SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2025 Supreme(Ker) 1896

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM 
HARISANKAR V. MENON, J.
Deepa S. W/o. Late Rahul Chandran - Appellant
Vs.
Permanent Lok Adalat(For Public Utilities) - Respondent
WP(C) NO.24247 OF 2018
Decided On : 10-06-2025

Advocates:
Advocate Appeared:
For the Appellant : SRI.PHILIP T.VARGHESE SMT.ACHU SUBHA ABRAHAM SRI.ARJUN SATHISH KUMAR SMT.JOAN JOSEPH SMT.V.T.LITHA SRI.THOMAS T.VARGHESE
For the Respondent: SHRI.P.PAULOCHAN ANTONY SRI.LATHEESH SEBASTIAN

An insurance policy's validity is determined by the date of premium payment, not the policy issuance date, establishing that a binding contract can exist even without a formal policy document.

Headnote:(A) Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 - Sections 22A and 22C - Insurance claim - The petitioner challenged the rejection of insurance benefits for her deceased husband, asserting that the insurance policy should be effective from the date of premium payment rather than the policy commencement date. The court found that the insurance policy was valid from the date of premium receipt, allowing the petitioner to claim benefits. (Paras 2, 13)

(B) Insurance Policy - The court emphasized that a binding contract can exist without a formal policy document, as long as there is an intention to create a contract and receipt of premium. (Paras 12, 13)

(C) Pre-existing Condition - The court rejected the insurance company's claim of a pre-existing condition as a reason for repudiation, finding no evidence supporting this assertion. (Paras 3, 5)

Legal Category Hierarchy

  • administrative law
    • insurance disputes
      • contract validity (Para 2, 8, 12)
      • statutory entitlements (Para 7, 11, 13)
    • statutory interpretation (Para 9, 10)

Table of Contents

1. Does receipt of premium alone constitute a valid insurance contract even when the policy has not yet been issued?

Yes; receipt of premium without objection or demur forms a binding contract; a written policy is not legally essential for non-marine insurance contracts. (Para 12 )

2. Can an insurer's delay in issuing the policy be justified by provisional clarifications obtained only after court direction?

No; such late clarifications are an afterthought and cannot cure the delay or defeat the claim. (Para 10 )

3. Does the insured's prior silence on the delay bar the petitioner from claiming benefits under the Legal Services Authorities Act?

No; the insured's failure to dispute does not extinguish the petitioner's statutory right to seek relief. (Para 11 )

4. From which date should the 90-day waiting period be calculated?

The date of premium receipt is the relevant date, not the policy commencement or issuance date. (Para 13 )

JUDGMENT :

The petitioner has filed the captioned writ petition seeking to challenge Ext.P4 award passed by the 1st respondent herein by which certain insurance benefits claimed by her with respect to the death of her husband were rejected.

2. The short facts necessary for the disposal of this writ petition are as follows: -

The petitioner’s deceased husband had obtained two housing loans from the 5th respondent and on the insistence of the said respondent, insurance was obtained from respondents 2 to 4, by including the cost of the premium in the loan amount. The first disbursement of the insurance is stated to have taken place on 29.06.2015, inclusive of the premium payable to respondents 2 to 4. It is stated that the 5th respondent paid the premium directly to respondents 2 to 4 on 29.06.2015. However, Ext.R2(a) insurance policy is issued starting the coverage from 14.07.2015 alone. The petitioner’s husband, in the meantime, was hospitalised on 21.09.2015 and passed away after a Cardiac Arrest on 10.10.2015. The petitioner sought for the insurance benefit based on the policy referred to above, and she was informed that the claims are inadmissible since the deceased was suffering from a pre-existing disease and since three months had not expired from the policy date when her husband passed away. In such circumstances, the petitioner filed the claim petition before the 1st respondent authority under Section 22C (1) and 22A of the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 (for short, the “Act”). The Insurance Company sought to justify the repudiation of the claim on account of the two reasons noticed above.

3. The 1st respondent authority issued Ext.P4 award dated 20.02.2018 finding that: -

i. The stand of the Insurance Company that there was a pre- existing disease is not correct.

ii. The death of the petitioner’s husband was on 10.10.2015, i.e., within a period of three months from the date of commencement of the insurance policy-14.07.2015.

iii. The stand of the petitioner that the relevant date for calculation of the 90 days should be 29.06.2015/30.06.2015 (date of payment of premium), cannot be accepted.

4. It is in such circumstances that the captioned writ petition has been filed by the petitioner seeking to challenge Ext.P4.

5. A counter affidavit has been filed by the 2nd respondent, dated 15.11.2018, contending that the petitioner’s husband had a pre-existing illness- Pemphigus Vulgaris, and that an irregular finding by the 1st respondent authority cannot be used by the petitioner. It is further pointed out that the calculation of 90 days was made properly, and hence, the death having occurred within the period of 90 days, the petitioner is not entitled to the benefits.

6. I have heard Sri. Thomas T. Varghese, the learned counsel for the petitioner and Sri.Latheesh Sebastian, the learned counsel for respondents 2 to 4 and Sri.P.Paulochan Antony, the learned counsel for the 5th respondent.

7. The challenge before the 1st respondent authority at the instance of the petitioner was with respect to the two reasons for repudiation as noticed earlier and the first reason having been found against the Insurance Company, the petitioner has challenged the second reason, which is found in favour of the Insurance Company by the 1st respondent.

8. The petitioner’s deceased husband had availed the insurance policy from respondents 2 to 4 based on the premium being paid on 29.06.2015. However, the policy is seen issued only from 14.07.2015. The question arising for consideration is as to whether the insurance policy obtained by the petitioner’s husband is valid with reference to the date of payment of the premium or the date of commencement as shown in the policy.

9. Straight away, it may be noticed that this Court, noticing the rival contentions, on 19.03.2025, had directed the Insurance Company to come on record with reference to the date of receipt of the insurance premium. The Insurance Company has, therefore, filed an additional affidavit dated

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top