SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

HIMACHAL PRADESH STATE CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
Arun Kumar Goel, President and Saroj Sharma, Member
ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY - Appellant
Versus
H.P. STATE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD. AND ANR. - Respondents
Appeal No. 235 of 2006
Decided on : 09-09-2008

Advocates Appeared:
Ms. Suvrata vice Dr. Lalit K. Sharma, Advocates, for the Appellant; Mr. Peeyush Verma, Advocate, for the Respondent

The bank was considered a consumer within the meaning of Section 2(1)(d) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, and the court upheld the alternative submission regarding the depreciated value of the insured vehicle.

Headnote:

Insurance - Vehicle Insurance - Consumer Protection Act, 1986 - Section 2(1)(d), Section 3 - The court discussed the privity of contract between the insurance company and the bank, waiver of right by making payment to the bank, and the depreciation value of the insured vehicle. The court held that the bank was a consumer within the meaning of Section 2(1)(d) and rejected the plea regarding the discharge voucher being signed in full and final settlement. The court also upheld the alternative submission regarding the depreciated value of the vehicle and rejected the plea of the complaint being barred by the insurance clause of the policy.

Fact of the Case:

The insured vehicle met with an accident and was washed away during the validity of the insurance policy. The appellant made a payment to the bank under protest, and a complaint was filed by the bank, which was contested on various grounds. The District Forum allowed the complaint and ordered the appellant to pay a further sum along with interest and costs.

Finding of the Court:

The court held that the bank was a consumer and rejected the plea regarding the discharge voucher being signed in full and final settlement. The court also upheld the alternative submission regarding the depreciated value of the vehicle and rejected the plea of the complaint being barred by the insurance clause of the policy.

Issues: Privity of contract between the insurance company and the bank, waiver of right by making payment to the bank, depreciation value of the insured vehicle, and the complaint being barred by the insurance clause of the policy.

Ratio Decidendi: The bank was considered a consumer within the meaning of Section 2(1)(d) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986. The court upheld the alternative submission regarding the depreciated value of the vehicle and rejected the plea of the complaint being barred by the insurance clause of the policy.

Final Decision: The court modified the order of the District Forum, holding that the bank was entitled to a reduced sum and upheld the rate of interest and costs. The appeal was disposed of subject to this modification.

ORDER

Arun Kumar Goel, President (Oral)- Admitted facts of this case are, that vehicle bearing registration No. HIS-9173, a 1988 Model Tata 1210 truck was insured in the sum of Rs. 3,00,000 between 24.4.1997 and 23.4.1998 as per policy of insurance, copy whereof is Annexure R-1. It was insured on "IEV" (Insured's estimated value").

2. This vehicle during the validity of the insurance policy met with accident and was washed away. On receipt of intimation, surveyor was appointed, and as per his report its market value was assessed at Rs. 1,33,500. Surveyor's report is Annexure R-3 and its copy is at page 43 onwards of the complaint file. This amount was paid by the appellant to the liquidator of respondent No. 2, the registered owner of the vehicle as well as the respondent No. 1, its financier bank. At the time of hearing it was not again in dispute that the vehicle was financed by respondent No. 1-Bank.

3. While receiving amount vide Annexure R-5 on 23rd September, 1999 respondent No. 1 Bank (the financier), had issued a letter to the appellant on the same day that his amount has been received under protest. This was before the cheque was enchased.

4. After receipt of the amount and having protested, Complaint No. 39 of 2000 was filed by respondent No. 1 the financier bank, wherein registered owner was also arrayed as party besides the appellant. Though plea of there being no privity of contract between the bank and Insurance Company was pressed into service on behalf of the appellant, however, fact remains, that the appellant was dealing with the bank, and this is established from the payment having also been made to it being the financier. This complaint was contested on a number of grounds like bank having no locus standi to claim any amount, the claim was settled in full and final settlement and payment was made thereafter. Complaint was also barred by arbitration clause in the insurance policy. Bank was not shown either as a financier or the vehicle being hypothecated with it in the registration certificate or the insurance policy, as such it had no interest in the vehicle, so complaint was not maintainable. District Forum below after hearing the parties, as well as on the basis of the evidence produced by the parties allowed the complaint and has ordered the appellant to pay further sum of Rs. 1,66,500 along with 9% interest from the date of filing of the complaint i.e., 27.12.1999 till actual payment was made, plus cost of Rs. 2,500. Hence this appeal.

5. Learned Counsel for the appellant submitted, that District Forum below was wrong when it ignored the objection of her client that there was no privity of contract between respondent No. 1-bank and the Insurance Company, as there was no entry either in the registration certificate or in the insurance policy showing banker's clause or the vehicle being hypothecated with the respondent No. 1. Further according to her once the amount was received vide discharge voucher Annexure R-5 in full and final settlement of the claim, the chapter stood closed for good and complaint was not maintainable. Lastly it was urged, that even if it be assumed without conceding, that complaint was maintainable by the bank, still fact remains that vehicle being 1988 model and it being admittedly insured at "IEV", therefore, the amount if any, was payable after allowing depreciation which in the instant case learned Counsel for the parties were not at variance, as per Annexure R-1 will be 40% of the "IEV". All these pleas have been resisted as well as contested by Mr. Verma, who submitted that impugned order suffers from no infirmity so as to allow this appeal. He thus prayed for dismissing the same with costs.

6. So far as plea regarding there being no privity of contract between the Insurance Company on one side, and the bank on the other is concerned, the position is belied after the amount was paid vide Annexure R-5 to the respondent No. 1 at its Chirgaon Branch by the appellant. Why and under wha

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top