2022 Supreme(Online)(Kar) 41647
1
IN THE HIGH COURT OF KARNATAKA AT BENGALURU
DATED THIS THE 25TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2022
BEFORE
THE HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE H.P. SANDESH
M.F.A.NO.6994/2016 (MV-I)
C/W
M.F.A.NO.356/2017 (MV-I)
IN M.F.A.NO.6994/2016:
BETWEEN:
RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED,
I FLOOR, KRUTHIKA ORCADE,
NEAR N.R.CIRCLE,
H.N.PURA ROAD, HASSAN.
HEREIN REPRESENTED BY THE REGIONAL OFFICE,
NO.28, EAST WING, 5TH MAIN,
CENTENARY BUILDING, M.G.ROAD,
BENGALURU-560 001.
BY ITS ZONAL MANAGER (LEGAL).
...APPELLANT
(BY SRI LINGARAJ H.S., ADVOCATE)
AND:
1.
GULAM MASOODH,
NOW AGED ABOUT 36 YEARS,
S/O LATE GULAM MOHAMMED,
R.P.O.ROAD, HALALINE ROAD,
HASSAN-573 201.
2.
FAZIO AHAMMED,
MAJOR,S/O JAHEER AHAMMED,
NO.2690, OLD TALUK OFFICE ROAD,
HASSAN-573201.
...RESPONDENTS
(BY SRI GIRISH B. BALADARE, ADVOCATE FOR R1,
VIDE ORDER DATED 13.03.2019,
NOTICE TO R2 IS DISPENSED WITH)
2
THIS M.F.A IS FILED UNDER SECTION 173(1) OF MV ACT
AGAINST THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 08.07.2016 PASSED
IN MVC NO.894/2015 ON THE FILE OF THE 5TH ADDITIONAL
DISTRICT & SESSIONS JUDGE, ADDITIONAL MACT, HASSAN,
AWARDING COMPENSATION OF Rs.7,34,981/- WITH INTEREST @
9% P.A. FROM THE DATE OF PETITION TILL PAYMENT.
IN M.F.A.NO.356/2017:
BETWEEN:
GULAM MASOODH,
S/O LATE GULAM MOHAMMED,
AGED ABOUT 36 YEARS,
R/AT: R.P.L.ROAD,
HOLALINE ROAD,
HASSAN-573201.
...APPELLANT
(BY SRI GIRISH B. BALADARE, ADVOCATE)
AND:
1.
THE MANAGER,
RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE CO. LTD,
1ST FLOOR, KRUTHIKA ARCADE,
NEAR N.R.CIRCLE,
H.N.PURA ROAD,
HASSAN-573201.
2.
FAZLO AHAMEED,
S/O JAHEER AHAMMED,
AGED ABOUT 40 YEARS,
R/AT NO.2690,
OLD TALUK OFFICE ROAD,
HASSAN-573201.
...RESPONDENTS
(BY SRI H.S. LINGARAJU, ADVOCATE FOR R1,
VIDE ORDER DATED 19.02.2017,
NOTICE TO R2 IS DISPENSED WITH )
THIS M.F.A IS FILED UNDER SECTION 173(1) OF MV ACT
AGAINST THE JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED 08.07.2016 PASSED
IN MVC NO.894/2015 ON THE FILE OF V ADDITIONAL DISTRICT
3
AND SESSIONS JUDGE, HASSAN, PARTLY ALLOWING THE CLAIM
PETITION FOR COMPENSATION AND SEEKING ENHANCEMENT OF
COMPENSATION.
THESE M.F.As. COMING ON FOR FINAL HEARING THIS DAY,
THE COURT DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:
Heard the learned counsel for the respective parties.
2.
These appeals are filed by the Insurance Company
and the claimant, respectively challenging the judgment and
award dated 08.07.2016, passed in M.V.C.No.894/2015, on the
file of the V Additional District and Sessions Judge, Additional
MACT, Hassan (8the Tribunal9 for short).
3.
The factual matrix of the case of the claimant before
the Tribunal is that he met with an accident on 24.04.2015.
While he was proceeding in a car, the offending vehicle came
and dashed against him, as a result he sustained injuries. It is
his claim that on account of the accident, he had suffered
fracture of upper end of tibia left, dislocation of right ankle,
dislocation of right foot and other injuries and immediately he
was taken to Janapriya Hospital on 24.04.2015 and discharged
on 12.05.2015 and he was an inpatient for a period of 19 days.
The claimant in support of his contention examined himself as
4
P.W.1 and examined the doctor as P.W.2, who assessed the
disability of 34% to the left lower limb and 30% to the right
lower limb and he was aged about 33 years. The Tribunal
considering the material available on record, considered the
disability of 32% and awarded compensation of Rs.7,34,981/- by
taking the income of Rs.5,000/- per month.
4.
The learned counsel for the appellant Insurance
Company brought to the notice of this Court that though the
doctor assessed the disability to different limbs to the extent of
64% in total, the Tribunal accepted the disability of 32% without
assigning any reasons in paragraph No.10 and hence it is
erroneous and higher disability was taken. The learned counsel
submits that the interest awarded at 9% per annum is on the
higher side and hence it requires interference of this Court.
5.
The learned counsel for the claimant submits that
the Tribunal committed an error in taking the income of
Rs.5,000/- per month. It was an accident of the year 2015 and
the notional income would be Rs.9,000/- per month. The
learned counsel submits that the compensation awarded are
meagre and no compensation is awarded under the head loss of
5
income during the laid up period. Hence, it requires interference
of this Court.
6.
Having heard the respective learned counsel and also
on perusal of the material available on record, this Court has to
re-appreciate the material on record and there is no dispute with
regard to the fractures sustained by the claimant i.e., fracture of
upper end of tibia left, dislocation of right ankle, dislocation of
right foot and other injuries. Having taken note of the nature of
injuries and he was an inpatient for a period of 19 days and
subjected to surgery, awarding an amount of Rs.50,000/- under
the head pain is on the lesser side and hence the same is
enhanced to Rs.60,000/-.
7.
The Tribunal awarded an amount of Rs.2,67,781/-
under the head medical expenditure and the same is based on
the documentary evidence and hence it does not require
interference of this Court.
8.
The Tribunal awarded an amount of Rs.10,000/-
under the head attendant charges. The injured was in the
hospital for a period of 19 days and it was an accident of the
year 2015 and hence it is enhanced to Rs.19,000/-.
6
9.
The Tribunal awarded an amount of Rs.50,000/-
under the head loss of future prospects and when the Tribunal
considered the loss of income due to disability and awarded
Rs.3,07,200/-, the question of granting compensation under the
head future prospects does not arise. The Tribunal committed
an error in awarding an amount of Rs.50,000/- separately.
10.
The Tribunal committed an error in taking the
income of Rs.5,000/- per month and the notional income would
be Rs.9,000/- per month. Having perused the evidence on
record, the doctor assessed the disability of 30% and 34% to
different limbs and if 1/3rd is taken, it comes to 21.3% and there
was malunion with regard to tibia. When the tibia was
malunited, it requires one more surgery for correction of the