SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Audio Icon Pause Audio Icon
judgment-img

NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION, NEW DELHI
Ram Surat Ram Maurya, Presiding Member
Star Health & Allied Insurance Co. Ltd.
and Anr. – Appellants
versus
Vineet Khanna and Ors. – Respondents
First Appeal No.383 of 2021
(Against the Order dated 03/02/2021 in Complaint No.1094/2019 of the State Commission Delhi)
Decided on 17.9.2021

Advocates:
Counsel for the Parties:
For the Appellants:Mr. S.M. Tripathi, Advocate
For the Respondent No.1: Mr. Nikhlesh Jain, Authorised Representative

IMPORTANT POINTS
(1) No dispute regarding proposition of law that contract of Insurance is a contract of uberrima fides and non-disclosure of any material fact vitiates the policy.
(2) Appellant Insurer cannot be permitted to raise grounds other than ground taken for repudiation of the claim in the Complaint.
(3) Sec. 45 of Insurance Act, 1938 provides 2-yr. limitation for questioning the policy on grounds of suppression/non-disclosure/misrepresentation of the fact at the time of obtaining policy



Headnote:

Consumer Protection Act, 1986 – Section 19 (Consumer Protection Act, 2019 – Section 24) – First Appeal – Appeal against order dt. 03.02.2021 of State Commission – State Commission directed the Appellant to reimburse medical claim of the respondent of Rs.16,09,336/- with interest @ 6% p.a. from date of repudiation till date of payment - Delay of 75 days in filing Appeal condoned - Deceased insured not suffering from any disease prior to death of his mother - After his mother’s death, the insured came in depression and died due to Schizophrenia per Discharge Summary of Columbia Asia Hospital – Insured obtained initial Mediclaim Insurance Policy from Apollo Munich Health Insurance in February, 2013 and ported Mediclaim Insurance Policy from the appellant on 27.02.2017 - Both policies obtained prior to the death of the mother - Columns relating to information of the diseases were replied in negative – Appellant Insurer cannot be permitted to raise grounds other than ground taken for repudiation of the claim in the Complaint – Deceased’s brother is legal heir of deceased insured per Hindu Succession Act, 1956 - No dispute regarding proposition of law that contract of Insurance is a contract of uberrima fides and non-disclosure of any material fact vitiates the policy - Indian Medical Council Regulation, 2002, provides mandatory provision for the hospitals/doctors to record/maintain Case Summary and Discharge Summary - In absence of personal affidavit of Dr. Manjeet, no reliance can be placed on the ltr. dt. 17.09.2019 - Not proved that deceased Insured concealed about his disease in proposal form – Sec. 45 of Insurance Act, 1938 provides 2-yr. limitation for questioning the policy on grounds of suppression/non-disclosure/misrepresentation of the fact at the time of obtaining policy - Appellant issued Ported Mediclaim Insurance Policy on 27.02.2017, in continuation of the policy issued by Apollo Munich Health Insurance, in 2013 - Even from 27.02.2017, the period of 2 years has expired - Policy was questioned for the first time in repudiation letter dated 04.11.2019.

Held: State Commission, after hearing the parties, by judgment dated 03.02.2021 found that in Discharge Summary of Columbia Asia Hospital it was noted that “ Known case of Schizophrenia”. It was not noted that “the patient was on mild medication for last 20 years”. In the alleged letter of Dr. Manjeet Nath Das, the name of the relative, who had informed that the patient was suffering from Schizophrenia and was on mild medication for last 20 years, was not disclosed. It was vague letter and no reliance can be place upon it. The disease Schizophrenia was developed after, obtaining Insurance Policy. In any case, this was a ported policy, in continuation of earlier policy which was obtained in 2013. As the claim was made of the treatment in September, 2019 as such exclusion clause of the policy was not applicable as 4 years had expired. On these findings, State Commission allowed the complaint and passed order as stated above. Hence this appeal has been filed.

There is no dispute regarding the proposition of law that the contract of Insurance is a contract of uberrima fides and non-disclosure of any material fact vitiates the policy. According to the complainant, Vivek Khanna, the deceased Insured, was not suffering from any disease prior to death of his mother on 02.11.2017. After death of the mother, he came in depression, i.e. during continuance of the policy. Vivek Khanna obtained initial Mediclaim Insurance Policy from Appollo Munich Health Insurance in February, 2013 and ported Mediclaim Insurance Policy from the appellant on 27.02.2017. Both these policies were obtained prior to the death of the mother. At that time of obtaining these policies, Vivek Khanna was not suffering from any disease, as such, in the proposal form, the columns relating to information of the diseases were replied in negative. Apart from handwritten letter of Dr. Manjeet Nath Das dated 17.09.2019, there is no evidence of the record to prove that Vivek Khanna was suffering from any disease at the time of obtaining policy.

Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct Etiquette and Ethics) Regulation, 2002, (published in Gazette of India dated 06.04.2002) provides mandatory provision for the hospitals/ doctors to record/maintain Case Summary and Discharge Summary. Neither in Case Summary nor in Discharge Summary of Columbia Asia Hospital or of Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, this fact was noted that the patient was on mild medication, for last 20 years. This handwritten letter dated 17.09.2019 was contrary to the hospital record. Dr. Manjeet Nath Das was arrayed as opposite party-5 in the complaint. He did not dare to file his Affidavit of Evidence, admitting execution of this letter and explaining the circumstance, under which he had written this letter, contrary to the hospital record, maintained in discharge of mandatory provision of law. In the absence of personal affidavit of Dr. Manjeet Nath Das, no reliance can be placed on the letter dated 17.09.2019, in preference of the hospital records, which are maintained in discharge mandatory provisions of law. As such, it is not proved that the deceased Insured had concealed about his disease, in the proposal form.

13. Section 45 of Insurance Act, 1938 provides two year limitation for questioning the policy on the ground of suppression/non-disclosure/misrepresentation of the fact at the time of obtaining policy. The appellant issued Ported Mediclaim Insurance Policy on 27.02.2017, in continuation of Mediclaim Insurance Policy issued by Apollo Munich Health Insurance, in the year 2013. Even from 27.02.2017, the period of two years has expired. The policy was questioned for the first time in repudiation letter dated 04.11.2019. (Paras 7, 10, 12 & 13)

Result: Appeal has no merit and is dismissed.

ORDER

Ram Surat Ram Maurya, Presiding Member.—Heard Mr. S.M. Tripathi, Advocate, for the appellant and Mr. Nikhlesh Jain, Authorised Representative, for respondent-1.

2. The office has reported 75 days delay, in filing the appeal. The appellant has filed an application (IA No. 3834 of 2012) for condonation of delay. In view of the order of Supreme Court passed in Suo Moto Writ Petition No. 3 of 2020, delay in filing the appeal is condoned.

3. This appeal has been filed against the order of State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission Delhi, dated 03.02.2012, passed in Consumer Complaint No. 1094 of 2019, whereby, the complaint was allowed and the appellant was directed to reimburse the medical claim of the complainant of Rs.16,09,336/- with interest @ 6% per annum from the date of repudiation till the date of payment. Respondents-2 to 6 were held as not liable.

4. Vineet Khanna (respondent-1) filed Consumer Complaint No. 1094 of 2019, for directing the opposite parties, jointly or severally to pay (i) Rs.16,09,336/- along with interest @ 24% p.a., (ii) Rs.10,00,000/- for physical and mental harassment and (iii) Rs.1,55,000/- as cost of litigation and (iv) to pass such other order, which the Commission deems fit and proper under the circumstances of the case. It has been stated that Vivek Khanna (the deceased Insured), (the brother of the complainant), obtained a Mediclaim Insurance Policy from Appollo Munich Health Insurance in the year 2013-14, which was renewed up to 2016-2017. Vivek Khanna obtained ported Mediclaim Insurance Policy from Star Health & Allied Insurance Company Ltd. (the appellant), on 27.02.2017, i.e. Policy No. P/161118/01/2018/018520, which was valid till midnight of 26.02.2018. This policy was renewed on 27.02.2019 vide Endorsement No. P/161118/01/2019/022545, by the appellant, for coverage of Rs.25,00,000/-, which was valid from 27.02.2019 to midnight 26.02.2020. The mother of Vivek Khanna expired on 02.11.2017, thereafter, he came in depression. In the morning of 06.09.2019, Vivek Khanna became unconscious. He was immediately admitted to Columbia Asia Hospital, for treatment, where the doctors initially diagnosed “Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome due to Anti Psychotic Drug Sepsis”. Later on, the doctors diagnosed “Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome due to Anti Psychotic Drug Rhabdomyolysis Aki Ventilator Associated Trachetis”. The complainant was not satisfied with the treatment and asked the doctor to discharge the patient for treatment in higher centre. Vivek Khanna was discharged from Columbia Asia Hospital on 17.09.2019 and admitted to Sir Ganga Ram Hospital on the same day, where he remained admitted till 25.09.2019. His condition was not improved and the family was not in condition to bear the medical expenses, therefore, he was brought to home, where he expired on 27.09.2019. While discharging from Columbia Asia Hospital, Dr. Piyush Goel prepared Discharge Summary, in which “known case of Schizophrenia” was mentioned. The complainant, immediately, protested and told that Vivek Khanna was suffering from depression and not Schizophrenia, then Dr. Piyush Goel told that it was medical term for the depression. After admission of Vivek Khanna on 06.09.2019, Columbia Asia Hospital sent the requisite papers to Star Health & Allied Insurance Company Ltd., for granting approval, for cashless treatment, which was refused. Columbia Asia Hospital charged Rs.10,61,867/- for treatment from 06.09.2019 to 17.09.2019, which was paid by the complainant. Sir Ganga Ram Hospital charged Rs.4,74,357/- for treatment from 17.09.2019 to 25.09.2019, which was paid by the complainant. The complainant also purchased medicines from market of Rs.34,816/- during this period. The complainant lodged medical claim with Insurer (the appellant) and submitted all the requisite papers, which was repudiated by the appellant through letter dated 04.11.2019, on the ground that at the time of porting the policy, Vivek Khanna had not disclosed hi

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top