SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2025 Supreme(Online)(SCDRC) 32339

STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
Devendra Kachhawaha, President, Nirmal Singh Medatwal, Judicial Member, Ramniwas Saraswat, Member
Shriram General Insurance Company Limited – Appellant
Versus
Radhe Govind Fashion – Respondent
Appeal No.390/2024|अपील संख्या 380/2024



Advocates:
For the Appellants/Petitioners: Gopal Shastri, Vijji Agarwal
For the Respondents: Gopal Shastri, Vijji Agarwal

An insurance claim cannot be rejected based on speculative private forensic findings of negligence. In the absence of conclusive proof of policy violation, a surveyor's assessment of loss remains the primary basis for compensation, and appellate courts will not interfere unless a manifest error is demonstrated.

Headnote:(A) Consumer Protection Act, 2019 - Insurance Claim - Fire damage - Assessment of loss - Survey report - Evidentiary value - When the evidence on record fails to conclusively prove that the fire was caused by the negligence of the insured or due to a specific act in violation of policy conditions, the repudiation of the claim cannot be sustained - The report of a private forensic agency, not supported by government laboratory findings, cannot override the standard survey or police records regarding the cause of fire - Appellate courts and commissions shall not interfere with the assessment of loss made by a surveyor unless there is cogent and reliable evidence to prove a higher loss, as the surveyor's assessment is generally presumed to be accurate until proven otherwise. (Paras 10, 12)

Facts of the case:
The complainant filed a claim for damages to store inventory and fixtures caused by a fire. The insurance company repudiated the claim based on a private forensic report alleging that the fire was caused by the insured's negligence (placing a burning lamp near flammable materials) and that the financial records were unreliable. The district commission ordered partial compensation, which was challenged by both parties in separate appeals.

Findings of Court:
The commission found that the insurance company failed to provide official government forensic evidence to substantiate the claim of negligence. The surveyor's report, while documenting the incident, relied on hearsay regarding the cause of fire and failed to establish through any concrete evidence (such as CCTV footage) that the loss resulted from the insured's conduct. Consequently, the assessment provided by the surveyor was upheld as the basis for the award.

Issues: Whether the repudiation of the insurance claim by the insurer was justified based on a private forensic report, and whether the complainant is entitled to an enhancement of the compensation amount awarded by the district commission for the loss of property.

Ratio Decidendi: The insurer cannot escape liability based on conjecture or unsubstantiated private reports regarding the cause of fire. In the absence of definitive evidence proving negligence, the findings of the surveyor regarding the quantum of loss are to be accepted, and appellate intervention is unwarranted if the lower authority has not committed a manifest error of law or fact.

Result: Both appeals filed by the complainant and the insurer were dismissed, and the original order of the district commission was upheld.

Table of Content
1. factual background of insurance claim and grievance. (Para 1)
2. lower court order and appeal contentions. (Para 10)
3. court's analysis of surveyor report and forensic evidence. (Para 11 , 12 , 13)

निर्णय

(द्वारा माननीय न्यायाधिपति श्री देवेन्द्र कच्छावाहा, अध्यक्ष)

उपरोक्त दोनों अपीलें विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता विवाद प्रतितोष आयोग, जयपुर चतुर्थ, जयपुर द्वारा परिवाद प्रकरण संख्या 24/2021 – फर्म राधे गोविन्द फैशन, जयपुर वाले बनाम श्रीराम जनरल इन्श्योरेन्स कम्पनी लिमिटेड में पारित निर्णय दिनांक 18.06.2024 के विरुद्ध विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी एवं परिवादी फर्म द्वारा पृथक-पृथक प्रस्तुत की गई है। चूंकि उपरोक्त दोनों अपीलें एक ही निर्णय के विरुद्ध पृथक-पृथक प्रस्तुत की गई है, अतः उपरोक्त दोनों अपीलों का निस्तारण इस निर्णय के द्वारा एक साथ किया जा रहा है। इस निर्णय में अपील संख्या 390/2024 के अपीलार्थी एवं अपील संख्या 380/2024 के प्रत्यर्थी को विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी एवं अपील संख्या 380/2024 के अपीलार्थी एवं अपील संख्या 390/2024 के प्रत्यर्थी को परिवादी फर्म कहकर संबोधित किया जायेगा।

02. उपरोक्त दोनों अपीलों से संबंधित परिवाद के तथ्य संक्षेप में इस प्रकार से है कि, परिवादी द्वारा अपनी फर्म का समस्त प्रकार की जोखिमों की सुरक्षा के लिए विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी से दिनांक 19.06.2018 से 18.06.2019 तक की अवधि के लिए प्राप्त की गई उक्त अवधि की बीमा पॉलिसी संख्या 106021/48/19000036 की अवधि में दिनांक 07 एवं 08.11.2018 की रात्रि में परिवादी फर्म में आग लग गई और शोरूम में रखा सारा सामान, फर्नीचर व अन्य वस्तुएं जलकर नष्ट हो गई, जिसकी सूचना परिवादी फर्म द्वारा संबंधित पुलिस थाना एवं अग्निशमन केन्द्र को दी गई। संबंधित पुलिस थाने द्वारा घटना की प्रथम सूचना रिपोर्ट प्रदर्श-3 दर्ज की गई तथा फायर बिग्रेड ने लगभग 25 दमकलों से 10 से 11 घंटे के भीतर उक्त अग्नि को शांत किया। परिवादी फर्म द्वारा उक्त घटना की सूचना अविलम्ब विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी को दी गई तथा विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी ने सर्वेयर नियुक्त किया। परिवादी फर्म ने सर्वेयर को उसके द्वारा चाहे गये दस्तावेज उपलब्ध करवा दिये। परिवादी फर्म ने उक्त अग्निकांड से हुए नुकसान का क्लेम समस्त औपचारिकताएं पूर्ण करते हुए मय आवश्यक दस्तावेज विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी के समक्ष पेश किया, लेकिन विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी ने पत्र दिनांकित 04.01.2020 के माध्यम से परिवादी फर्म के क्लेम को बिना किसी उचित आधार के खारिज कर दिया। सर्वेयर ने परिवादी फर्म द्वारा उपलब्ध करवाये गये Purchase Bill, Sale Bill, Stock Register तथा Audit Report को अनदेखा करते हुए बिना किसी उचित कारण के 46,83,382.51 रुपये के नुकसान का आकलन किया, जबकि वक्त घटना परिवादी फर्म के परिसर में 1,65,00,000/-रुपये का कपड़ा एवं 30,00,000/-रुपये का फर्नीचर, फिक्सेसर आदि कीमत का सामान था। उक्त अग्निकांड से परिवादी फर्म को स्टॉक के रूप में 1,59,25,327/-रुपये तथा फर्नीचर एवं फिक्सेसर के रूप में 30,00,000/-रुपये की क्षति कारित हुई, जबकि सर्वेयर द्वारा अत्यंत कम राशि का आकलन किया गया है। परिवादी फर्म, विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी से 1,89,25,327/-रुपये मय ब्याज प्राप्त करने की अधिकारिणी है, लेकिन विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी ने परिवादी फर्म के उचित एवं विधिक क्लेम को क्लेम पत्र दिनांकित 04.01.2020 के माध्यम से निरस्त कर दिया।

03. परिवादी फर्म ने क्लेम निरस्त करने के कृत्य को विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी का सेवादोष बताते हुए विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग के समक्ष परिवाद प्रस्तुत कर विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी से 1,89,25,327/-रुपये मय ब्याज, शारीरिक वेदना हेतु 2,00,000/-रुपये, मानसिक व आर्थिक परेशानी हेतु 5,00,000/-रुपये तथा मुकदमा खर्चा-खर्चा पेटे 2,00,000/-रुपये दिलाने की प्रार्थना की।

04. विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी ने जवाब-परिवाद प्रस्तुत कर प्रारम्भिक आपत्तियों में कथन किया कि, परिवादी द्वारा Melafide एवं सही तथ्यों को छिपाकर व गलत तथ्यों के आधार पर क्लेम लेने की चेष्टा की गई थी और इस संबंध में विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी द्वारा तुरन्त मैसर्स अपेक्स इन्श्योरेन्स सर्वेयर एण्ड लोस असेसर प्राइवेट लिमिटेड को नियुक्त किया गया, जिन्होंने घटना की जाँच हेतु तुरन्त Forensic Expert नियुक्त किया। Forensic Expert ने अपनी Report में शॉर्ट सर्किट से परिवादी फर्म में आग लगना नहीं बताते हुए परिवादी फर्म की लापरवाही से आग की घटना घटित होना तथा परिवादी फर्म को किसी प्रकार की राशि प्राप्त करने की अधिकारिणी नहीं होना बताया। विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी ने यह भी आपत्ति ली कि, परिवादी फर्म द्वारा प्रारम्भ से ही असहयोग करने तथा अस्पष्ट एवं अपूर्ण दस्तावेज प्रस्तुत किये जा

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top