Appeared:
Sri C.O. Bahugana, Advocate for the petitioner.
Learned Standing Counsel for respondents.

The central legal point established in the judgment is the entitlement of work-charged employees to pensionary benefits and the legal principle that pension is a valuable right and property, warranting prompt disbursement and penalizing any delay with the payment of interest at the current market rate.

Headnote:

PENSION - Service Benefits - 1985 (1) S.C.C. 429, 1996) 3 UPLBEC 2114, 2002) 1 UPLBEC 337, 2004, 2005 - The court discussed the petitioner's entitlement to pension and other post-retirement dues, considering her service history and relevant rules. The court referred to various judgments, including N.K. Sharma vs. Presiding Officer, Labour Court, Shimla and others, Santosh Kumar Mishra vs. State of U.P. others, Anand Singh vs. State of Uttaranchal & others, and Shiv Prasad Bijalwan vs. State & others, to establish the entitlement of work-charged employees to pensionary benefits and the counting of service period for fixation of seniority and further promotion. The court also highlighted the legal principle that pension is a valuable right and property, and any delay in its disbursement must be penalized with the payment of interest at the current market rate.

Fact of the Case:

The petitioner, initially appointed on a fixed pay, sought a writ of mandamus to receive pension and post-retiral dues after completing 20 years of continuous service as a Class IV employee.

Finding of the Court:

The court found that the petitioner's service as a temporary employee on fixed pay should be counted for the purpose of pensionary benefits, citing relevant judgments and legal principles.

Issues: The main issue revolved around the petitioner's entitlement to pension and post-retiral dues based on her service history and the relevant rules.

Ratio Decidendi: The court relied on the entitlement of work-charged employees to pensionary benefits, the counting of service period for fixation of seniority and further promotion, and the legal principle that pension is a valuable right and property.

Final Decision: The court allowed the writ petition and issued a writ of mandamus directing the respondents to pay pension to the petitioner within one month after the receipt of the certified copy of the order along with interest at 6% per annum.

JUDGEMENT

Heard Sri C.O. Bahuguna, counsel for the petitioner and Standing counsel for the respondents.

2. By the present writ petition, the petitioner has prayed for a writ of mandamus directing the respondents to pay pension and other post retiral dues to the petitioner with effect from the date of her retirement on superannuation with interest @12 per annum.


3. Briefly stated Initially the petitioner was appointed in Class IV as Chaukidar/Sevika on 28-6-1980 on temporary basis against the substantive and vacant post in Kanya Junior High School, Kaladhungi, District Nainital. After completing five years service she made an application to the Distrlct Basic Education Officer, Nainital for confirming her on the class IV Post but the District Basic Education Officer did not pay any heed to the request made by the petitioner., On 19-9-1981, the Deputy Inspector of Schools, Nainital, directed the petitioner to complete her service book falling which leave' will not be permissible to her. The petitioner on 31-12-1988 sent an application to the Education Superintendent, Nagar Kshetra, Nainltal and submitted that she has been working in the department for the last several years but she has not been made permanent on' the post held by her. Further she also submitted application on 4-5-1990., The petitioner has submitted that the Director of Education Basic and the Chairman, Basic Education Board, Allahabad, Issued an order on 24-8-1995 In which it was provided that Class IV employees working in the Basic Schools on fixed pay of Rs. 750/- may , be absorbed/adjusted against vacant and substantive post on regular pay scale of 750-940. Similar order was Issued on 4-10-1995 by the Department of Basic Education for absorbing/adjusting Class IV employees In regular, pay scale. Pursuant' to that order the Education Superintendent, Nagar Kshetra, Nainital vide order dated 17-10-1995 granted her regular pay scale .. and she was posted in Basic School, Sher-ka-Danda, Nainital. She has retired from Class IV post on' 1-102001 after superannuation. The grievance of the petitioner is that she has completed qualifying service which entitled her for pension 'but the respondents have not paying her pension despite several requests made by her.

4. Counter affidavit has been filed by the respondents. It has been mentioned in the counter affidavit that since the petitioner did not serve for continuous 10 years in a regular service, she was not found entitled to the payment of pension as per the relevant rules.

5. The petitioner was initially appointed on 28-6-1980 on .fixed, pay. She was continued working as Class IV employee on minimum pay scale till 1-10-1995 when she was made regular. She retired from service on 1-10-2001 after supperannuation. Thus she has completed 20 years continuous service as class IV employee in the respondent Department. The service rendered, by 'the petitioner as temporary employee getting fixed pay at minimum of the pay scale, cannot be excluded for counting her total service for the purpose of pensionary and other service benefits.

6. The counsel for the petitioner relied upon the judgment dated 20-4-2004 of this Court in the case Anand Singh vs. State of Uttaranchal & others W.P. No. 393 (5/5) of 2004, wherein after relying upon the case of Santosh Kumar Mishra vs. State of U.P. others (2002) 1 UPLBEC 337, pensionary benefits were granted to the petitioner and it has been held as under:

"The Apex Court was considering the Scheme and the status of a work charge employee even after being confirmed it has been held that a workcharge employee after confirmation does not cease to be a work charge employee and he continues to be a workcharge employee. The question of regularisation against a regular vacancy was not in issue before the Apex Court. No rule, law of any Government Order has been brought to the notice of this Court by the State to indicate that any terminal benefits have been provided to the workcharge employee ind













Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top