SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2026 Supreme(Online)(NCDRC) 126

NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
A.P. Sahi, President, Bharatkumar Pandya, Member
National Insurance Company Limited – Appellant
Versus
Battala Sudhakar Babu – Respondent
NC/RP/1553/2022



Advocates:
For the Appellants/Petitioners: Gaurav Nair, Geo Kennedy K.
For the Respondents: Prerna Robin

Insurance claims cannot be repudiated on grounds of overloading unless it is conclusively proven that such overloading caused the accident, particularly when the company's own investigator's report and the FIR support the insured's position or attribute the accident to other causes.

Headnote:(A) Insurance Law - Repudiation of Claim - Overloading and Documentation - Total Loss of Vehicle - A claim for a vehicle gutted due to electrocution was repudiated by the Insurance Company on grounds of a gratuitous passenger and alleged fake load documents indicating overloading - Where the Insurance Company's own appointed investigator's report supports the weight of the consignment as claimed by the insured, and the opposing evidence is an unproved letter without an accompanying affidavit, the allegation of overloading cannot be sustained - If the FIR attributes the accident to rash and negligent driving and does not mention overloading, there is no conclusive proof that overloading caused the accident. (Paras 9, 10, 12)

Facts of the case:
The complainant's lorry was completely gutted due to electrocution. The Insurance Company repudiated the claim, alleging that a gratuitous passenger was traveling in the vehicle and that the load documents were fake, implying overloading. The District Commission initially dismissed the complaint, but the State Commission reversed the decision, awarding the claim. The Insurance Company then filed a revision petition before the NCDRC, arguing that overloading disentitled the complainant to relief.

Findings of Court:
The Court found that the second investigator appointed by the Insurance Company reported the consignment weight as 21.401 MT, which aligned with the complainant's stand. The contrary evidence provided by the Insurance Company (a letter dated 14.10.2016) was not proved by any affidavit. Furthermore, the FIR clearly attributed the accident to rash and negligent driving, with no mention of overloading.

Issues: Whether the claim repudiation on the grounds of fake documentation and overloading was justified given the evidence on record.

Ratio Decidendi: The court held that in the absence of conclusive proof that overloading caused the accident, especially when internal investigation reports and the FIR suggest other causes or support the insured's claim, the Insurance Company cannot justifiably repudiate the claim.

Result: Revision petition dismissed.

Legal Category Hierarchy

  • insurance law
    • motor insurance
      • claim repudiation
        • overloading (Para 8, 9, 10, 12)
        • fake documents (Para 10)
      • total loss (Para 2, 9)
  • practice and procedure
    • evidence
      • burden of proof (Para 10, 12)
      • investigator reports (Para 5, 10)
    • revision (Para 13)
  • tort
    • negligence
      • rash driving

Table of Contents

1. Revision against order allowing motor vehicle insurance claim for total loss by electrocution. (Para 1 , 2 )

2. Insurer argued overloading and fake documents justified repudiation; insured argued loss proven with no policy breach. (Para 7 )

3. Overloading not proved; investigator's report showed weight within limit; FIR did not mention overloading as cause. (Para 10 , 12 )

4. Burden to prove overloading as breach of policy terms rests on insurer; unsubstantiated documents insufficient. (Para 10 )

5. Revision petition dismissed; no infirmity in State Commission order allowing claim. (Para 13 )

6. Can an insurance company repudiate a claim solely on the ground of suspected overloading without conclusive proof?

No; the insurer must prove overloading by credible evidence. Unverified letters and unproved documents are insufficient to establish breach of policy terms. (Para 10 , 12 )

7. Is a decision regarding overloading in a bus passenger case directly applicable to a goods vehicle claim?

No; facts are distinguishable. A bus case involving passengers more than double capacity does not apply to goods vehicles where load verification is disputed. (Para 8 , 9 )

8. What is the evidentiary value of an unproved letter from a consignee regarding load weight in an insurance claim?

Minimal; without supporting affidavit or cross-examination, such a letter cannot defeat the insured's documented evidence of load weight. (Para 10 )

HON'BLE MR. BHARATKUMAR PANDYA, MEMBER

For the Appellant (s) : Mr. Gaurav Nair and Mr. Geo Kennedy K., Advocates

For the Respondent (s) : Ms. Prerna Robin, Advocate

PRONOUNCED ON : 30.01.2026

ORDER

JUSTICE A.P. SAHI, PRESIDENT

1. This revision petition arises out of an order passed by the SCDRC,

Telangana, whereby the State Commission has reversed the order of

the District Commission dated 10.05.2018 in CC/51/2016. The

complaint filed by the respondent/ complainant had been dismissed by

the District Commission against which he filed appeal no. 189/2018 and

the State Commission while allowing the appeal has awarded the

RP/1553/2022 Page | 1

I

amount claimed in respect of the loss suffered by the complainant due

to the accident of his lorry bearing Registration No. AP 04 TU 9119.

2. The District Commission had dismissed the complaint without

appreciating the survey reports that came to be filed before the State

Commission in appeal. The vehicle had suffered loss on account of an

accident resulting in an electrocution due to electric wires having come

into contact as a result whereof the entire vehicle was gutted. The case

was of a total loss. The District Commission arrived at the conclusion

that the complainant had kept quiet about the extent of load being

carried by the vehicle and after relying on a couple of decisions held

that there was no deficiency in service. We may point out that the claim

had been repudiated by the Insurance Company vide repudiation letter

dated 02.12.2016, on the ground that there was another person

travelling in the said vehicle at the time of accident for which no extra

premium for carrying a gratuitous passenger had been paid. The

second ground taken was that the document relating to the load of

consignment carried by the vehicle was found to be fake on verification

of two investigators through their reports dated 29.04.2016 and

13.09.2016.

3. At this juncture, it would be appropriate to reproduce the said reports

referred to in the letter Of repudiation. The report dated 29.04.2016 is

extracted herein under:

RP/1553/2022 Page | 2

Non.

Vijs-y Kumar Gaur

IrJVEoTiGATOR Office & Residence

> * B-161, Kamla Nehru Nagor

■ jtaG si f— ic * X aJ .." ■*■■ S&uUbd4d1U-2rSfeSj4) S n EXT. Near Arora Park,

JODHPUR-342 003

_______S 0291-2756548

Re£ So.- PRIVATE fc CONyiDENTSAZ.

DATE29.04.2Ci6

: iHi ft 9 y ’

Wk cp'rafrfri-

3.->—T33—3^>rt :- 552400/■e•l aiin 1•5-16/1568 dated 30.03.2016

WT3:— wft.3{R. ‘’Hcill’H EOng ]

4IPrt :— eft. gyidR ' -

; ^Sel:- 1U-19/GE-2939

3ffcRft-rt>4tn:- 552400/31 /14 /630C^I|Q •

sjtt Y -gst mFi K rj -i9/ge -29S9 tri Pert >.vs.

S.T.C. Cargo’s 3ft sp-iko 101 33 WJIM-i I>tY .'mi—WT B.T.C. Cargo's gRT

?f£fWe an 3jf?r^?5 f^ur, fvRnfr nraq 4 b.t .c. Cargo’s

sa ?T7cTFW, CTferp f&Rf rHTUfem Wr 3 TFW 3R -giRf TRrfiftyff 3n

SPpta fftnn. vft B.T.C. Cargo’s tte A vYsiR. srHTOT 101 J5T

3R 3c1iqi fftl sfiKI Sfr.STR. Kpfifr vtT^ H nTfilft xjnf

W3 RJ-19/GE-2989 3 W vHx> IftniT ■’TC: t

3-Rlfn ftRcT OT ft?T nft Irft.OT?. 101 g £ |

' 3T=tt^s fitHT fftRft V«f fftHT vTTTO OjfeRft

aiRREnp jriddifl 5Rga fW w 11. ' ~ "

• (fdMiii tgHfJnYg )

fate

gHf |

•J

4. Translation of the same has also been filed stating that on verification

M/s. BTC Cargo have informed that the concerned good receipts as

relied on by the complainant had not been issued by them.

5. The second investigator appointed by the Insurance Company, namely,

M/s. Pearl Insutech Private Limited tendered a report on 13.09.2016.

RP/1553/2022 Page | 3

This investigator was engaged to carry out an LR verification in respect

of a document issued by M/s. Mama Roadlines. They could not get any

information as the office of the said firm informed that the ledger

register book was not lying with them and therefore it could not be

verified, but at the same time the details were given therein reciting

that the weight of the consignment according to the way bill was 21.4

M.T. The same is extracted herein under:

- A// : "!

Pearl Insutech Private Limited

Registered Address:-

Block No.S, Soham Row House, Nr.Parshottam Bunglow, B/h. Guruchva.-a,

S.G.

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top