The High Court of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh has officially dismissed a writ petition filed by the Union of India, affirming the legal entitlement of an ex-serviceman to disability pension. The bench presided over by Justice Sindhu Sharma and Justice Shahzad Azeem ruled that any medical condition not recorded at the time of a soldier’s initial or subsequent enrolment is legally presumed to have been either caused or aggravated by military service. This decision reinforces the protection of welfare rights for veterans and clarifies the burden of proof required when the government seeks to deny pension claims based on medical board opinions.

The case involved Babu Ram, an ex-Lance Naik who served in the Indian Army for 24 years starting in 1971 . Following his initial discharge, he joined the Defence Security Corps in 1998 , serving until his final discharge in 2008 . Upon his release from the Defence Security Corps , a Release Medical Board identified his condition as "Bilateral Cataract (Optd) with Pseudophakia ICD" and assessed his disability between 15% and 19%. Critically, the board concluded that this condition was neither attributable to nor aggravated by his long-term military service, a decision that led to the rejection of his pension claim across multiple appeals.

The Armed Forces Tribunal in Srinagar, acting on an application filed by the former soldier, subsequently overturned the government’s refusal. The Tribunal granted the disability pension at a 50% rate, citing the principle of "rounding off" and directing the release of arrears restricted to the three years prior to the filing of the application. Challenging this, the Union of India approached the High Court, arguing that the Medical Board’s assessment, being an expert opinion, should be treated as final. The government further contended that because the disability was assessed below the 20% threshold, it did not meet the criteria for a pension under the established Pension Regulations for the Army.

Judicial Scrutiny of Medical Opinions

The High Court rejected the Union’s contention regarding the absolute finality of the Medical Board’s findings. Justice Sindhu Sharma, writing for the Division Bench, emphasized that while medical boards possess expertise, their conclusions are not immune to judicial scrutiny, particularly when they fail to provide a reasoned basis for their decisions. In this instance, the board provided no justification for why the cataract condition was deemed unrelated to service, despite the claimant having no recorded history of the disease at the time of his initial enlistment or his re-enrolment into the Defence Security Corps.

The court leaned heavily on established precedents, most notably the Supreme Court’s ruling in Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India . The bench noted: "If no disability or disease is recorded at the time of enrolment and if the medical authorities cannot provide reasons for disability to detect the disease at that time, it would be presumed to be attributed to or has arisen during the service." By failing to establish that the condition existed prior to service entry, the medical authorities failed to rebut the statutory presumption that governs the welfare of military personnel.

The bench also addressed the Union’s argument regarding the disability percentage. Drawing from the Supreme Court’s decision in Sukhvinder Singh v. Union of India , the High Court held that once an individual is deemed entitled to a pension, the benefit cannot be denied merely because the assessment falls below the 20% mark. The court stated that where a member of the armed forces is released from service due to a medical condition, the regulations imply that the disability warrants financial support to ensure the morale and security of those who have served the nation.

Protecting the Rights of Veterans

The judgment underscores the distinction between medical board discretion and the statutory obligations of the state toward its retired military personnel. The High Court observed that the scheme for disability pension is fundamentally a "beneficial" provision designed to provide financial security. Consequently, it must be interpreted liberally in favour of the service member. By refusing to accept the conclusiveness of an unreasoned medical opinion, the Court has effectively shifted the operational burden onto the government to provide concrete evidence when denying support to veterans.

Regarding the legal framework, the Court reaffirmed the application of Regulation 179 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961, and Regulation 266, which covers the Defence Security Corps. These regulations govern the conditions under which an individual is "invalided out" of service. The Court found that in the absence of a note of any pre-existing ailment in the personnel’s initial service records, any subsequent deterioration in health must, by law, be linked to the rigours of military duty.

"The benefit of doubt is rightly extended in favour of the member of the Armed Forces; any other conclusion would be tantamount to granting a premium to the Recruitment Medical Board for their own negligence," the Court observed while quoting relevant judicial precedents. This perspective suggests that the burden of accurate medical documentation rests firmly with the government, not the soldier.

Final Operative Directions

The High Court’s ruling confirms the Armed Forces Tribunal’s original order. The Union of India is now mandated to process the disability pension at the 50% rounded-off rate. If the payment of arrears is not finalized within the three-month window directed by the Tribunal, the government will be liable to pay interest at a rate of 8% per annum from the date of the order.

This judgment stands as a definitive reminder that state institutions cannot disregard the statutory protections afforded to military personnel without robust, reasoned evidence. By dismissing the petition, the High Court has solidified the principle that the presumption of "service-connected injury" serves as a vital safeguard for veterans, ensuring that those who have dedicated years of their lives to the service of the state are not deprived of their entitlements through procedural technicalities or arbitrary medical board assessments. The case of the ex-Lance Naik serves as a landmark reference for future litigation involving the interpretation of service-related health conditions and the limitations of administrative finality in pension disputes. The matter is now closed, with the government required to implement the Tribunal’s decision immediately.