SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2017 Supreme(Del) 2508

IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI
R.K. GAUBA, J.
Madhu Sharma and Others – Appellants
Versus
Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd. and Another – Respondents
MAC. Appeal Nos. 417 & 481 of 2008
Decided On : 31-07-2017

Advocates Appeared:
For the Appellants : Mr. J.M. Kalia and Ms. Bhawana Garg.
For the Respondent: Mr. Pankaj Seth.

The main legal point established in the judgment is the accurate assessment of income for determining compensation in cases of fatal accidents, considering the deceased's employment status and the inclusion of future prospects in income assessment.

Headnote:

Motor Vehicular Accident - Compensation - Income Tax Returns - Future Prospects - Loss of Dependency - Non-Pecuniary Damages - Interest - Apportionment

Fact of the Case:

Surinder Sharma, a partner in a firm, suffered fatal injuries in a motor vehicular accident. His family sought compensation from the insurance company and the driver/owner of the offending vehicle. The tribunal upheld the claim for compensation, and both parties appealed on the grounds of computation and enhancement of compensation. The claimants argued that the tribunal erred in interpreting the proof of income of the deceased as adduced through income-tax returns (ITRs). The evidence showed that the deceased's income was much more than assumed, especially from the share in the profits of the firm.

Finding of the Court:

The court found that the tribunal erred in not including the income on account of share in the profits in the assessment of the deceased's income. It also noted that the deceased being self-employed, there was no case for adding an element of future prospects to his income. The court recomputed the loss of dependency and awarded additional compensation for non-pecuniary damages. The interest rate was increased, and the apportionment of the awarded amount was revised due to the death of the deceased's parents.

Issues: Interpretation of income from income-tax returns, inclusion of future prospects in income assessment, computation of loss of dependency, adequacy of non-pecuniary damages, interest rate, and apportionment of awarded amount.

Ratio Decidendi: The court emphasized the importance of accurately assessing the deceased's income, considering the nature of his employment, and applying relevant legal principles from previous judgments to determine compensation and interest. It also highlighted the need for proper apportionment of the awarded amount based on the dependents' status.

Final Decision: Both appeals were disposed of with the insurance company directed to satisfy the enhanced award by depositing the requisite amount with the tribunal within 30 days. The court revised the apportionment of the awarded amount and increased the interest rate.

JUDGMENT :

R.K. GAUBA, J.

1. Surinder Sharma, 42 years old, working for gain as partner in firm styled as M/s Surinder Kumar and Bros. (Engineer & Govt. Contractor), suffered injuries in a motor vehicular accident that occurred on 10.12.2004, involving negligent driving of Indica car bearing registration no. DL-3CW-2846, which was admittedly insured against third party risk with M/s Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd. (appellant in MAC Appeal No. 417/2008) and died in the consequence. His wife and other family members dependent on him, they being appellants in MAC Appeal No. 481/2008, instituted accident claim case (suit no. 217/2005) on 15.04.2005 seeking compensation, impleading, besides the insurance company (insurer), Manish Kumar Jain (respondent in these appeals) as first respondent, he being the driver and owner of the offending vehicle.

2. The tribunal held inquiry and, by judgment dated 17.05.2008, upheld the claim for compensation on the principle of fault liability holding the said Manish Kumar Jain to be responsible for the accident. The said finding has attained finality as it was not challenged.

3. The tribunal awarded compensation in the total sum of Rs. 15,70,000/- it being inclusive of Rs. 12,85,680/- towards loss of dependency, besides Rs. 2,34,019/- towards expenditure on treatment for the period Surinder Sharma had survived and Rs. 50,000/- as composite compensation on account of loss of love and affection and consortium. The insurance company was burdened with the liability to pay with interest @ 7.5%.

4. Both the insurer and the claimants have filed these appeals questioning the computation, the former taking exception to the inclusion of element of future prospects of increase and the latter seeking enhancement of compensation.

5. At the hearing, the claimants through counsel press their appeal on the sole ground that the tribunal fell in error by misconstruing the proof of income of the deceased as adduced through income-tax returns (ITRs). This submission, on perusal of the tribunal’s record is found to be correct and, thus, calls for suitable correction.

6. The evidence adduced before the tribunal included ITRs of the firm on one hand and of the deceased as individual taxpayer on the other, they pertaining to the assessment years 2003-2004, 2004-2005 and 2005-06. Since the accident and death had occurred in 2006, the last return submitted in July, 2006 would be beyond the event and, therefore, must be kept out for consideration. Conceding this, the claimants submitted that the ITRs of the firm, and of the individual (the deceased), upon being looked into would show that the income of the deceased was much more than what was assumed.

7. It is noted that the deceased and his father (one of the claimants) were partners in the business of the firm. They would draw, from the firm, not only salary but also interest on the capital invested and, what is crucial to the appeal of the claimants, share in the profits. The disbursal of such salary, interest and share in the profits were duly reflected in the ITRs of the firm. Having declared such profits as part of the income from the firm, the deceased in his individual ITRs would claim exemption. Be that as it may, the ITRs filed in his individual capacity also reflected the income derived out of share in the profits. The tribunal while making assessment of the income has not included the said component, which in the facts and circumstances, was erroneous.

8. In the above facts and circumstances, upon including the income on account of share in the profits, the total income that had accrued to the deceased during 2003-2004 was (1,05,162 + 2,27,846) Rs. 3,33,008. Similarly the income for assessment year 2004-2005, per his return, was (1,16,098 + 1,57,243) Rs. 2,73, 341/-.

9. Since the evidence would show that the deceased had been in business for quite some time prior to the accident, it will be proper to draw average income of the deceased for two assessment years














Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top