SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2025 Supreme(Online)(Ker) 22501

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM
SYAM KUMAR V.M., J
GOPALAKRISHNA PILLAI – Appellant
Versus
SATHYAN – Respondent
WCC No.54 of 2002



Advocates:
For the Appellants/Petitioners: Sri.K.Shaj
For the Respondents: Smt.A.K.Preetha, Sri.S.K.Ajayakumar

The insurer is liable to indemnify the employer for work-related injuries, regardless of the employer's failure to present a notice of indemnity, as the insured-insurer relationship is distinct from that of a contractor.

Headnote:(A) Employees Compensation Act, 1923 - Section 12 - Workmen's Compensation - Appeal against the order of the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation regarding employer-employee relationship and liability of insurer - The applicant, a mahout, sustained injuries while loading logs, leading to a compensation claim of Rs.1,00,000/- - The Commissioner found the employer liable and absolved the insurer, which was contested on appeal. (Paras 2-4, 10-12)

(B) Indemnity - The court held that the insurer cannot be equated to a contractor and that the notice of claim under Rule 39 of the Kerala Workmen's Compensation Rules, 1958 is not applicable in insured-insurer relationships. The Commissioner’s conclusion to absolve the insurer was found unsustainable. (Paras 10-11)

Facts of the case:
The applicant, employed as a mahout, was injured when a log fell on his leg while loading it onto a vehicle. The employer denied liability, while the insurer claimed the injury was not covered under the policy. (Paras 2-4)

Findings of Court:
The court found the employer liable to pay compensation and concluded that the insurer must indemnify the employer as the injury occurred in the course of employment. (Paras 11-12)

Issues: Whether the Commissioner’s findings regarding the employer-employee relationship and the insurer's liability were sustainable. (Paras 8-9)

Ratio Decidendi: The court reiterated that the insurer is liable to indemnify the employer under the policy, regardless of the employer's failure to present a notice of indemnity as required under Rule 39. (Paras 10-12)

Result: Appeal allowed; the insurer is liable to indemnify the employer.

Table of Content
1. employment relationship and injury details established. (Para 1 , 2)
2. parties dispute liability and insurance coverage. (Para 3 , 6 , 7)
3. court analyzes employer-employee relationship and insurance obligations. (Para 4 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 11)
4. insurance company liable to indemnify employer. (Para 12)

JUDGMENT

Dated this the 08th day of January, 2025 This appeal is filed challenging the order dated 20.04.2012 in WCC No.54 of 2002 by the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation and Deputy Labour Commissioner, Kollam. Appellant was the 1st opposite party and respondents 1 and 2 were the applicant and 2nd opposite party respectively in the said proceedings. Parties are hereinafter referred to as per their status in the proceedings before the Commissioner.

2. Applicant was employed by the 1st opposite party as a mahout to an elephant. On 15.10.2001, while he was engaged in loading a wooden log pulled by the elephant into a lorry, the log fell from the trunk of the elephant onto the right leg of the applicant thereby leading to injuries. The applicant was aged 40 years at the relevant time and was earning a monthly wage of Rs.4,500/-. The applicant preferred an application under Section 22 of the Employees Compensation Act, 1923 (hereinafter referred to as the “ ECA , 1923”) claiming compensation of Rs.1,00,000/- from the 1st and 2nd opposite parties viz., the employer and the insurer respectively.

3. The 1st opposite party contended that the applicant was not employed under him and that an accident as alleged had not happened involving his elephant. He contended that the elephant was not engaged in wood logging on the relevant day. The 1st opposite party claimed that he was a total stranger to the proceedings and refuted any liability to pay compensation. He did not however place any contention regarding the claim of indemnification. The 2nd opposite party that is, the Insurance Company contended that the risk of the mahout under the policy issued by them covered only injuries inflicted by the elephant and did not apply to any other injury. The injury that is alleged to have occasioned to the applicant was not an employment injury covered under the policy. It was also contended that the 1st opposite party never informed the insurer about the accident. The 2nd opposite party also challenged the maintainability of the application and the amount of compensation claimed.

4. The Commissioner framed three issues for consideration and the parties proceeded to tender evidence. AW1 was examined from the applicant's side and Exts.A1 to A4 were marked. No evidence was tendered from the 1st and 2nd opposite parties. The Commissioner in the impugned order found that there existed an employer-employee relationship between the 1st opposite party and the applicant. It was also found that the contention that loading workers alone are engaged in the work of loading logs onto the vehicles cannot be accepted as heavy logs are loaded into the vehicles with the help of elephants. The Commissioner also concluded that the 1st opposite party had admitted that an incident in which the applicant got injured had indeed taken place. Taking note of Exts.A1 and A4, it was concluded that the applicant sustained injury in the accident arising out of and in the course of employment. As regards the liability of the 2nd opposite party, it was noted that they had failed to produce the policy documents in support of their contentions. It was concluded by the Commissioner, based on evidence, that the accident occurred during the course of duty of the applicant as mahout and it can certainly be said to have been inflicted/caused by the elephant. As regards the alleged failure on the part of the 1st opposite party to give information and details regarding the accident, it was concluded that such failure, if any, does not absolve the 2nd opposite party as insured, from the liability under the policy. In spite of the same, the Commissioner arrived at a findin

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top