SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2022 Supreme(Online)(Kar) 47956

- 1 -

MFA No. 3809 of 2020

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KARNATAKA AT BENGALURU

DATED THIS THE 13TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2022

BEFORE

THE HON'BLE MR JUSTICE H.T. NARENDRA PRASAD

MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO.3809 OF 2020(MV-D)

BETWEEN:

M/S. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY LIMITED

NO.28 EAST WING SOUTHERN PORTION

5TH FLOOR, CENTENARY BUILDING

M G ROAD, BENGALURU-560001

REP BY ITS MANAGER LEGAL. &APPELLANT

(BY SRI. D VIJAYAKUMAR., ADVOCATE)

AND:

1.

HASSAN

S/O LATE JABIULLA

AGED ABOUT 7 YEARS

2.

NOORAIN

D/O LATE JABIULLA

AGED ABOUT 5 YEARS

R1 AND R2 ARE MINORS REPRESENTED

BY THEIR MOTHER AND NATURAL

GUARDIAN SMT YASMIN BANU

RESPONDENT NO.3

3.

SMT YASMIN BANU

W/O LATE JABIULLA

AGED ABOUT 29 YEARS.

4.

SMT SAHRIFA BANU

W/O BASHASAB

AGED ABOUT 47 YEARS

ALL ARE RESIDING AT

Digitally

signed by C

MALATHI

Location: High

Court of

Karnataka

- 2 -

MFA No. 3809 of 2020

HOSANAGAR EXTESNION

GUNDERI ROAD, HOLALKERE TOWN-577526

5.

SRI MOHAMED NIJAMUDDIN

S/O ABDUL REHAMAN CHIRAG

AGED ABOUT 39 YEARS

R/AT N O.193/4

C BASAVARAJAPETE

NEW MASZID ROAD

DAVANAGERE CITY

DAVANAGERE-577001. &RESPONDENTS

(NOTICE TO R1 TO R4 ARE SERVED BUT UNREPRESENTED

NOTICE TO R5 IS DISPENSED WITH V/O DATED: 29.11.2022)

THIS MFA IS FILED UNDER SECTION 173(1) OF MV ACT

AGAINST THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 18.05.2020

PASSED IN MVC NO. 179/2018 ON THE FILE OF THE SENIOR

CIVIL

JUDGE

AND

MACT,

HOLALKERE,

AWARDING

COMPENSATION OF RS. 9,93,000/- WITH INTEREST AT 6

PERCENT P.A. FROM THE DATE OF PETITION TILL DEPOSIT.

THIS APPEAL, COMING ON FOR HEARING, THIS DAY, THE

COURT DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:

This appeal under Section 173(1) of the Motor

Vehicles Act, 1988 (hereinafter referred to as 8the Act9, for

short) has been filed by the Insurance Company being

aggrieved by the judgment dated 18.05.2020 passed by

the Senior Civil Judge & MACT at Holalkere in MVC

No.179/2018.

- 3 -

2.

Facts giving rise to the filing of the appeal

briefly stated are that on 11.04.2015 at about 7.30 p.m.

the deceased Jabiulla was proceeding on motorcycle

bearing registration No.KA-16/Y-6844 from Nallur to

Channagiri town. When he reached near Arecanut garden

between Channagiri-Davanagere road at that time, a

Mahindra Maximo goods vehicle bearing registration No.

KA-17/B-3401 which was being driven in a rash and

negligent manner, dashed against the deceased. As a

result of the aforesaid accident, the deceased sustained

grievous injuries and succumbed to the injuries at the

spot.

3.

The claimants filed a petition under Section 166

of the Act seeking compensation for the death of the

deceased along with interest.

4.

On service of summons, the respondent No.2

appeared through counsel and filed written statement in

which the averments made in the petition were denied.

- 4 -

The age, occupation and income of the deceased are

denied. It was pleaded that the petition itself is false and

frivolous in the eye of law. It was further pleaded that the

accident was due to the rash and negligent riding of the

motorcycle by the deceased himself. It was further

pleaded that the driver of the offending vehicle did not

possess valid driving licence as on the date of the

accident. It was further pleaded that the liability is subject

to terms and conditions of the policy. It was further

pleaded that the quantum of compensation claimed by the

claimants is exorbitant. Hence, he sought for dismissal of

the petition.

The respondent No.1 did not appear before the

Tribunal inspite of service of notice and hence was placed

ex-parte.

5.

On the basis of the pleadings of the parties, the

Claims Tribunal framed the issues and thereafter recorded

the evidence. The claimants, in order to prove their case,

- 5 -

examined claimant No.1 as PW-1 and got exhibited

documents

namely

Ex.P1

to

Ex.P8.

On

behalf

of

respondents, one witness was examined as RW-1 and got

exhibited documents namely Ex.R1 to Ex.R5. The Claims

Tribunal, by the impugned judgment, inter alia, held that

the accident took place on account of rash and negligent

driving of the offending vehicle by its driver, as a result of

which, the deceased sustained injuries and succumbed to

the injuries. The Tribunal further held that the claimants

are entitled to a compensation of Rs.9,93,000/- along with

interest at the rate of 6% p.a. and directed the Insurance

Company to deposit the compensation amount along with

interest. Being aggrieved, Insurance Company has filed

this appeal.

6.

Sri D.Vijayakumar, the learned counsel for the

Insurance Company has raised the following contentions:

Firstly, the driver of the offending vehicle was not

having a valid and effective driving lience. The Insurance

- 6 -

Company has filed a written statement and has taken a

specific contention that the driver of the offending vehicle

was not having a valid and effective driven licence. The

Insurance Company has issued notice to the owner for

furnishing the driving licence of the driver of the offending

vehicle. The notice is produced as Ex.R3. Inspite of that

notice the owner has not produced the driving licence.

Secondly,

even

the

police

after

thorough

investigation have filed the charge sheet under Sections

180, 181 and 187 of the Motor Vehicles Act. It is very

clear that the driver of the offending vehicle was not

having a valid and effective driving licence. Even the

Insurance Company has examined its officer as RW1. He

has categorically stated that the driver of the offending

vehicle was not having a valid and effective driving

licence. The Insurance Company has proved its burden

that the driver

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top