SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2026 Supreme(Online)(SCDRC) 2855

STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
Arun Kumar Agrawal, Judicial Member, Dinesh Kumar, Member
Nagarmal – Appellant
Versus
Oriental Insurance Company Limited – Respondent
अपील संख्या 78/2024



Advocates:
For the Appellants/Petitioners: Atul Bhatnagar
For the Respondents: N.K. Gandhi, Bharat Ratan Vyas

An insurance company's authorized survey report carries significant evidentiary weight and is the primary basis for quantifying damages. A claimant seeking to challenge such a report must provide robust, authenticated evidence, and failing that, the surveyor's assessment shall be deemed final and binding.

Headnote:(A) Consumer Protection Act - Insurance Claim - Assessment of Loss - Surveyor's Report - Evidentiary Value - Unless a survey report submitted by an authorized surveyor is proven to be perverse or tainted by illegality, it remains a primary document for calculating insurance compensation. The burden of proving the quantified loss rests on the claimant, and mere submission of an investigative report by an unverified person without supporting testimony is insufficient to override the surveyor's findings. (Paras 15, 16)

(B) Appellate Jurisdiction - Reappreciation of Evidence - In the absence of manifest error in the assessment of facts by the lower tribunal, an appellate authority will not interfere with the findings particularly when the quantification of damages is based on valid expert reports. (Para 16)

Facts of the case:
An appeal was filed against a lower commission's order in a dispute involving an insurance claim for damages to a agricultural structure caused by natural disaster. The claimant sought an enhancement of the compensation amount, arguing that the actual loss was significantly higher than the amount assessed by the insurance company's surveyor and subsequently awarded by the lower commission. The claimant relied on a private assessment report while the insurers maintained that the claim was subject to the surveyor's estimation and the claimant's failure to complete repairs as required by the policy conditions.

Findings of Court:
The court observed that the claimant failed to substantiate the higher claim amount with any credible evidence or proper commissioning of a qualified expert witness. The record confirmed that the surveyor appointed by the insurer had provided a reasoned assessment, which the lower commission had rightly accepted. No error was found in the lower commission's reliance on the final survey report.

Issues: Whether the appellate authority should enhance the compensation amount based on a private assessment report, and whether the primary surveyor's report should be disregarded in favor of the claimant's private valuation.

Ratio Decidendi: The court maintained that the onus to prove the extent of loss lies with the claimant. Since the claimant failed to produce the author of the private assessment report for testimony or cross-examination and failed to demonstrate any deficiency in the authorized surveyor's report, the assessment provided by the authorized surveyor must be upheld.

Result: Appeal dismissed.

Table of Content
1. summary of factual matrix and parties' initial stand. (Para 1)
2. analysis of arguments regarding insurance claim quantification. (Para 10 , 11)
3. evaluation of surveyor reports and burden of proof. (Para 12 , 13 , 14 , 15 , 16)
4. final order upholding the district commission's decision. (Para 17)

निर्णय

द्वारा: माननीय श्री अरुण कुमार अग्रवाल, सदस्य (न्यायिक) ,

अपीलार्थी/परिवादी नागरमल ने प्रत्यर्थीगण/विपक्षीगण दी ओरियन्टल इन्श्योरेन्स कम्पनी लिमिटेड, झुंझनु व अन्य के विरुद्ध यह अपील विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता विवाद प्रतितोष आयोग, चूरू के द्वारा परिवाद प्रकरण संख्या 98/2018 बउनवान “नागरमल बनाम दी ओरियन्टल इन्श्यो. क. लि. आदि” में पारित निर्णय दिनांक 30.04.2024 के विरुद्ध प्रस्तुत की है, जिसके द्वारा विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग ने अपीलार्थी/परिवादी का परिवाद-पत्र स्वीकार किया गया है।

02. मामले के तथ्य संक्षेप में इस प्रकार हैं कि परिवादी ने अपनी कृषि भूमि में विपक्षी संख्या 3 से ऋण स्वीकृत करवाकर पॉली हाउस (ग्रीन हाउस) का निर्माण करवाया था, जिसका बीमा 48,00,000/-रुपये की राशि हेतु विपक्षी संख्या 1 व 2 से करवाया। परिवादी के अनुसार दिनांक 12.06.2017 को रात्रि में आये तूफान, आंधी से पॉली हाउस क्षतिग्रस्त हो जाने से उगाई गई फसल नष्ट हो गई तथा स्ट्रक्चर व पाईप टूट गये, जिसकी सूचना अप्राथी बीमा कम्पनी को दी जाने पर उसके सर्वेयर ने मौके पर जांच कर 18,00,000/-रुपये का नुकसान होना माना व पॉली हाउस के पुनः निर्माण हेतु सीकर की फर्म द्वारा कोटेशन दिया गया। परिवादी की शिकायत है कि परिवादी द्वारा अप्राथी के सर्वेयर को वांछित दस्तावेज उपलब्ध करवाये जाने के बावजूद विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी ने परिवादी का बीमा क्लेम का भुगतान नहीं किया, जिसे परिवादी ने विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी की सेवा में कमी व अनुचित व्यापार व्यवहार बताते हुए विपक्षी से बीमा क्लेम राशि 18,00,000/-रुपये मय ब्याज दिलाये जाने के साथ-साथ अन्य दावाकृत अनुतोष अनुदत्त किये जाने की प्रार्थना की है।

03. अप्राथी संख्या 1 व 2 बीमा कम्पनी ने जवाब परिवाद में परिवादी के पॉली हाउस का बीमा होना तो स्वीकार किया, लेकिन परिवाद के शेष अभिकथन को अस्वीकार करते हुए कथन किया कि विपक्षी द्वारा परिवादी को अवगत करवा दिया गया था कि परिवादी अपने खर्चे से मरम्मत कार्य करवाकर उसका बिल बीमा कम्पनी में प्रस्तुत कर देवे, किन्तु परिवादी सब्सिडी राशि वसूल करने व फायदा लेने के लिए मरम्मत कार्य नहीं करवाना चाहता है। बीमा संविदा की शर्तों के तहत परिवादी जब तक मरम्मत कार्य करवाकर बिल प्रस्तुत नहीं करता, तब तक विपक्षी बीमा कम्पनी भुगतान के लिए उत्तरदायी नहीं है। इस प्रकार अप्राथी संख्या 1 व 2 ने परिवादी का परिवाद प्री-मेच्योर बताते हुए खारिज किये जाने का निवेदन किया।

04. अप्राथी संख्या 3 बैंक ने जवाब परिवाद में यह जाहिर किया कि परिवादी के साथ उसका कोई अनुबंध नहीं है। विपक्षी ने दुर्घटना की सूचना बीमा कम्पनी को तुरन्त दे दी थी। इस प्रकार अप्राथी संख्या 3 बैंक को अनावश्यक पक्षकार बनाये जाने से परिवादी का परिवाद खारिज किये जाने योग्य है।

05. विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग ने उभयपक्ष के अभिवचनों व साक्ष्य पर विचार कर आलोच्य निर्णय पारित करते हुए अपीलार्थी-परिवादी का परिवाद प्रत्यर्थीगण-विपक्षीगण के विरुद्ध स्वीकार किया।

06. उभयपक्ष के विद्वान अधिवक्तागण की बहस सुनी गयी एवं पत्रावली का अवलोकन किया गया।

07. विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग, चुरू के द्वारा दिनांक 30.04.2024 को पारित आदेश से व्यथित होकर परिवादी नागरमल द्वारा हस्तगत अपील प्रस्तुत की गयी है, जिसमें विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग ने पॉली हाउस की नुकसानी बाबत् 12,37,707/-रुपये की राशि एवं 15,000/-रुपये परिवाद व्यय व क्षतिपूर्ति के दिलाये है। इस पर अपीलार्थी/परिवादी का तर्क है कि प्रत्यर्थीगण/विपक्षीगण के द्वारा नियुक्त सर्वेयर के 18,00,000/-रुपये की क्षति मानी थी। अपीलार्थी/परिवादी ने जो सर्वेयर सिविल इंजीनियर सुरेश कुमार कुमावत से नुकसानी का आकलन करवाया तो 39,12,000/-रुपये की नुकसानी थी। अतः विद्वान जिला उपभोक्ता आयोग का आदेश अपास्त किया जाकर राशि बढ़ायी जावे।

08. अपीलार्थी/परिवादी के विद्वान अधिवक्ता का तर्क है कि दिनांक 25.05.2017 से 24.5.2018 तक के लिए पॉली ग्रीन हाउस की बीमा पॉलिसी की हुई थी। दिनांक 12.06.2017 को तूफान आया, जिसमें नुकसानी हुई। 18,00,000/-रुपये मरम्मत आदि में खर्च हुए। 100 प्रतिशत नुकसानी हुई है। सर्वेयर के द्वारा 35,00,000/-रुपये की नुकसानी मानी गयी। बीमा कम्पनी के द्वारा मरम्मत कराकर बिल प्रस्तुत करने की शर्त पर राशि अदा करने का वचन दिया था।

09. इसके खण्

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top