SupremeToday Landscape Ad
Back
Next
Judicial Analysis Court Copy Headnote Facts Arguments Court observation
Listen Article Pause Article
judgment-img

2023 Supreme(Ker) 753

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM
ALEXANDER THOMAS, C. JAYACHANDRAN, JJ.
Hindustan Organic Chemicals Ltd., Represented By Its Chairman & Managing Director and Anr. – Petitioners
Versus
Lissiamma James, W/o. P.C. James and Ors. – Respondents
OP (CAT) No. 72 Of 2022
Decided On : 21-08-2023

Advocates Appeared:
For the Petitioners: J. Surya, E.K. Madhavan, V. Krishna Menon, Prinsun Philip.
For the Respondents: Jojo Joseph, Elizebath George, K.C. Vincent.

The grant of compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act does not preclude the reliefs under the Persons with Disabilities Act. The provisions of the Persons with Disabilities Act should be interpreted in a purposive and beneficial manner, in line with the principles of statutory construction.

Headnote:

PWD Act, 1995 - Section 47, Section 59, Section 60, Section 61, Section 62 The court analyzes the provisions of the Persons with Disabilities Act, including Section 47 which prohibits the dispensation with or reduction in rank of an employee who acquires a disability during service, and Section 59 which empowers the Chief Commissioner to look into complaints with respect to deprivation of rights of persons with disabilities. The court also discusses the powers and functions of the Chief Commissioner and the Commissioner under Sections 60, 61, and 62. The court interprets these provisions in the context of the case and concludes that the employee is entitled to benefits under the Act.

Fact of the Case:

An employee suffered a serious accident during employment and his post trauma claims remained unresolved until his death. The petitioners, the employer and its General Manager, challenge the order of the Central Administrative Tribunal directing them to disburse the arrears of salary and other benefits to the legal heirs of the employee. The petitioners argue that a previous order by the Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities, which found that the employee is not entitled to any benefits prior to the date of issuance of the Disability Certificate, is final and binding. They also argue that the employee was relieved from services in 2014 and all retiral benefits were disbursed. The respondents argue that the previous order is not final and binding, and that the employee is entitled to benefits from 2010 onwards. The court finds that the previous order does not determine the rights of the parties and is not an adjudication. The court also finds that the relieving order produced by the petitioners is not valid and genuine. The court concludes that the employee is entitled to benefits under the Persons with Disabilities Act and dismisses the petition. The court modifies the order of the Tribunal to stipulate the period of entitlement based on the date of gratuity disbursal rather than the date of death.

Finding of the Court:

The court analyzes the provisions of the Persons with Disabilities Act and the Workmen's Compensation Act. The court concludes that the grant of compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act does not preclude the reliefs under the Persons with Disabilities Act. The court also interprets the provisions of the Persons with Disabilities Act in a purposive and beneficial manner, in line with the principles of statutory construction. The court emphasizes the need to bridge the gap between the law and society and to advance the cause of justice. The court approves the decision of the Tribunal to grant relief to the legal heirs of the employee.

Ratio Decidendi: The previous order of the Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities is not final and binding as it does not determine the rights of the parties. The relieving order produced by the employer is not valid and genuine. The employee is entitled to benefits under the Persons with Disabilities Act. The grant of compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act does not preclude the reliefs under the Persons with Disabilities Act. The provisions of the Persons with Disabilities Act should be interpreted in a purposive and beneficial manner, in line with the principles of statutory construction.

Result: The court dismisses the petition and confirms the order of the Tribunal directing the employer to disburse the arrears of salary and other benefits to the legal heirs of the employee. The court modifies the order to stipulate the period of entitlement based on the date of gratuity disbursal rather than the date of death. The employer is given one month to disburse the amounts due to the legal heirs.

JUDGMENT :

(C. Jayachandran, J.)

The facts herein reveal the saga of an employee, who met with a serious accident during the course of employment, his post trauma claims remaining unresolved at the time of his death after 14 years of the accident and even now.

2. Hindustan Organic Chemicals Limited (HOCL, for short) and its General Manager are the petitioners herein. The legal heirs of one Sri.P.C.James, the victim of the accident, are respondents 1 and 2 and the 3rd respondent is the Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities. The petitioners impugn the Order dated 27.09.2022 of the Central Administrative Tribunal, Ernakulam Bench in O.A.No.326/2020, which allowed the Original Application, directing the petitioners herein to disburse the arrears of salary and other benefits due to Sri.P.C.James to his legal heirs, deeming him to be in service from 01.01.2008 till his death on 12.09.2019. The said Order, marked as Ext.P6 herein, is under challenge in the instant Original Petition.

3. The facts:

The following list of dates and events will unfurl the facts, which led to the Original Petition afore referred :

Sl. No.

Date

Event

Ext. No.

1

23.03.1996

Sri.P.C.James joined the service of the petitioner Company as Workman Grade-III.

 

2

16.08.2005

Sri.P.C.James, along with two other employees, suffered electric shock at their work place during the course of employment. While P.C.James suffered serious burn injuries, two others succumbed.

 

3

26.09.2007

The Medical Trust hospital, where Sri.P.C.James underwent treatment, issued Medical Certificate certifying 100% disability [70% on (L) leg amputation and 30% on (R) forefoot amputation], besides certifying that he cannot attend usual mechanical job on account of severe limitation of hand function.

Ann.R1(a)2 = Ext.P2(7)

4

31.12.2007

The Company paid full salary to Sri.P.C.James up to 31.12.2007, treating him as regularly employed, though he could not report for duty because of the serious injuries.

 

5

02.09.2008

Sri.P.C.James preferred application - W.C.C. No.74/2008 - before the Commissioner of Workmen's Compensation, claiming a lump sum amount of Rs.4,21,296/- as compensation.

Ann.A4 = Ext.P1(17)

6

16.09.2009

Ann.A4 application was allowed by the Workmen's compensation Commissioner, granting the above amount as compensation, taking into account the settlement between the parties.

Ann.A5 = Ext.P1(20)

7

29.10.2010

The Medical Board issued Disability Certificate to Sri.P.C.James, certifying 70% disability.

Ann.A2 = Ext.P1(15)

8

25.08.2012

In a claim preferred by Sri.P.C.James before the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), the petitioner Company filed reply statement.

Ann.A6 = Ext.P1(22)

9

31.05.2014

The petitioner Company claims that Sri.P.C.James filed application for disbursement of gratuity and PF amount.

Ann.A11 = Ext.P1(34)

10

01.10.2014

The petitioner Company produced for the first time before CAT a relieving order dated 01.10.2014, indicating that Sri.P.C.James was relieved from services w.e.f. 31.12.2007.

Ext.P5(3)

11

15.11.2014

Amounts due under the PF account was disbursed to Sri.P.C.James.

Pleaded in paragraph no.10 of Ann.A8 comments of the petitioner Company

12

16.12.2014

Sri.P.C.James preferred an application before the Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities, seeking disability benefits.

Ann.A7 = Ext.P1(24)

13

04.08.2015

The petitioner Company offered comments to Ann.A7 application.

Ann.A8 = Ext.P1(28)

14

30.03.2017

The Chief Commissioner closed Ann.A7 application without granting any relief, on the premise that Sri.P.C.James cannot claim the benefits prior to the date of issuance of Ann.

Click Here to Read the rest of this document
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
SupremeToday Portrait Ad
supreme today icon
whatsapp-icon Back to top