SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2026 Supreme(Online)(SCDRC) 2058

STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
Gautam Chauradia, President, Pramod Kumar Verma, Judicial Member
Branch Manager, Life Insurance Corporation Of India – Appellant
Versus
Savita – Respondent
Appeal No. SC/22/A/372/2024



Advocates:
For the Appellants/Petitioners: Harman Rakesh Toppo
For the Respondents: Rishikesh Yadav

Under a tripartite insurance scheme involving a payroll deduction, both the employer and the insurer are legally obligated to provide notice to the insured regarding premium payment failures. Failure to inform the policyholder before a policy lapses constitutes a deficiency in service.

Headnote:(A) Consumer Protection Act, 2019 - Section 41 - Insurance claim - Tripartite agreement - Employer-employee-insurer relationship - Failure to notify policyholder of premium lapse - Deficiency in service. Policyholder entered into a salary saving scheme whereby employer deduction of premiums was the basis of the insurance contract. Upon cessation of deductions due to low attendance, the insurer and employer failed to provide notice to the policyholder, preventing the opportunity to maintain the policy. (Paras 9, 10)

(B) Insurance law - Lapse of Policy - Duty to Inform - Statutory and contractual obligations - Where a tripartite agreement exists among the insurer, employer, and employee, all parties are obligated to provide notice to the insured regarding premium payment defaults before declaring a policy lapsed. Failure to provide such communication, whether by post, SMS, or email, constitutes a deficiency in service. (Para 10)

Facts of the case:
The spouse of the deceased filed a claim for multiple insurance policies after the demise of the insured. The insurer rejected most claims, asserting that the policies had lapsed due to non-payment of premiums. The employer contended that deductions could not be made as the insured remained on leave for extended periods. The district authority initially held the insurer solely liable, which was challenged in this appeal.

Findings of Court:
The court observed that while the insured failed to maintain regular premium payments, the insurer and the employer were jointly responsible for not notifying the policyholder despite their tripartite contractual obligation. The original order was modified to hold both the insurer and the employer liable, while allowing for the deduction of outstanding premiums from the claim amount.

Issues: Whether the insurer and the employer were deficient in service for failing to notify the insured about the lapse of insurance policies due to non-payment of premiums under a salary saving scheme.

Ratio Decidendi: The failure of an insurance company and an employer to inform a policyholder of a premium default under a tripartite salary deduction agreement, thereby depriving the insured of the chance to prevent a policy lapse, constitutes a deficiency of service under consumer law.

Result: Appeal partially allowed. The insurer and employer are held jointly and severally liable to pay the claim amount, reduced by outstanding premium arrears, with interest and additional compensation.

Table of Content
1. procedural history and factual summary of the consumer dispute regarding unpaid insurance claims due to policy lapses. (Para 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5)
2. review of contentions regarding the employer's failure to deduct premiums and the insurer's liability in salary saving schemes. (Para 6 , 7 , 8 , 9)
3. the tripartite agreement mandates notifying policyholders of unpaid premiums to prevent policy lapse; failure to do so constitutes deficiency in service. (Para 10)
4. modification of the lower commission's order to hold both insurer and employer jointly liable, after deducting unpaid premiums. (Para 11)

संस्थित दिनांक-23.05.2024

अंतिम तर्क दिनांक-24.02.2026

आदेश दिनांक- 19/03/2026

अपील क्रमांक: SC/22/A/372/2024

1. ब्रांच मैनेजर, लाईफ इंश्योरेंस कॉर्पोरेशन ऑफ इंडिया, शाखा कार्यालय मनेन्द्रगढ़ जिला कोरिया (छ.ग.)

2. डिविजनल मैनेजर, लाईफ इंश्योरेंस कॉर्पोरेशन ऑफ इंडिया, डिविजनल ऑफिस, आहूजा मार्केट, बुढ़ार रोड, शहडोल (छ.ग.)

(द्वारा श्री हरमन राकेश टोप्पो, एडमिनिस्ट्रेटिव ऑफिसर वास्ते अपीलार्थियों)

------------------- अपीलार्थी गण/ विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 व 02

विरुद्ध

1. श्रीमती सविता पति स्व. श्री हरिकृष्ण, उम्र 33 वर्ष जाति ब्राह्मण, निवास-कटकोना कॉलोनी, तहसील बैकुंठपुर, जिला कोरिया (छ.ग.)

(द्वारा श्री ऋषिकेश यादव, अधिवक्ता वास्ते उत्तरवादिनी)

---------------------- उत्तरवादिनी क्रमांक-01/परिवादिनी

2. मैनेजर, एस. ई. सी. एल., मैनेजर कटकोना कॉलरी, पुलिस स्टेशन चर्चा जिला कोरिया (छ.ग.)

(उत्तरवादी क्रमांक-02 एकपक्षीय)

-----------------उत्तरवादी क्रमांक-02/विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-03

समक्ष:

माननीय न्यायमूर्ति श्री गौतम चौरड़िया, अध्यक्ष.

माननीय श्री प्रमोद कुमार वर्मा, सदस्य.

अंतिम तर्क में उपस्थित-

अपीलार्थियों की ओर से श्री हरमन राकेश टोप्पो, एडमिनिस्ट्रेटिव ऑफिसर।

उत्तरवादी क्रमांक-01 की ओर से श्री ऋषिकेश यादव, अधिवक्ता।

उत्तरवादी क्रमांक-02 एकपक्षीय।

आदेश

(द्वारा- प्रमोद कुमार वर्मा, सदस्य)

1. अपीलार्थियों/ विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 व 02 ने यह अपील धारा-41 उपभोक्ता संरक्षण अधिनियम, 2019 के अंतर्गत जिला उपभोक्ता विवाद प्रतितोष आयोग, बैकुंठपुर कोरिया (छ.ग) (जिसे आगे संक्षिप्त में "संबंधित जिला आयोग" संबोधित किया जाएगा) के परिवाद प्रकरण क्रमांक-16/2020 पक्षकार "श्रीमती सविता विरुद्ध शाखा प्रबंधक, भारतीय जीवन बीमा निगम व दो अन्य" में पारित आदेश दिनांक-21.03.2024 जिसके द्वारा उत्तरवादिनी क्रमांक-01/परिवादिनी के परिवाद को आंशिक रूप से स्वीकार करते हुए यह आदेशित किया गया है कि "परिवादिनी, विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 व 02 से बीमाधन राशि 12,85,319/-(बारह लाख पचासी हजार तीन सौ उन्नीस रूपये) प्राप्त करने की अधिकारिणी है। साथ ही परिवादिनी को विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 व 02 से मानसिक क्षतिपूर्ति के रूप में 8,000/-(आठ हजार रूपये) एवं वादव्यय के रूप में 3,000/-(तीन हजार रूपये) दिलाया जाता है। साथ ही उपरोक्त राशि पर परिवाद प्रस्तुति दिनांक-21.01.2020 से परिवादिनी को विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 व 02 अंतिम भुगतान तिथि तक 06 प्रतिशत वार्षिक की दर से ब्याज भी दिलवाया जाता है। विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-03 को समस्त दायित्वों से मुक्त किया जाता है। उपरोक्त समस्त राशि विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 व 02 आदेश दिनांक से 02 माह के भीतर आयोग में जमा किये जान योग्य है विलंब की दशा में उपरोक्त राशि पर 09 प्रतिशत वार्षिक की दर से ब्याज देय होगा" से क्षुब्ध होकर प्रस्तुत किया है।

2. संबंधित जिला आयोग के समक्ष उत्तरवादिनी क्रमांक-01/परिवादिनी का परिवाद संक्षिप्त में इस प्रकार रहा है कि उत्तरवादिनी क्रमांक-01/परिवादिनी के पति स्व. श्री हरिकृष्ण उर्फ हरिकृष्णा पण्डा उत्तरवादी क्रमांक-02/ विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-03 कॉलरी में ग्रेड-03 इलेक्ट्रिकल हेल्पर के पद पर कार्यरत थे। श्री हरिकृष्ण उर्फ हरिकृष्णा पण्डा ने अपने जीवनकाल में अपीलार्थी क्रमांक-01/विरुद्ध पक्षकार क्रमांक-01 से पॉलिसियां क्रय की थी जो निम्नानुसार हैं:-

क्रमांक पॉलिसी क्रमांक जारी दिनांक बीमाधन
1.37963674128.07.20141,00,000/-
2.37963724016.09.20141,00,000/-
3.37963883025.02.20151,00,000/-
4.37963917721.03.20151,00,000/-
5.37963917821.03.20151,00,000/-
6.37963985115.05.20151,00,000/-
7.20762057215.12.20161,00,000/-
8.20762068927.12.201675,000/-
9.20761319525.06.20151,00,000/-
10.20761580207.01.20161,00,000/-
11.20761611027.01.20161,00,000/-
12.20762022515.11.20161,50,000/-
13.3789034671

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top