SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2026 Supreme(Online)(SCDRC) 2116

STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
Devendra Kachhwaha, President, Nirmal Singh Medtawal, Judicial Member, Liyakat Ali, Member
Prabhu Singh – Appellant
Versus
Prabandhak, The New India Assurance Company Limited – Respondent
अपील संख्या 08/2024



Advocates:
For the Appellants/Petitioners: M.L. Paliwal
For the Respondents: Dhanpat Choudhary

An insurer cannot deny an insurance claim after a surveyor has assessed the loss, merely by asserting the vehicle should have been treated as a total loss, without proving that the insured was officially notified of the specific requirements to fulfill such a claim category.

Headnote:(A) Consumer Protection Act, 1986 - Section 12 - Insurance claim - Repudiation of claim on grounds of policy violation and under-valuation of vehicle - Deficiency in service - Where surveyor has assessed loss and recommended compensation after deduction of salvage and excess, insurer cannot withhold payment merely by alleging potential 'total loss' criteria without proving compliance protocols were communicated to the insured - Absence of the repair service center as a party to the complaint does not render the case non-maintainable as they are not necessary parties. (Paras 11)

Facts of the case:
The appellant's vehicle was insured as a commercial package policy. Upon the vehicle being involved in an accident, the insurer appointed surveyors who assessed the loss. Despite the assessment, the insurer failed to pay the claim, leading the appellant to file a consumer complaint. The lower commission dismissed the complaint on grounds including the insured's alleged failure to follow policy conditions and under-insuring the vehicle to pay lower premiums.

Findings of Court:
The court noted that the insurer failed to substantiate that the appellant was formally notified of the requirements to treat the claim as a 'total loss'. Furthermore, the insurer's surveyor had already assessed the loss amount. The appellate court found the denial of the claim to be invalid and ruled that the respondent must pay the assessed loss amount along with interest and compensation for mental agony.

Issues: Whether the insurer is justified in denying an insurance claim based on the insured's decision to repair a vehicle that may have otherwise been categorized as a total loss without proof of prior communication, and whether the non-joinder of the repair service center impacts the maintainability of the complaint.

Ratio Decidendi: An insurer cannot unilaterally deny a claim based on speculative policy violations or the insured's choice to repair if the insurer failed to prove that the insured was duly informed of the necessary protocols for a total loss claim. Additionally, administrative service providers involved in repairs are not necessary parties whose absence precludes the adjudication of a claim against an insurer.

Result: Appeal allowed in part; impugned order set aside with directions for payment of claims and compensation.

Table of Content
1. dispute regarding insurance claim rejection for vehicle accidental damage. (Para 1 , 2 , 3)
2. procedural aspects of filing an appeal and parties' contentions regarding the claim assessment. (Para 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8)
3. condonation of delay based on merits and justice in consumer disputes. (Para 9 , 10)
4. insurer cannot reject a valid claim by unilaterally questioning repair choices when loss assessment is below idv. (Para 11)
5. final order granting insurance payout with interest, compensation for mental agony, and costs. (Para 12)

निर्णय

(द्वारा माननीय न्यायाधिपति श्री देवेन्द्र कच्छावाहा, अध्यक्ष)

1. अपीलार्थी प्रभुसिंह की ओर से यह अपील अधीनस्थ जिला उपभोक्ता विवाद प्रतितोष आयोग, (प्रथम) जोधपुर (राज.) (जिसे निर्णय में आगे जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग के नाम से संबोधित किया जाएगा) द्वारा परिवाद संख्या 17/2016 "प्रभुसिंह बनाम प्रबंधक, दि न्यू इण्डिया एश्योरेंस कंपनी लि. व अन्य" में पारित निर्णय दिनांक 27.04.2023 से व्यथित होकर प्रस्तुत की गयी है।

2. अपीलार्थी/परिवादी की ओर से जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग के समक्ष परिवाद पेश कर प्रकट किया कि, परिवादी के स्वामित्व का महेन्द्रा बोलेरो कैम्पर 2 डब्ल्यू डी रजिस्ट्रेशन नंबर आर जे 19 जीए 8041 दिनांक 13.02.2015 को अप्रार्थीगण के यहां प्रीमियम देकर दिनांक 13.02.2015 मध्य रात्रि से दिनांक 12.02.2016 मध्यरात्रि की अवधि तक बीमित करवाया। वैध लाईसेंस चालक वाहन को नाथुसिंह पादरू से सिणधरी लेकर जा रहा था कि दिनांक 03.04.2015 को खारा फांटा पुलिस थाना-सिणधरी क्षेत्र में दुर्घटनाग्रस्त हो जाने के कारण चालक की मृत्यु हो गयी तथा वाहन चलाने लायक नहीं रहा। वाहन दुर्घटनाग्रस्त होने की तुरन्त सूचना बीमा कंपनी को दी जिस पर कंपनी के संबंधित कर्मचारी ने वाहन को जोधपुर स्थित ओ.एस.मोटर्स ले जाकर दुरुस्त कराने के मौखिक निर्देश दिये एवं रिपेयरिंग का खर्च सर्विस सेंटर को भुगतान करना कहा। इस पर वाहन टोविंग करके ओ.एस.मोटर्स में ठीक करने हेतु दिया तथा अनुमानित लागत का एस्टीमेट बीमा कंपनी में जमा कराया लेकिन बीमा कंपनी द्वारा अधिकृत सर्विस सेंटर को राशि का भुगतान नहीं किया गया। इस पर परिवादी को मजबूरीवश वाहन के सर्विस चार्जेस के बिलों की कुल राशि 2,97,713/-रूपये दिनांक 02.10.2015 को जमा करवाने पड़े तथा सर्विस सेंटर से वाहन को प्राप्त किया। सर्वेयर द्वारा प्रेषित पत्र दिनांक 08.07.2015 कभी भी परिवादी को प्राप्त नहीं हुआ। दिनांक 08.07.2015 की सर्वे रिपोर्ट तैयार कर क्षतिग्रस्त वाहन का अधिकृत सर्वेयर एण्ड लॉस एसेसर द्वारा ग्रोस लॉस रूपये 2,64,643.04 रूपये मानते हुए नेट लॉस असेस्ट 1,52,102.83 रूपये मानी तथा एक्सपेक्टेड सॉल्वेज वेल्यू 12,760 रूपये निर्धारित की गयी। जिसकी अदायगी हेतु परिवादी ने अप्रार्थीगण को विधिक नोटिस प्रेषित किया फिर भी परिवादी को आज तक उक्त राशि की अदायगी नहीं की गयी। अप्रार्थीगण के उक्त कृत्य को सेवा में त्रुटि बताते हुए परिवादी ने परिवाद में वर्णित अनुतोष दिलाये जाने की प्रार्थना की गयी।

3. प्रत्यर्थीगण/अप्रार्थीगण की ओर से परिवाद जवाब पेश कर प्रारंभिक आपत्तियां उठाते हुए पदवार जवाब में परिवादी का वाहन कॉमर्शियल व्हीकल पैकेज पॉलिसी के तहत बीमित होना स्वीकार करते हुए कथन किया कि तथाकथित दुर्घटना के संबंध में सूचित करने पर अप्रार्थी बीमा कंपनी द्वारा अतिशीघ्र वाहन का स्पॉट सर्वे सर्वेयर श्री प्रदीप कश्यप द्वारा दिनांक 04.04.2015 को किया गया एवं फाईनल सर्वे सर्वेयर श्री अशोक कुमार सोनी द्वारा दिनांक 01.05.2015 को ओ.एस.मोटर्स, जोधपुर पर जाकर किया गया। फाईनल सर्वे रिपोर्ट के अनुसार उक्त वाहन का नुकसान आई.डी.वी. कीमत का 754 प्रतिशत से अधिक होने की अवस्था में वाहन टोटल लॉस की श्रेणी में आने की अवस्था में अप्रार्थी बीमा कंपनी द्वारा निरन्तर वाहन की चाबियों व सॉल्वेज जमा कराने व वाहन की आर.सी. को आर.टी.ओ. से कैंसिल करवाने का सर्टिफिकेट, कैंसिल चेक की प्रति, पेन कार्ड व आधार कार्ड की प्रति की मांग जरिए विभिन्न दिनांकों को की गयी लेकिन परिवादी द्वारा आज दिन तक उक्त दस्तावेज अप्रार्थी बीमा कंपनी को उपलब्ध नहीं करवाये गये। अप्रार्थी बीमा कंपनी द्वारा परिवादी को कभी भी वाहन को दुरुस्त करने का मौखिक निर्देश नहीं दिया। बीमा कंपनी द्वारा परिवादी के कोटेशन व वाहन का भौतिक जांच व अन्य दस्तावेज का अवलोकन करने के पश्चात फाईनल सर्वे रिपोर्ट के अनुसार कुल नुकसान 1,52,602.83 रूपये का आंकलन किया जिसमें से एक्सेस क्लॉज के 500/-रूपये व सॉल्वेज के 12,770/- रूपये कम करने के पश्चात कुल रूपये 1,39,342.83 रूपये का नेट एसेसमेंट किया ग

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top