SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

1995 Supreme(SC) 269

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA
K. RAMASWAMY AND B.L. HANSARIA, JJ.
Aries Advertising Bureau, Appellant
Versus
C.T. Devaraj (dead) by LRs., Respondent.
Civil Appeal No.907 (N) of 1976
Decided on 22-2-1995.

Advocates:
A.T.M.SAMPATH

Headnote:

Indian Contract Act, 1872 – Section,70 - Advertisement - Contract or due - Appeal by special leave arises from judgment of Division Bench of Madras High Court lie in a short compass appellant plaintiff had advertised for circus run by second defendant - It laid a suit for recovery of a sum and odd towards advertisement charges respondent as first defendant along with second defendant- remained ex parte and an ex parte decree against him became final- Court are concerned only with liability of first defendant respondent trial Court decreed suit against him on finding that there was of contract between appellant and respondent- High Court on appeal found that there is no contract- Though appellant relying on - Indian Contract Act attempted to fasten liability on respondent it was found that respondent did not derive any benefit under contract between him and - On other hand he was a financer to run circus which had incurred a huge loss- Consequently it was held that benefit was inapplicable appeal was accordingly allowed and suit against respondent was dismissed –Held Court find no force in contentions- agreement bilateral between respondent and - appellant is not a party to agreement- So there is of contract between appellant and - It is also an admitted that though proposal sent for advertisement by appellant was approved he did it on behalf - approval sought by appellant was not given in writing so as bind with expenditure incurred for advertisement- High Court had considered this aspect of matter and concluded that in absence of any approval in writing by respondent reliance upon self serving statement made by appellant in this regard was not sufficient to fasten liability on respondent for expenditure incurred for advertisement to run circus appellant had not done anything directly to respondent- On other hand it had done advertisement to benefit second defendant only who had run circus- High Court found as a fact that respondent did not derive any benefit out of contract entered into between respondent was only a financer to run circus and pursuant contract respondent had suffered huge loss- In absence of any benefit derived by respondent pursuant to advertisement made by appellant is not attracted to facts of this case - Appeal dismissed

JUDGMENT

This appeal by special leave arises from the judgment of the Division Bench of the Madras High Court in A. S. No.226/71 dated February 14, 1995. The facts lie in a short compass. The appellant plaintiff had advertised for the circus run by the second defendant Balakrishnan. It laid a suit for recovery of a sum of Rs.27,000/- and odd towards the advertisement charges impleading the respondent, as first defendant, along with Balakrishnan as second defendant. Bala-krishnan remained ex parte and an ex parte decree against him became final. We are concerned only with the liability of the first defendant-respondent, C.T. Devaraj. The trial Court decreed the suit against him on finding that there was privity of contract between the appellant and the respondent. The High Court, on appeal, found that there is no privity of contract. Though the appellant, relying on S.70 of the Indian Contract Act, 1872, (for short the Act) attempted to fasten the liability on the respondent, it was found that the respondent did not derive any benefit under the contract between him and Balakrishnan. On the other hand, he was a financer to run the circus which had incurred a huge loss. Consequently, it was held that the benefit of S.70 of the Act was inapplicable. The appeal was accordingly allowed and the suit against the respondent was dismissed. Thus this appeal.

2. Shri Sampath, learned counsel for the appellant has strenuously contended that in view of the agreement (Ex.A-3) executed by the respondent and Balakrishnan wherein Clause (4) states about the respondent undertaking to pay the advertisement charges, he is bound to pay the same to the appellant. Proposal sent for advertisement by the appellant was admittedly approved by the respondent. Thereby there emerged a concluded oral contract between appellant and the respondent. It is also contended that since the respondent agreed to receive the benefit of 30% of the profit from the income derived by running of the circus, he had derived benefit pursuant to the advertisement made by the appellant and, therefore, the respondent is bound to reimburse the appellant by operation of S.70 of the Act.

3. We find no force in the contentions. The agreement Ex.A-3 is bilateral between the respondent and Balakrishnan. The appellant is not a party to the agreement. So, there is no privity of contract between the appellant and Devaraj. It is also an admitted fact that though proposal sent for the advertisement by the appellant was approved by Devaraj, he did it on behalf of Balakrishnan. The approval sought by the appellant was not given in writing so as to bind Devaraj with the expenditure incurred for advertisement. The High Court had considered this aspect of the matter and concluded that in the absence of any approval in writing by the respondent, reliance upon self serving statement made by the appellant in this regard was not sufficient to fasten the liability on the respondent for the expenditure incurred by Balakrishnan for advertisement to run the circus.

4. Section 70 of the Act provides thus :

"Where a person lawfully does anything for another person, or delivers anything to him, not intending to do so gratuitously, and such other person enjoys the benefit thereof, the latter is bound to make compensation to the former in respect of, or to restore, the thing so done or delivered".

Admittedly, the appellant had not done anything directly to the respondent. On the other hand, it had done the advertisement to benefit the second defendant Balakrishnan only, who had run the circus. The High Court found as a fact that the respondent did not derive any benefit out of the contract entered into between the respondent and Balakrishnan. The respondent was only a financer to run the circus and pursuant to the contract the respondent had suffered huge loss. In the absence of any benefit derived by the respondent pursuant to the advertisement made by the appellant. S.70 is not attracted to the facts of this cas



Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top