The High Court of Judicature at Allahabad has ruled that an unmarried sister is eligible to receive a ₹5,00,000 accidental death benefit under the Mukhyamantri Kisan Evam Sarvahit Bima Yojana, even if she is not specifically included in the definition of a "family" within the insurance scheme's Memorandum of Understanding. In a decisive verdict, the court clarified that the restriction regarding family composition applies to medical and post-accident health benefits but does not override the entitlement of a designated nominee or legal heir to claim compensation following the death of an insured head or breadwinner.

The case originated from a dispute involving the petitioner, Km. Vidyawati, who sought the insurance payout after her brother, the sole breadwinner of their household, died in a road accident on May 18, 2019. Following the death of their parents, the deceased brother had supported the petitioner and managed the family’s agricultural holdings. When she approached the Oriental Insurance Company Limited with her claim, the company rejected the request, contending that a sister was not included in the definition of family members covered under the scheme. While the District Committee in Basti, acting on a report from the Sub-Divisional Magistrate, had previously directed the insurance provider to honor the claim, the company refused to comply, maintaining its stance that the contractual terms strictly limited beneficiaries.

In addressing the petition, the bench of Justice Prakash Padia and Justice Garima Prashad examined the structural nuances of the insurance agreement. The court observed that the Mukhyamantri Kisan Evam Sarvahit Bima Yojana distinguishes between personal accident insurance—which protects the head of the family—and medical benefits, which extend to specified family members. The judges emphasized that the insurance contract contains distinct provisions for the identity of the insured versus the identity of the recipient of death benefits. By misapplying the clause defining "covered family members" to a "death benefit" scenario, the insurance provider had erroneously restricted the rights of a legal successor.

The court provided clarity on the contractual interpretation of the scheme, highlighting that the provisions regarding the head of the family and those regarding the legal heir operate on different functional levels. The bench pointedly remarked: "The omission of a sister from the list of covered family members cannot itself create such a dispute or defeat the express provision for payment to a legal heir ."

Clarifying the Scope of Legal Heir Entitlement

A critical aspect of the court's reasoning was the observation that the insurance agreement does not explicitly limit the term "nominee or legal heir" to the list of relatives classified as family members for general insurance coverage. The court noted that if the provider's restrictive interpretation were accepted, it would effectively rewrite the contract by adding an unauthorized requirement that a legal heir must also fit the specific definition of a covered dependent. The judiciary found that such an interpretation contradicts the beneficial nature of the government-backed scheme, which is designed to provide security to the surviving members of a farming household following the loss of the primary breadwinner.

Furthermore, the court analyzed previous judgments involving the same insurance provider to determine the validity of the District Committee's directives. It determined that while the Committee must act within the constraints of the scheme and provide reasoned decisions, its authority to decide on controversial claims is a binding element of the agreement. In this specific instance, the investigation by the Sub-Divisional Magistrate had already established the deceased’s status as the head of the household and the petitioner’s position as his primary surviving dependent, leaving no genuine factual dispute to warrant the denial of the claim.

Rectifying Administrative Rejections

The insurance provider had attempted to rely on precedents where the court previously declined to enforce payments for excluded causes of death or unauthorized expansions of risk. However, the bench distinguished the current matter from those cases, noting that the incident in question—a standard road accident—is a fully covered event under the policy. The objection raised by the company was strictly limited to the relationship of the claimant rather than the nature of the accident itself.

The ruling emphasizes the necessity of a holistic reading of insurance policies, particularly those implemented as public welfare initiatives. By failing to differentiate between the eligibility criteria for medical treatments and the procedural entitlements for survivors, the insurer had adopted a mechanical and exclusionary approach that failed to serve the objectives of the scheme. The court affirmed that as long as the deceased qualifies as an insured breadwinner, the contractual right of the legal heir to receive the specified death benefit remains intact.

Addressing the broader implications of the decision, the court observed: "We accordingly hold that an unmarried sister is not disqualified from receiving the personal accident death benefit merely because she is not separately listed as a covered family member." This ruling serves as a vital precedent for future claims, reinforcing the principle that narrow textual interpretations should not be used to deny benefits to legitimate legal heirs who have suffered the loss of a household's principal financial support.

The court subsequently allowed the petition and formally quashed the rejection notice issued by the Oriental Insurance Company Limited on April 16, 2021. The insurance provider is now mandated to release the full sum of ₹5,00,000 to the petitioner within four weeks of receiving the court’s order. Additionally, the District Magistrate of Basti has been directed to ensure the oversight of this payment process, ensuring that the compensation is delivered in accordance with the established claim-payment procedures. This decision brings a definitive end to the petitioner's years-long struggle for financial relief following the tragic loss of her brother, confirming her legal right to the insurance payout as his sole surviving heir.