SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2023 Supreme(Online)(Kar) 38098

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KARNATAKA AT BENGALURU DATED THIS THE 13th DAY OF APRIL 2023 PRESENT THE HON'BLE MRS JUSTICE K.S.MUDAGAL AND THE HON'BLE MR JUSTICE RAJENDRA BADAMIKAR MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO.5415/2014 (MV-D)

C/W MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO.4728/2014 (MV-D)

M.F.A. NO.5415/2014 BETWEEN:

1 . BABY SHEDTHI W/O LATE SEETHARAMA SHETTY AGED ABOUT 43 YEARS 2 . KUMARI ASHWINI D/O LATE SEETHARAMA SHETTY AGED ABOUT 23 YEARS 3 . KUMARI ANISHA D/O LATE SEETHARAMA SHETTY AGED ABOUT 20 YEARS ALL ARE RESIDING AT ALAGOLA AVARSE VILLAGE UDUPI TALUK & DISTRICT ...APPELLANTS (BY MS.SWATI HEGDE, ADVOCATE FOR SRI.H.PAVANA CHANDRA SHETTY, ADVOCATE)

AND:

1 . VINAYA S/O MANJUNATHA POOJARY AGED ABOUT 25 YEARS R/O MOODUTHOTA BARKUR HANEHALLI VILLAGE UDUPI TALUK AND DISTRICT-576 101

2 . UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD.

UDAYAVANI BUILDING MANIPAL, UDUPI TALUK-576 101 REP. BY ITS BRANCH MANAGER ...RESPONDENTS (BY SRI.LAKSHMINARASAPPA, ADVOCATE FOR SRI.A.M.VENKATESH, ADVOCATE FOR R2;

NOTICE TO R1 IS DISPENSED WITH V/C/O DTD:10.08.2015) THIS MFA IS FILED U/S 173(1) OF MV ACT PRAYING TO SET ASIDE THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 11.04.2014 PASSED IN MVC NO.702/2012 ON THE FILE OF THE ADDITIONAL DISTRICT & SESSIONS JUDGE, MACT, UDUPI (SITTING AT KUNDAPURA), PARTLY ALLOWING THE CLAIM PETITION FOR COMPENSATION AND SEEKING ENHANCEMENT OF COMPENSATION.

M.F.A.NO.4728/2014 BETWEEN:

M/S. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED DIVISIONAL OFFICE UDAYAVANI BUILDING TILE FACTORY ROAD MANIPAL – 576 104 REP. BY ITS DIVISIONAL MANAGER … APPELLANT (BY SRI.LAKSHMINARASAPPA, ADVOCATE FOR SRI.A.M.VENKATESH, ADVOCATE)

AND:

1 . SMT. BABY SHEDTI W/O LATE SEETHARAMA SHETTY AGED ABOUT 43 YEARS

2 . KUM ASHWINI D/O LATE SEETHARAMA SHETTY AGED ABOUT 23 YEARS

3 . KUM ANISHA D/O LATE SEETHARAMA SHETTY AGED ABOUT 20 YEARS ALL ARE R/AT ALAGOLA AVARSE VILLAGE UDUPI TALUK 4 . VINAY S/O MANJUNATH POOJARY AGED ABOUT 25 YEARS MOODUTHOTA BARKUR, HONEHALLI VILLAGE UDUPI TALUK – 575 201 … RESPONDENTS (BY MS.SWATI HEGDE, ADVOCATE FOR SRI.H.PAVANA CHANDRA SHETTY, ADVOCATE FOR R1 TO R3;

R4 IS SERVED)

THIS M.F.A. IS FILED U/S 173(1) OF MV ACT PRAYING TO SET ASIDE THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 11.04.2014 PASSED IN MVC NO.702/2012 ON THE FILE OF THE ADDITIONAL DISTRICT AND SESSIONS JUDGE, MACT, UDUPI SITTING AT KUNDAPURA, AWARDING COMPENSATION OF Rs.4,90,000/- WITH INTEREST @ 6% P.A. FROM THE DATE OF PETITION TILL PAYMENT.

THESE MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEALS HAVING BEEN HEARD AND RESERVED ON 09.03.2023, COMING ON FOR PRONOUNCEMENT OF JUDGMENT THIS DAY, K.S.MUDAGAL J., DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:

JUDGMENT

Challenging the award in MVC No.702/2012 passed by the Additional District and Sessions Judge and MACT Udupi sitting at Kundapura, the Insurer has preferred 4728/2014 and the claimants have preferred MFA No.5415/2014.

2. Claimant No.1 is the mother of claimants No.2 and

3. They filed MVC No.702/2012 claiming compensation for the death of Shekar Shetty. They contended that Shekar shetty was a bachelor and brother of claimant No.1 and he was residing with them and they were dependent on his income. They further claimed that on 26.01.2012 at 9.00 a.m. when Shekar shetty was proceeding near Avarse Co-operative society on Avarse-goli Angadi, respondent No.1 riding his motor cycle bearing registration No.KA 20 Y 1558 in rash and negligent manner so as to endanger the human life hit Shekar shetty and caused the accident. They claimed that Shekar Shetty was treated for the injuries suffered in the accident initially at Manipal Hospital and in Ajjarakadu Govt. Hospital for about three months as in-patient. Ultimately he died on

13.04.2012. They claimed that they have spent more than 2.5 lakhs for the medical expenses of Shekar shetty and Rs.50,000/- towards his funeral expenses, transportation etc. Respondent No.2 was the Insurer of the said vehicle during the relevant period.

3. Respondent No.1 did not contest the petition.

Respondent No.2 contested the petition denying the occurrence of the accident in the manner alleged by the claimants, their relationship with the deceased and their dependency. Respondent No.2 denied the age, occupation, income of the deceased and its liability to pay the compensation.

4. In support of their case the claimants got examined PWs.1 to 3 and got marked Exs.P1 to 17. Respondent No.2 did not lead any evidence. On its behalf by consent the Insurance policy was marked as Ex.R.1.

5. The trial Court on hearing the parties by the impugned award held that the accident occurred due to the actionable negligence on the part of the first respondent and the consequential death of Shekar Shetty. The Tribunal held that the claimants were dependent on his income, considered the age of the deceased as 45 years, his income notionally at Rs.5,000/- per month, deducted one-fourth of his income for the personal expenses, applied 14 multiplier and awarded compensation of Rs.4,20,000/- on the head of loss of dependency. Tribunal in all awarded compensation of Rs.4,90,000/- on different heads payable by respondent No.2 with interest thereon at 6% p.a. as per the table below:

Sl. No. Particulars Compensation awarded in Rs.
1. Loss of dependency 4,20,000/-
2. Medical expenses 60,435/-
3. Funeral & Transportation expenses 5,000/-
4. Loss of love and affection 5,000/-
Total 4,90,000/-

Submissions of Sri A.M.Venkatesh, learned counsel for the Insurer:

6. Claimant No.1 claims to be the married sister of the deceased, claimants Nos.2 and 3 are her daughters.

Therefore, they are not legal representatives of the deceased. As per PWs.1 and 2 the deceased had four other brothers, they are necessary parties to the claim petition. More over when there are other brothers, it cannot be said that claimant No.1 was depending on the income of the deceased alone. The claimants did not produce any piece of evidence to show that the deceased was living with them and they were his relatives and dependents. The Tribunal did not consider that aspect at all. Even assuming that the relationship is proved, PW.1’s evidence shows that she had inherited the properties from her husband. Therefore, herself and her major children cannot be called as dependents of the deceased. At the most, they may be entitled to compensation on the head of loss of estate. PW.1 herself admits that her brothers have paid the medical expenses of the deceased. Therefore, the claimants are not entitled to compensation on the head of medical expenses. Admittedly, no evidence was adduced to show that immediate/proximate cause of death was the accident. Under

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top