SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

BIHAR STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES
REDRESSAL COMMISSION, PATNA
Hon’ble Mr. Justice B.N. Sinha, President;
Mr. K.P. Sinha & Mrs. Kalpana Ashok, Members
GEETA DEVI—Complainant
versus
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA—Opp. Party
Complaint Case No. 47 of 1991—Decided on 5.2.1993

Advocates:
Counsel for the Parties :
For the Complainant :Mr. Arun Kumar Srivastava, Advocate.
For the Opp. Party :Mr. Subhash Kishore Verma, Advocate.

The nominee of a deceased policyholder is a consumer within the meaning of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, and is entitled to the benefits under the policy.

Headnote:

CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT, 1986 - INSURANCE POLICY - NOMINEE AS CONSUMER - LAPSE OF POLICY - PAYMENT OF PREMIUM - NEGLIGENCE - COMPENSATION.

Fact of the Case:

The complainant, Geeta Devi, filed a complaint against the Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC) alleging negligence in the settlement of her claim for Rs. 1,02,000 under a life insurance policy taken by her deceased husband. The LIC contended that the policy had lapsed due to non-payment of premium and that the claim was not entertainable.

Finding of the Court:

The State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission held that the complainant was a consumer within the meaning of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, as she was the beneficiary of the insurance policy. The Commission found that there was negligence on the part of the LIC in refusing the claim and that the complainant was entitled to the sum covered by the policy.

Issues: 1. Whether the nominee of a deceased policyholder is a consumer within the meaning of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986? 2. Whether the policy had lapsed due to non-payment of premium? 3. Whether the LIC was negligent in refusing the claim?

Ratio Decidendi: 1. The Commission held that the nominee of a deceased policyholder is a consumer within the meaning of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, as the nominee is a beneficiary of the insurance policy and is entitled to the benefits under the policy. 2. The Commission found that there was no evidence to support the LIC's contention that the policy had lapsed due to non-payment of premium. The Commission relied on the receipt produced by the complainant to show that the last quarterly premium was paid within the grace period. 3. The Commission held that the LIC was negligent in refusing the claim as it failed to show any valid reason for doing so.

Final Decision: The Commission allowed the complaint and directed the LIC to pay Rs. 1,02,000 to the complainant along with 18% per annum interest from the date of filing of the case till the date of payment. The LIC was also directed to pay Rs. 10,000 as compensation for harassment and Rs. 1,000 as costs of the case.

ORDER

Mr. Justice B.N. Sinha, President—This case has been filed by Smt. Geeta Devi, widow of Late Bhagwati Prasad Jalan alleging negligence against the Life Insurance Corporation of India in the settlement of her claim amounting to Rs. 1,02,000/- the amount for which her husband had got his life insured by the LIC — opposite party on the payment of rest quarterly premium on 28.3.89 under LIC Policy No. 510086636 and she has also claimed compensation against the O.P. for the harassment which she has to undergo due to negligence on the part of the LIC.

2. The complainant present her complaint petition on a printed Performa accompanied by statement of facts on a separate sheet of papers before this Commission claiming one lack and fifty thousand rupees as compensation for the harassment she had to undergo due to the alleged negligence on the part of the LIC. Her case is that her husband paid all the quarterly premium due under the Policy and he died on 2.8.90 and she filed her claim before the Insurance Company in respect of that Policy by an application addressed to the LIC which was received by the L.I.C. on 29.8.90 and that she also produced all the papers before the LIC on 2.9.91. But in spite of that the amount covered by that Policy has not been paid to her as a result of which she had to file the present case.

3. Notice was sent to the LIC on the basis of that complaint and in response thereof a letter was sent by the Sr. Branch Manager of the LIC, addressed to the Secretary, State Commission setting forth the counter version of the case. It has been stated on behalf of the Insurance Company that the quarterly premium due for 28.3.90 in respect of the Policy was paid on 23.7.90. But due to heavy rush at the counter it was written as 28.6.90 instead of 28.3.90 against the column “Premium Due Date”. It has been averred on behalf of the LIC that the quarterly premium due on 28th June, 90, remained unpaid and as per provisions of the contract prevailing between the insurers and insured, the death risk terminated after expiry of 30 days from that due date as death had taken place with in three years from the date of the commencement of the Policy; and thus the death risk had already terminated from 28.7.90 and that the husband of the complainant died on 2.8.90 and as such the claim of the complainant was not entertain able and nothing was payable in respect of that Policy. It has been further mentioned in that counter version that the complainant had already been informed with regard thereto by letter dated 30.7.91 addressed to her by the LIC. A rejoinder was also filed on behalf of the O.P. stating the facts mentioned above. Thereafter affidavit of the complainant was filed stating that all the premium due under that Policy had been paid by her husband on due dates and that the averments made by the LIC in their counter version to the contrary are false and incorrect. There after a supplementary statement was filed on behalf of the O.P. in which there is the maintainability of the complaint petition has been challenged. It has been stated that nominee of the deceased is not a consumer within the meaning of Section 2(1)(d) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, as there was no agreement of contract to render any service by the LIC to the nominee nor such a right can be delegated or inherited by an heir or legal representative or a nominee of a consumer, we are not inclined to accept this plea taken on behalf of the O.P. We are supported in our view by a decision of National Commission in M/s. Cosmopolitan Hospitals & Anr. v. Vasantha P. Nair I (1992) CPJ 302 (NC) in which case the National Commission after referring to a passage from Salmond’s Jurisprudence (12th Addition Page-443) have held “It is true that in the definition of the expression “consumer”, there are no express words indicating that his legal representative is also included within its scope. But as pointed out by the eminent author in the above passage, by operation















Click Here to Read the rest of this document

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top