SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2022 Supreme(Online)(Kar) 32182

1

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KARNATAKA AT BENGALURU

DATED THIS THE 4TH DAY OF JANUARY 2022

BEFORE

THE HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE RAVI V. HOSMANI

MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO.388 OF 2019 (MV)

BETWEEN:

IVAN D'SOUZA @

IVAN STANY D'SOUZA,

S/O MICHAEL D'SOUZA,

AGED 32 YEARS,

R/AT NEAR OLD FATHIMA CHURCH,

THANNIR BAVI, PANAMBUR POST,

MANGALURU,

D.K. DISTRICT - 575 006.

&APPELLANT

(BY SRI.RAVISHANKAR SHASTRY G., ADVOCATE)

AND:

1.

KUSHITH KUMAR,

S/O SEETHARAMA A,

ADULT,

R/AT ANUGRAHA TALLERY ROAD,

MULIHITHLU, MANGALURU,

D.K. DISTRICT - 575 012.

2.

NEW INDIA ASSURANCE CO. LTD.,

RAM BHAVAN COMPLEX,

II FLOOR, KODIALBAIL,

MANGALURU,

D.K. DISTRICT - 575 003.

REPRESENTED BY ITS MANAGER.

&RESPONDENTS

(BY SRI.E.I.SANMATHI, ADVOCATE FOR R2;

NOTICE TO R1 DISPENSED WITH VIDE ORDER

DATED 01.04.2021)

2

THIS MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL IS FILED UNDER

SECTION 173(1) OF MV ACT AGAINST THE JUDGMENT AND

AWARD DATED 14.08.2018, PASSED IN MVC NO.1027/2017,

ON THE FILE OF THE VI ADDITIONAL DISTRICT AND

SESSIONS JUDGE AND MACT, D.K., MANGALURU, PARTLY

ALLOWING THE CLAIM PETITION FOR COMPENSATION AND

SEEKING ENHANCEMENT OF COMPENSATION.

THIS MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL COMING ON FOR

ADMISSION

THIS

DAY,

THE

COURT

DELIVERED

THE

FOLLOWING:

Judgement Key Points

Based on the provided legal document, here are the key points:

  • Case Details: The case is a Miscellaneous First Appeal No.388 of 2019 (MV) filed by Ivan D'Souza against the owner and insurer of a Pajero vehicle, challenging a judgment dated 14.08.2018 (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
  • Accident Facts: On 9.1.2017, the claimant, riding as a pillion rider on a Honda Scooter, was dashed by a Pajero vehicle driven rashly and negligently, causing grievous injuries (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
  • Tribunal's Original Award: The Tribunal apportioned contributory negligence at 10% against the rider and 90% against the Jeep driver, awarding total compensation of Rs.17,21,962/- with functional disability assessed at 24% (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
  • Appellant's Grievances: The claimant argued for higher compensation citing severe injuries (kidney rupture, multiple fractures), loss of employment, and inadequate assessment of loss of amenities and future medical expenses (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
  • Respondent's Defense: The insurer contested the loss of employment evidence, supported the 24% disability assessment, and argued for the deduction of 10% due to the rider's potential contributory negligence (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
  • Court's Findings on Negligence: The Court set aside the Tribunal's finding on contributory negligence, ruling that the FIR and Charge Sheet were solely against the Jeep driver and there was no evidence to apportion blame to the scooter rider (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
  • Court's Findings on Compensation:
    • Income: Monthly income was corrected to Rs.12,190/- (!) (!) (!) .
    • Disability & Earning Capacity: Loss of earning capacity was enhanced to 35% due to loss of employment and restriction on alternate jobs (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .
    • Future Loss of Income: Calculated at Rs.7,67,970/- (!) .
    • Loss of Amenities: Enhanced to Rs.1,50,000/- (!) (!) .
    • Future Medical Expenses: Enhanced to Rs.50,000/- (!) (!) .
    • Loss of Income during Treatment: Awarded Rs.60,950/- for five months (!) (!) .
    • Total Enhanced Compensation: Rs.23,94,220/- (!) (!) .
  • Final Order: The appeal was allowed in part, compensation was enhanced to Rs.23,94,220/- with 6% interest, and the insurer was directed to deposit the amount within six weeks (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) (!) .

Challenging judgment and award dated 14.08.2018

passed by VI Additional District and Sessions Judge and

MACT., D.K., Mangaluru ( for short 'the Tribunal') in MVC

No.1027/2017, this appeal has been filed by claimant

seeking for enhancement of compensation.

2.

Brief facts of case is as under:

On 9.1.2017, when claimant was proceeding as

pillion rider on Honda Scooter bearing Registration

No.KA-19-EG-6807 from Kuloor towards Panambur of

Mangaluru, driver of Pajero Vehicle bearing registration

No.KA-37-M-5418 drove it in a rash and negligent

manner and dashed against Honda Scooter. As a result

3

claimant fell down and sustained grievous injuries. He

was admitted to A.J. Hospital, Kuntikana of Mangaluru.

Despite taking treatment, he did not recovered fully and

sustained physical disability and consequent loss of

earning capacity. Hence, he filed claim petition under

Section 166 of Motor Vehicles Act against owner and

insurer of Pajero vehicle.

3.

Despite service of notice, respondent No.1 -

owner did not contest matter. He was placed ex-parte.

Respondent No.2 - Insurer filed objections and admitted

issuance of insurance policy, subject to terms and

conditions. It denied other petition averments and

alleged contributory negligence against rider of two

wheeler and also contended that petition was bad for

non-joinder of necessary parties viz., owner and insurer

of two wheeler. Claim petition was also opposed as being

excessive.

4. Based on pleadings, Tribunal has framed

following issues for its consideration:

4

1) Whether the petitioner proves, that on

9.1.2017, he was proceeding as a pillion

rider

on

Honda

Scooter

bearing

Regn.No.KA-19-EG-6807

from

Kuloor

towards Thannirubavi, Ivon D'Souza was

riding the Honda Scooter, at about 7.30

P.M., near NMPT Silver Jubilee Gate,

Thannirbavi Road, Panambur, Mangalore,

driver

of

a

Pajero

vehicle

bearing

Regn.No.KA-37-M-5418, taken the same

in a rash and negligent manner with high

speed, from opposite side and dashed the

Honda Scooter in which petitioner was

proceeding, in the result he fell down and

he has sustained injuries?

2) Whether the petitioner is entitled for

compensation? If so, from whom and

what extent?

3) What order or award?

5.

In order to establish his case, claimant

examined himself as PW.1 and three other witnesses as

PWs.2 to 4 and got marked Exs.P1 to P137. Respondent

did not lead any evidence but got produced copy of the

insurance policy.

6. On consideration, tribunal answered issue no.1

holding that accident occurred due to rash and negligent

driving of driver of Pajero Jeep and rider of two wheeler

and apportioned contributory negligence between them

5

in the ratio of 10%:90% i.e. 10% against rider of two

wheeler and 90% against driver of Jeep. It answered

issues no.2 & 3 partly in affirmative. Tribunal determined

age of claimant as '33' years, occupation as 'driver', his

monthly income at Rs.11,000/-, functional disability at

24% awarded total compensation of Rs.17,21,962/-

(Rupees seventeen lakhs twenty one thousands and nine

hundred and sixty two only) with interest @ 6% per

annum and held insurer is liable to pay at 90% of

compensation i.e. Rs.17,21,962/-. Being not satisfied

with quantum of compensation awarded by the Tribunal,

claimant is in appeal.

7.

Sri Ravishankar Shastry, G., learned counsel

for claimant/appellant submitted that claimant was

working a driver in a Private Firm and earning monthly

salary of Rs.12,190/- as per salary certificate at

Ex.P.131. In the accident, claimant sustained following

several grievous injuries:

1. abrasion on the right cheek.

6

2. bone deep laceration on the middle of

forehead extending to the root of the nose

with CT scan showing

a) sub-dural haematoma

b) Sub-arachnoid haemorrhage

c) Fracture of right maxilla.

d) Right zygoma, sphenoid, both nasal

bones, right orbit, right parietal bone

and right temporal bone

3)

abrasion injury on the left side of chest

4) abrasion injury on the back of left hand

with underlyi

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top