2025 Supreme(Ker) 2119
IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM
S. MANU, J.
Anto A.V. - Appellant
Versus
The United India Insurance Co. Ltd. - Respondent
W.P. (C) No. 18705 of 2019
Decided On : 18-08-2025
Advocate Appeared:
For the Appellants : K.R. Ganesh, N.R. Reesha, Elvin Peter P.J.
For the Respondent: P.K. Manojkumar
Insurance claims must comply with policy terms, and delayed applications without justification can lead to dismissal; exclusion clauses must be clearly communicated to the insured.
Headnote:(A) Insurance Act - Sections 14 and 15 - Jewellers Block Policy - Insurance claim for theft of jewellery - Insured failed to comply with policy condition of securing jewellery in a safe, leading to repudiation of the claim - Court found the exclusion clause valid as it was not adequately disclosed to the insured. (Paras 11-12)
(B) Writ Jurisdiction - Contractual Claims - Writ petitions concerning purely contractual obligations are generally not maintainable - Delay in approaching the court without satisfactory explanation constitutes grounds for dismissal. (Paras 20-21)
Facts of the case:
The petitioner operated a jewellery shop and suffered a loss due to burglary where jewellery worth Rs. 11,44,044,202 was stolen. The insurance company initially approved Rs. 30,00,00,00 under a burglary policy but refused further claims under the Jewellers Block Policy citing non-compliance with policy terms regarding safekeeping of jewellery. (Paras 1-4)
Findings of Court:
The court held that the petitioner did not fulfill policy requirements and allowed the insurance company to repudiate the claim based on exclusion clauses. The lengthy delay in filing the petition—over 7 years—contributed to its dismissal due to laches. (Paras 18-21)
Issues: The primary issues were whether the petitioner was entitled to claim under the Jewellers Block Policy despite failing to secure the jewellery, and whether the writ petition could be maintained given the delay. (Paras 11-21)
Ratio Decidendi: The court emphasized the duty of insurance companies to disclose policy conditions clearly and that exclusions must be presented transparently. Due to the insured's non-compliance with the safeguarding conditions, the insurance company lawfully repudiated the claim. Also, the significant delay in filing the writ petition without justifiable reasons led to its dismissal. (Paras 15-21)
Result: Writ petition dismissed.
| Table of Content |
|---|
| 1. insurance policy details and theft incident. (Para 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5) |
| 2. claims repudiation based on compliance with policy. (Para 6 , 11 , 14) |
| 3. dispute over the non-compliance of insurance terms. (Para 7) |
| 4. policy terms and exceptions interpretation. (Para 8 , 9 , 10) |
| 5. supreme court's principles on insurance exclusions. (Para 12 , 13 , 16 , 17) |
| 6. court's guidance on limitations of writ petitions in insurance claims. (Para 15 , 20) |
| 7. dismissal due to delay and nature of claim. (Para 18 , 19 , 21) |
JUDGMENT :
S. MANU, J.
1. The petitioner opened a jewellery shop at Tirupur, Tamil Nadu in 2009. Movable assets kept inside the premises of the show room were insured with the 1st respondent company under Jewellers Block Policy for the period from 27.4.2011 to midnight of 26.4.2012.
2. On 22.2.2012, at night some thieves broke into the jewellery shop and committed theft of 36 kgs. of gold jewellery and 2 kgs. of diamond studded gold jewellery. Tirupur police registered crime No.333/2012 in connection with the occurrence. Investigation has not been completed yet as five absconding accused could not be traced and arrested.
3. Petitioner informed the 1st respondent company about the incident. A Surveyor was deputed by the 1st respondent company. On 17.4.2012, Surveyor submitted his report. In the report the Surveyor stated that entire stock of gold ornaments, etc. kept in the safe was still there and all ornaments in the display windows including diamond studded ornaments were taken away by the burglars. Surveyor found that the petitioner had complied with all the warranties except safe keeping of jewellery displayed in the windows in the safe lockers after business hours.
4. Petitioner had obtained a burglary policy also for the period from 17.2.2012 to the midnight of 16.2.2013. Surveyor stated in the report that the petitioner was entitled for an indemnity of Rs.40,00,00,00/- under the burglar policy as against the total loss of Rs.11,44,044,202/-. According to the Surveyor, the petitioner was not entitled for claiming indemnity under the Jewellers Block Policy.
5. Respondent granted only Rs.30,00,00,00/- to the petitioner out of Rs.40,00,00,00/- under the burglar policy. Petitioner approached this Court in W.P.(C)No.17610/2018. This Court directed the respondents to release the balance amount of Rs.10,00,00,00/-. It was made clear that in case the final report of police reveals any insider involvement, it will be open to the respondents to recover the entire amounts from the petitioner. Petitioner later approached this Court in the above writ petition seeking the following reliefs:-
“i) to issue a writ of mandamus or other appropriate writ, order or direction, directing the respondents to forthwith disburse the amount of Rs.14,29,71,655/- (Rupees Fourteen Crores Twenty Nine Lakhs Seventy one Thousand Six Hundred and Fifty Five only) covered by Ext. P-2 Jeweller’ s Block Policy for the loss suffered by the petitioner's due to the burglary committed on 20.2.2012 forthwith.
ii) to declare that the petitioner is entitled to be paid the amount of Rs.14,29,71,655/- by way of indemnity due to the loss suffered by the petitioner due to the burglary committed on 20.2.2012.
iii) to issue a writ of mandamus or other appropriate writ, order or direction, declaring that the respondents are legally bound to indemnify the petitioner for the loss suffered by him due to the burglary committed for the reason that the property was kept out of the safe.
iv) to grant such other and further reliefs as this Hon'ble Court be pleased to deem fit, just, proper and necessary in the interest of justice.
6. The respondents entered appearance and filed a statement refuting the contentions in the writ petition.
7. Heard the learned Senior Counsel appearing for the petitioner and the learned Standing Counsel for the respondent Insurance Company.
8. Sri.Elvin Peter, the learned Senior Counsel made extensive reference to the terms of Ext.P2 policy. He submitted