2024 Supreme(Online)(ALL) 2528
HIGH COURT OF ALLAHABAD (LUCKNOW BENCH)
Hon'ble Rajnish Kumar,J.
The New India Assurance Co.Ltd. Lucknow Thru. Manager Legal – Appellant
Versus
Chhedana And 2 Others – Respondent
FIRST APPEAL FROM ORDER No. - 258 of 2017 at Lucknow
Petitioner: Anurodh Kumar Srivastava
Respondent: Vinay Kumar Verma
Absence of a valid permit for a vehicle at the time of an accident constitutes a breach of insurance policy, absolving the insurer from liability for compensation.
Headnote:(A) Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 - Sections 149 and 150 - Insurance liability - The vehicle was involved in an accident without a valid permit, which constitutes a breach of policy terms - The owner admitted the vehicle had no permit on the accident date - The court ruled that the insurance company is not liable for compensation due to this breach - The insurer may recover the compensation paid from the owner. (Paras 12, 24)
(B) Admissions - Admissions made by a party are substantive evidence and do not require further proof - The court emphasized that the owner’s admission regarding the absence of a permit was sufficient to establish the insurer's non-liability. (Paras 21, 24)
(C) Claim for compensation - The claimant sought Rs.12,00,000/- for the death of his son due to negligent driving - The tribunal awarded compensation based on evidence presented. (Paras 5, 24)
Facts of the case:
The claimant’s son was killed in an accident involving a bus, which was claimed to be without a valid permit at the time. The insurance company argued that it was not liable due to this breach.
Findings of Court:
The tribunal found that the vehicle was not insured at the time of the accident, and the absence of a permit constituted a breach of the insurance policy.
Issues: Whether the insurance company is liable for compensation when the vehicle was operated without a valid permit?
Ratio Decidendi: The court held that the absence of a valid permit absolves the insurance company from liability for compensation, and the owner’s admission of this fact was sufficient evidence.
Result: The appeal is partly allowed; the insurance company must pay compensation but has the right to recover it from the vehicle owner.
JUDGMENT :
Rajnish Kumar, J.
1. Heard, Shri Anurodh Kumar Srivastava, learned counsel for the appellant and Shri Vinay Kumar Verma, learned counsel for the claimant-respondent no.1. None appeared on behalf of respondents no.2 and 3 despite sufficient service and served personally.
2. Learned counsel for the appellant-Insurance Company submits that the vehicle involved in the accident as alleged was DLIV-5126 but the Insurance Company had insured the vehicleNo.DL1V-5126 and it was admitted by the owner, who appeared before the Tribunal. He further submits that the owner had also pleaded that his vehicle was in the workshop on the date of accident i.e. 24.09.2013 and it was proved by appearing himself and producing the owner of the workshop Mohd.Haseeb, but the said evidence has been discarded on the ground that in the criminal case charge sheet has been filed, whereas the evidence and material of the criminal case could not have been considered to discard the evidence adduced before the trial court without proof. He further submits that the vehicle was not having the permit on the date of accident i.e. 24.09.2013 as per copies of the permit filed by him, but the learned tribunal has wrongly and illegally held the appellant-Insurance Company liable for payment of compensation awarded by it, whereas absence of permit was violation of the terms and conditions of the policy, therefore, the appellant-Insurance Company could not have been held liable for payment of compensation. He relies on Chandresh Kumar Agarwal Versus Yogendra Kumar Srivastrava and another, 2005 (2) TAC 6 (All.), Amrit Paul Singh and another Versus Tata AIG General Insurance Company Limited and others, (2018) 7 SCC 558 and National Insurance Company Versus Challa Upendra Rao passed in Civil Appeal No.6178 of 2004 decided on 21st of September 2004; (2004) 8 SCC 517.
3. Per contra, learned counsel for the claimant-respondent No.1 submits that the Bus DLIV-5126 was involved in the accident. It was specifically pleaded in the claim petition and it has been admitted by respondent no.2 i.e. Aftab Alam that he is the owner of the said vehicle and he has also given the Insurance policy number in his written statement and in his evidence also. He has not denied or doubted the said vehicle. Even otherwise as per registration number of the vehicle mentioned on the policy, the vehicle number is DLIV-5126, therefore, the contention of learned counsel for the appellant is misconceived and not tenable. He further submits that the learned Tribunal, after considering the pleadings and evidence of the owner in regard to plea that the vehicle was in work shop on the date of accident, has recorded a finding that the owner has failed to prove that the vehicle was standing in the workshop for repairing of steering on the date and time of accident. Thus the involvement of the vehicle cannot be denied. He further submits that though the learned tribunal held that the vehicle had no permit was to be proved by the appellant- Insurance Company and it has failed to prove, therefore, it is liable to make the payment of compensation. However if this court comes to the conclusion that the vehicle was not having the valid permit on the date of accident, which is not against the claimant-respondent No.1 and only right of recovery can be granted to the appellant-Insurance Company and the compensation awarded by the claims tribunal is liable to be paid by the appellant- Insurance Company, which has been deposited by the appellant before the tribunal under the order passed by this court and the same may be released and paid to the appellant. Thus the appeal has been filed on misconceived and baseless grounds, which is liable to be dismissed with costs.
4. I have considered the submissions of learned counsel for the parties and perused the records.
5. The claim petition was filed alleging therein that son of the claimant-respondent no.1 Parideen, aged about 30 years son of Chhedi Lal, resident of Village-