2022 Supreme(Online)(Kar) 50696
1
IN THE HIGH COURT OF KARNATAKA AT BENGALURU
DATED THIS THE 17TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2022
BEFORE
THE HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE H.P. SANDESH
M.F.A.NO.6273/2014 (MV-I)
C/W.
M.F.A.NO.6274/2014 (MV-D)
IN M.F.A.NO.6273/2014:
BETWEEN:
SHASHIKALA
AGED ABOUT 32 YEARS,
W/O. M.C. MANCHAIAH,
R/O. MACHAGOWDANAHALLI VILLAGE,
BASARALU HOBLI,
MANDYA TALUK,
MANDYA DISTRICT-571 401.
&APPELLANT
(BY SRI RAVI L. VAIDYA, ADVOCATE [THROUGH VC])
AND:
1 .
THIRU PALANIVEL (PAZADIVEL)
AGED ABOUT 49 YEARS,
S/O. KUPPANNA GOUNDER,
PROP: POWER BOREWELL, NO.8A,
KATTUKOTTAI MAVUREDDY PATTI POST,
THIRUCHENGOD TALUK,
NAMAKKAL DISTRICT,
TAMIL NADU-600 112.
2 .
THE BRANCH MANAGER
ORIENTAL INSURANCE CO.LTD,
2
MUSLIM HOSTEL COMPLEX,
OPP. FIRE BRIGADE,
SARASWATHIPURAM,
MYSURU-570 009.
... RESPONDENTS
(BY SRI ANOOP, ADVOCATE FOR
SRI B.C. SEETHARAMA RAO, ADVOCATE FOR R2;
R1 IS SERVED & UNREPRESENTATED)
THIS M.F.A IS FILED UNDER SECTION 173(1) OF MV ACT
AGAINST THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 05.12.2013
PASSED IN MVC NO.215/2012 ON THE FILE OF THE ADDITIONAL
SENIOR CIVIL JUDGE & CJM, MACT, MANDYA, ALLOWING THE
CLAIM
PETITION
FOR
COMPENSATION
AND
SEEKING
ENHANCEMENT OF COMPENSATION.
IN M.F.A.NO.6274/2014:
BETWEEN:
RATHNAMMA
AGED ABOUT 32 YEARS,
W/O. LATE SHIVARAMU
R/O. MACHAGOWDANAHALLI VILLAGE,
BASARALU HOBLI,
MANDYA TALUK,
MANDYA DISTRICT-571 401.
&APPELLANT
(BY SRI RAVI L. VAIDYA, ADVOCATE [THROUGH VC])
AND:
1 .
THIRU PALANIVEL (PAZADIVEL)
AGED ABOUT 49 YEARS,
S/O. KUPPANNA GOUNDER,
PROP: POWER BOREWELL, NO.8A,
KATTUKOTTAI MAVUREDDY PATTI POST,
THIRUCHENGOD TALUK,
3
NAMAKKAL DISTRICT,
TAMIL NADU-600 112.
2 .
THE BRANCH MANAGER
ORIENTAL INSURANCE CO. LTD.,
MUSLIM HOSTEL COMPLEX,
OPP. FIRE BRIGADE,
SARASWATHIPURAM,
MYSURU-570 009.
... RESPONDENTS
(BY SRI ANOOP, ADVOCATE FOR
SRI B.C. SEETHARAMA RAO, ADVOCATE FOR R2;
R1 IS SERVED & UNREPRESENTATED)
THIS M.F.A IS FILED UNDER SECTION 173(1) OF MV ACT
AGAINST THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 05.12.2013
PASSED IN MVC NO.214/2012 ON THE FILE OF THE ADDITIONAL
SENIOR CIVIL JUDGE & CJM, MACT, MANDYA, ALLOWING THE
CLAIM
PETITION
FOR
COMPENSATION
AND
SEEKING
ENHANCEMENT OF COMPENSATION.
THESE APPEALS COMING ON FOR ADMISSION THIS DAY,
THE COURT DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:
Though these matters are listed for admission today, with
the consent of both the learned counsel, they are taken up for
final disposal.
These appeals are filed challenging the judgment and
award dated 05.12.2013 passed in M.V.C.Nos.214/2012 and
215/2012 on the file of the Additional Senior Civil Judge & CJM
4
and MACT, Mandya (8the Tribunal9 for short) questioning the
quantum of compensation and also the liability.
2.
The parties are referred to as per their original
rankings before the Tribunal to avoid confusion and for the
convenience of the Court.
3.
The factual matrix of the case of the claimant in
M.F.A.No.6273/2014 before the Tribunal is that she met with an
accident on 31.10.2011 and both upper and lower tooth were
broken. The case of the claimant in M.F.A.No.6274/2014 before
the Tribunal is that her husband Shivaramu met with an accident
on 31.10.2011 and died at the post. It is the case of the
claimants that the accident occurred due to the negligence on
the part of the driver of the lorry hearing registration No.JH-01-
L-2496.
4.
The claimants, in order to substantiate their claim,
examined themselves as P.Ws.1 and 2 and got marked the
documents as Exs.P1 to P10. On the other hand, the respondent
5
No.2-Insurance Company examined a witness as R.W.1 and got
marked the documents as Exs.R1 to R3 and R2(a).
5.
The Tribunal, after considering both oral and
documentary evidence placed on record in M.V.C.No.214/2012,
allowed the claim petition in part granting compensation of
Rs.6,30,000/-
with
interest
at
9%
per
annum
and
in
M.V.C.No.215/2012 awarded global compensation of Rs.50,000/-
with interest at 9% per annum. Hence, these two appeals are
filed by the claimants.
6.
M.F.A.No.6273/2014
is
filed
by
the
claimant
questioning the award of global compensation of Rs.50,000/-.
The learned counsel for the claimant would contend that the
global compensation awarded by the Tribunal in a sum of
Rs.50,000/- is very meager since, both the upper and lower
tooth were broken and she is having difficulty in chewing the
food.
7.
M.F.A.No.6274/2014
is
filed
by
the
claimant
questioning the quantum of compensation of Rs.6,30,000/-
6
awarded by the Tribunal. The learned counsel for the claimant
would contend that the Tribunal committed an error in taking the
income at Rs.5,000/- per month and the notional income would
be Rs.6,500/- per month. Apart from that, no future prospects
is added while awarding compensation on the head of loss of
dependency and on the other heads also, compensation awarded
is very meager. Hence, it requires interference of this Court.
8.
Per contra, learned counsel appearing for the
respondent No.2-Insurance Company would submit that the
Tribunal has considered the material available on record and
rightly awarded a global compensation of Rs.50,000/- in
M.V.C.No.215/2012 since, only the upper and lower tooth of the
claimant were broken. The counsel would also submit that in the
case in M.V.C.No.214/2012 where there is no documentary
evidence with regard to the income is concerned, the Tribunal
has taken the income of the deceased at Rs.5,000/- per month
and awarded just and reasonable compensation and it does not
require any interference. The counsel would further submit that
the liability is fastened on the insured since, there was no permit
7
to ply the vehicle in Karnataka and permit was there only to ply
the vehicle within the state of Jharkhand. Hence, no liability is
fastened on the Insurance Company.
9.
In reply to the arguments of the learned counsel
appearing for the respondent No.2-Insurance Company, learned
counsel appearing for the appellants/claimants would submit
that the liability is also questioned before this Court and the
Tribunal ought to have ordered for pay and recovery, even
though there is no permit to ply the vehicle in the state of
Karnataka.
10.
Having heard the respective counsel and also on
perusal of the material available on record with regard to the
liability is concerned,